We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay, highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capri by Fraser Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Ranked #84 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and were very satisfied with our experience.

Pros:
1. Location! Very close to the Marina metro stop - be sure to try the chocolate churros at the nearby chip stand late at night!
2. Helpful staff with decent English
3. Clean modern rooms
4. Reliable wifi in room and lobby
5. Two computers in lobby with fast wifi and printer hookup which came in handy when researching the rest of our trip
6. Nice big bathroom with lots of pressure and hot water

I don't have a list of cons but if I had to pick one I would say the full listed price would be too much to pay for this hotel. We got a discounted rate of around 90 euro which we felt was worthwhile.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi A, Director General at Capri by Fraser Barcelona, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to read how much you enjoy staying with us. With comments like yours we only could be always better.
Thanks.
Best Regards.
Jordi Alvarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    373
    62
    15
    9
See reviews for
322
223
6
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at this Hotel on 13th. of this month and we found our stay very pleasant. We were in room 105 which was very nice and quiet. This Hotel is a very good base for touring the City of Barcelona with the Metro not too far away. The restaurant is basic but the
food is good. The price for staying there is very reasonable and the room service was excellent.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room at the rear of the Hotel and we were given room 105 which was excellent. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James2012201222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi A, Director General at Capri by Fraser Barcelona, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your visit in our Hotel. We are extremely proud of your positive comments.Do not doubt that its help us to be better.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Apsis Porta Marina Hotel.
Kind regards.
Jordi Alvarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

In line with what many of the other reviewers here have said, this is a very nice, clean and tidy hotel, where everything is good quality and where everything works (inc. the air con). Considering how good the Barcelona public transport is, there's no need to go for anything right in the centre or by the conference centre. The tram system is one block away and is brilliant and reasonable value. There is little in the way of supporting luxuries, ie. no chocs in the minibar (which is just a fridge with 8 cans in it). Bathroom was large and well-maintained. Only additional item I can think of was the sun lounge balcony n the 6th floor, very handy if you've got the time. Didn't have breakfast there, so can't comment. However, there's a very good sports bar around the corner for a evening bar meal, much recommended, as well as another restaurant another block away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kopel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here for four nights (beginning of May) in a double room. The room was very big, with a nice sized double bed, it had a small living room (with two arm chairs and a table) , a flat screen TV, a safe and a fridge. The bathroom was spacious, had a walk in shower and a hair dryer . The room temperature was adjustable and there was always hot water in the shower. The room was cleaned every day, the bed was made and there where new towels in the bathroom every day. The wifi signal was very strong throughout the whole hotel. The staff was friendly and helpfull. The hotel is five minutes away from metro station Marina, and within walking distance of the beach and Sagrada Familia. For a four star hotel, I would have expected the breakfast to have been included in the room price, but it was not (you had to pay extra). There wasn't a kettle or a coffee machine in the room. The bathroom didn't have shower gel, shampoo, bath robe and slippers. And for a four star hotel maybe it should have had a sauna or steam room??! All in all, a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Hotel near metro station
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katieassim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Staff were friendly& helpful. Hotel is seven storey high They got me a good deal for a last minute car rental. room was of a decent size & housekeeping did a good job. Train station "Marina" is 3-5 minutes walk. A funeral parlour is a street away on the way to the train station but it doesn't border me.

Room Tip: Toothbrushes, shower gel, soap and shower caps are provided. Do bring along bedroom slippers & S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank trip2barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

When my boyfriend and I arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who checked us in right away. No hassle whatsoever, she told us the wifi password, the check out time, some extra information and before we knew it, we were in the elevator on our way to the room! Security is perfect, there's someone at the reception 24/7. To enter your hotel room you must have a key card, which also activates the lights. The room was great...Good value for money, no doubt. It was fairly modern, clean white bathrooms and a glass covered shower. We stayed in the single room for double use. The bed was king sized, and outside of the actual bedroom was a kitchen, a dining table, a living room and a television. Not to mention the T.V. in the bedroom as well! As for location, it was centrally located and a five minute walk away from several stations (Marina, Bogatell and Glories). The city is easy to get around once you've learnt how to use the metro system. Overall, I've had the coziest sleep in Apsis Porta Marina and can't imagine my vacation being any better than what it was!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JetSetterShree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

When we arrived, we were greeted with a lovely front desk staff and greeting.Our room was ready early which was amazing as we were all pretty jet lagged.The room was huge,clean and comfortable.We had a triple which meant the bedroom was additional room and the pullout couch was for our son.There was a fridge in the room.Bathroom amenities were good and shower great.
We walked to La Sagrada Familia in 15 minutes and also to the Olympic Port in 20 minutes.Train station is 2 minute walk .There were a few low key places to eat dinner as we had breakfast in the hotel in the mornings ( included in our room fee)
Overall, we will certainly stay here again on our next trip to Barcelona and highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelsMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#73 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#91 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#50 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,917 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#70 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Hispanos 7 Suiza
#85 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri by Fraser Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri by Fraser Barcelona

Property: Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Address: Sancho de Avila 32-34, 08018 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Apsis Porta Marina)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#120 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#144 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capri by Fraser Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel and serviced apartment residence is located in Barcelona's trendy 22th business district and 3 Metro stops from Plaza Catalunya. Enjoy the sun and a few cocktails or appreciate a cultural performance at one of Spain's finest theatres. Access to the nightlife of the Olympic port's restaurants, cafes and lively bars is not far. A mere 15 minutes' walk from Barcelona's beaches and the Marina (Olympic village), as to the National Theatre and the Auditorium, are opposite. Our Restaurant features a full continental buffet offering both hot and cold fare. Along with breakfast, the Capri by Fraser offers both European and Spanish dishes at its restaurant serving lunch until 4.00 pm Monday through to Friday. In addition, room service is also available. The hotel has a 24-hour front desk with concierge services providing local information, theatre tickets, restaurant and sight-seeing recommendations and even car rental. Capri by Fraser offers spacious air-conditioned studios and apartments with 21-32" flat-screen TV offering multi-lingual channels, a living room with sofa and seating area with double-glazed windows. There is a kitchenette, desk, digital safe, and bathrooms are equipped with hairdryer and bathroom welcome amenities. In addition, the property offers free Wi-Fi to all guests both in the apartment as well as spacious lounge and a business centre. Private car parking is also available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Capri by Fraser Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsis Porta Marina Barcelona
Capri By Fraser Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing