We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location even though it was a little noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
Ranked #324 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location right on La Rambla where all the action is in Barcelona. Upon arrival in the tiny tiny reception area, we were not greeted with a very happy receptionist. She seemed very stressed and unhappy. Eventually we were given the keys to our room which at first seemed a little small, we got used to that. The noise from the street below was the problem. We never got used to that.

We asked about the airconditioning as we could not keep the door open because of the noise. It was very hot and stuffy. The receptionist told me there was a central control for the airconditioning for the whole hotel and she could not change the setting. She said "you will have to open the door"

Breakfast was $12 euro per person and it was fair, nothing special.
Overall for the price I think you can do better, and get better value by booking a hotel in one of the side streets off La Rambla. If you want to be close to the Fruit market, this is the hotel for you, it backs onto the market which is also noisy, but amazing to see and eat at.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel, not facing La Rambla
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jak880266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
There are newer reviews for Exe Ramblas Boqueria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is in the middle of La Rambla, right next to the food market. Room 104 looked over the main road so expect noise. However, opposite our room was a roof terrace, for smokers, that overlooks the market. We had breakfast in the market on the first morning. Then in the afternoon when we came back from Poble Espanol, we got bread, cheese, ham and wine together with fruit for an alfresco late lunch on our terrace. Fantastic! The staff on the first morning was rushed off her feet, poor girl. People checking out and people arriving too soon (like us) and the computer system not helping, management need extra assistance, especially as the reception area is cramped. Would I stay here, every time YES, even with the bathroom being small in comparison to the room and storage being limited. A "Short Break" hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel was superb, had great views and close enough to walk to city sights. The staff was friendly. Very clean and beautiful accommodation. It felt like a 4-star hotel! We happened to be there the night they were celebrating some holiday involving fireworks, which was fun to watch from the private balcony but was quiet enough to sleep when we were tired of the festivities.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris_Lozano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great view, great location and helpful staff. The room was nice. I agree there was noise but I believe that's the price you pay for the location and if you want a view of La Rambla then you're going to have noise. We went on St George's and had a rose and book in our room with a note from the staff when we returned. I thought that was awesome. Overall a great experience.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The location of this hotel is amazing. However, this is by far, the noisiest hotel we have ever stayed in. You can hear everything both outside and inside of the hotel all hours of the night (especially on weekends). The room is a bit minimalist (even one drawer to unpack things that can't hang would be nice), but all of the furnishings are new and the rooms are kept amazingly clean. For the most part, the staff was very pleasant. If staying in Barcelona for more than a night or two, I would choose a location a few blocks off Ramblas.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

but I won't. This was a decent hotel for a good price. The lobby was tiny but not indicative of the size of the rooms. Mine was overlooking the market & got a good deal of sunlight. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom & shower was nice. Breakfast was good too. My only complains are minor: The drain in my bathroom sink didn't work, so had to open & close it manually with my hand. And there was only one door handle between both my balcony doors. Other than that, it was a great hotel.

Room Tip: Rear if you want quieter, front if you want to gaze upon Las Ramblas
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szabotage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Friendly staff. Small, but for European standards, that's all you need. Very convenient for easy access to Ramblas, metro, restaurants, cafes, Boqueria. We had a small balcony facing the Ramblas so we could stand outside and watch the action. The hotel has a terrace where you can go and take your own food and drinks. Nice small hoel in the middle of all the action.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KreyzTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Eurostars Ramblas
Eurostars Ramblas
#328 of 513 in Barcelona
371 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#215 of 513 in Barcelona
488 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
May Ramblas Hotel
May Ramblas Hotel
#377 of 513 in Barcelona
65 reviews
El Raval
NH Barcelona Ramblas
NH Barcelona Ramblas
#129 of 513 in Barcelona
1,187 reviews
El Raval
Moderno Hotel Bcn
Moderno Hotel Bcn
#346 of 513 in Barcelona
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exe Ramblas Boqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Ramblas Boqueria

Address: Rambla de Sant Josep 91 - 93, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Eurostars Ramblas Boqueria)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#189 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#190 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £94 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exe Ramblas Boqueria 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A three star hotel in the Ramblas of Barcelona, next to the famous Boqueria market, with a fresh , modern and comfortable design. The Exe Ramblas Boqueria is in a nineteenth century palace completely renovated on the inside and turned into a space of minimalist design with the latest technology and facilities set in the colors of a Mediterranean market. Due to its central location, situated between the Port of Barcelona and Plaza Catalunya, in the heart of Barcelona, the rooms of the hotel are perfectly soundproofed to guarantee its customers the best rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Exe Ramblas Boqueria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Ramblas Boqueria Barcelona
Exe Ramblas Boqueria Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing