We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best price in Barcelona for a great location !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residencia Universitaria La Ciutadella
Ranked #445 of 723 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The best price in Barcelona for a great location !”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The best price in Barca really. These are university student dorms that they rent to tourists during the summer months. We had a room with a separate large living with a kitchenette. Comfy beds and ok bathroom. Clean and modern ikea like furniture. We used this place to sleep only as we were out visiting and exploring. It is a 10 mins walk to the metro station. Simple breakfast served in your room. Friendly and discreet staff. Helpful if you ask for information with relatively good english. We had inner yard rooms so very calm. Internet worked only in the lobby. Air condition was working perfectly in the room. A place to recommend it ! I loved it !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kas_Bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    33
    29
    19
    3
See reviews for
12
34
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

per 50€ per night for a single person, that place is "ok". this is a student residence filling up studios with tourists during the summer, nothing more. location is great. room decoration is basic. breakfast is poor and packed, i went once and then decided not to go anymore even if it was included. reception staff is helpful but service level is basic. U get what you pay for. no more, no less.

Room Tip: ask for a room inside the courtyard, it won't be that noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The location is great, next to a beautiful park, close to Marina metro station, not far to supermarket, easy access to center. We had a twin room with kitchen, air conditioning, tv, fridge. in the kitchen there was no kettle, nth to prepare a cup of tea or coffee, we had to use a saucepan to boil some water. Beds quite comfortable, bathroom big enough. The worst thing out there were cocroaches in da toilet and kitchen!!! B4 u switched the light on in toilet u had to prepare urself for trampling them, cocroache dance ;) Breakfast was brought to our room, cornflakes, milk, yoghurt, donut, jam, biscuit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SZASKU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szczecin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We booked this hostel via their website. They offered a "single room double use" which we thought meant single bed for two people - don't be mistaken, what we got was a twin room - it wasn't comfortable for us as a couple. The most important thing though - don't go there in the summer. Fan is not enough to keep you cool. It's hot, there's no air in the rooms - and we visited two of those - in the first one the water heating machine broke so we had to switch.
If you have enough money, book a regular hostel with air conditioning - this is just a dormitory. Bathroom wasn't that nice. The continental breakfast was very nice though, so was the staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

it makes life difficult not to have air conditioning in june in barcelona. it was very difficult to breathe inside the room. dont ever choose a room that looks to the main street, it receives sun early in the morning, which makes it unbearably hot. curtains dont help to prevent from the strong sun. I was sweating during night while I was trying to sleep. moreover it was very noisy during night, which keeps me awake during night!!!

anyway for this price barcelona(I paid over 40 euros per single person), it is one of the good places that you can stay. its location is very central.

I recommend here if you can afford to give 10 more euros, if you can go to Melon district. or pay 20 euros more and stay in a 3 star which may not be close to center.

Room Tip: dont ever choose a room on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tourist t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I stayed here during the blazing hot summer months in 2011 whilst backpacking through Europe. Spain was a last minute decision, so the choices of hostels were limited. Be sure to enter in the address correctly - my iPhone reverted the address to an area about 15 minutes over - sucked at arriving at midnight. Regardless, the location is fairly decent for Barcelona. You`re out of the hustle and bustle, yet are within the best shopping and nightlife districts in less than a 20 minute walk. Barceloneta is an easy 15 minute walk, and Marina metro station is close by, The room I had lacked air conditioning and soap to wash the included dishware.. other than that it was fine for a single traveler. Breakfast was included with each day of my stay - the selection was ample. WiFi is only available downstairs in the lobby, however there is a computer for guest use. The staff speak moderate to well English, and are fairly helpful in regards to getting around and spending time in BCN. Thinking back, I`m not entirely sure of the price, but I am assuming around 30-40E a night. Which isn`t the best, but not terrible considering last minute reservations.

Room Tip: Lower floors are cooler, Keep your shutters closed during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

This is a great hostel, it is in a very good location close to arc de triomf metro and marina metro and other forms of transport supermarkets and restaurents and bars,
it is clean safe and secure.
it was great having ur own ensuite and mini kitchen the hostel has a 24 hour reception,
staff can speak english but not very friendly. i stayed aug 2009.
the only downside to this hostel was that it did not have airconditioning, and this was a big problem as room temperture was in the 30s.
I wouldnot stay here in the summer months, fans are provoided. Dublin guy 40+

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemma75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
La Ciudadela
La Ciudadela
#256 of 513 in Barcelona
261 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Ibis Styles Barcelona City Bogatell
Barceloneta
Residencia Universitaria Campus del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Arc House
Arc House
#126 of 723 in Barcelona
324 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Lonely Chimney
Lonely Chimney
#516 of 723 in Barcelona
15 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
ANT Hostel Barcelona
ANT Hostel Barcelona
#219 of 723 in Barcelona
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia Universitaria La Ciutadella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia Universitaria La Ciutadella

Property: Residencia Universitaria La Ciutadella
Address: Passeig Pujades, 33-37, 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #445 of 723 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern student residence offers functional rooms with a small kitchenette and free wired internet. It is situated next to Barcelona's Ciutadella Park, just a 15-minute walk from Barceloneta Beach. Part of Pompeu Fabra University, the La Ciutadella Residence Hall has a gym, 2 TV rooms, a games room with billiards, table football, table tennis and a furnished terrace. Guests can borrow laptop computers, hair dryers and irons from the 24-hour reception. Each simple room at La Ciutadella has a private bathroom, a kitchenette and free wired internet access. Some of the studios have a flat-screen TV and daily cleaning service. The residence is just 10 minutes' walk from Barcelona's Gothic Quarter. Estació del Nord Bus Station and Arc de Triomf Metro Station are around 500 metres away. Sant Martí is a great choice for travellers interested in beach, city trip and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Residencia Universitaria La Ciutadella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia Universitaria La Ciutadella Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing