We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, nice and cheap hostel in Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residencia Universitaria Torre Girona
Ranked #300 of 739 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed 5 January 2014

7-10 min. walk to nearest Metro station.
Clean and comfortable rooms with bathroom. Kitchen in the room included. Breakfast included, modest but tasty. Quite good coffee made from automated coffee machine (also decaf). Air con also included and working :)
Nice service. I would pick it up again in Barcelona if I don't have to sleep in the center of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bartn7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Residencia Torre Girona is quite basic university accommodation, but its clean and its in a quiet neighbourhood. It is also close to the metro and to some very nice gardens. Its not luxury, but it does the job.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nidkirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I have found this University guest house by Google map, looking for cheap accommodation close to the Palau de Congressos de Catalunya. I have to admit that it was a nice surprise; my single room was really well equipped, considering the price of about 35 euros/night. Private bathroom, air conditioning system, private kitchenette, with fridge and microwave owen, and ethernet connection in the bedroom (which I really like, being usually faster than wifi connection - in any case available in common spaces). The TV model was quite "retro" (not critical for me, tough), however essential things such as warm shower, towels, shampoo/shower gel and daily cleaning routine were all present. Nice green and quiet area (University campus), close to metro/bus stations, Dragon Gate of Guell Pavillons and, especially, Avinguda Diagonal shopping centers (good for people loving shopping, like me ;-)
Breakfast was included; quite various: tea/coffee/milk, brioche, fruits, cereals, jam/butter, yogurt, salty food, bread. People at the reception were very kind and helpful (eg: for purchase of touristic bus tickets). Bedroom shutters had a strange design (working principles not really obvious), but in the end they worked fine ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natascia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The room was large. It is supposed to be a student dormitory. It has a kitchen with dishes, cups, etc. It has large desk and small dining table. Good quiet AC and small LCD TV. Nice view of country side.

Location is superb in a clean and very safe area of Barcelona next to UPC and also close to Camp Nou.

Breakfast was OK but quiet limited. The location is difficult to find so be equipped with clear (google) map directions from the Metro station to the hotel if you are coming by Metro.


Make sure to go back to the hotel before 10 PM if you are easily frightened by walking alone since basically no one is around at that time. No problem of any sort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khaled E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Visited Barcelona this weekend with my son and had tickets to a Barcelona match so wanted somewhere close to the stadium. Found this place and the reviews seemed good. Everyone knows that it is a student accommodation but don't let that put you off. Place is well run, room was spacious and beds were comfortable. Whoever complains about the breakfast must be mad! A large selection of cold meats, bread rolls, croissants, eggs and sausages were all available together with warm and cold drinks. If you are going to the Nou Camp then you can see it from the end of the street - two metro stops are close by and within 10-15 minutes you are in the centre.

All in all, I would not hesitate to recommend this place. We stayed 2 nights and paid 120 euros incl. breakfast for the two of us. That I call value for money!

Room Tip: Some people complain about thin walls and hearing everything from the room next to them but I never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmcr100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is a modern hostel for students and visiting academics, owned and run by a chain that seems to have several in Barcelona and other cities in Spain. The room is adequate; the single bed was comfortable; the air conditioning and shower worked. Internet connection is through a wired connection (cable supplied from reception), which is no use if you only have wifi. There is however a weak wifi signal from an open academic network which can be picked up in some rooms, and a networked PC in the lobby for free use. An adequate breakfast is available in the refectory, where cheap meals are also available on some evenings (but I did not try them).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The residence is basically meant for students for the faculties in the surroundings.
However, there were quite some families and older couples staying there, probably for its good price in the area of Les Corts, which we must say is a high standard residential area of Barcelona and safe.
I stayed for three nights. The receptionist gave me a map on which he indicated where I could find nearby supermarkets or restaurants.

The hotel is located at the junction of two streets which are not super busy, so quite calm. However, for transport facilities, don't count on finding a metro station round the corner. You would have to walk like a km or then walk 200m to Pedralbes avenue to catch the bus. This a small inconvenience of the location (and since I was arriving on my own, with my luggage and rucksack, I could experience it).

The rooms are good. Size and amenities are correct. The persons at the reception are very helpful and friendly. They speak good English (maybe French too), even the security attendant.

What I did not really enjoy was the breakfast. There's no great choice and for what is provided, the items are not of quality.
Nevertheless the young lady who ensures the service in the morning does her best to make everything available to the people walking in the cafetaria. It functions by a ticket system. the breakfast is included in the rate, you need to get your ticket from the reception then walk down in the cafetaria which is located -1.
In the -1 you can also find other facilities like a laundry room (works with tokens to buy from the reception), a study room, a TV room, a gym.

The other thing which is quite annoying is the thin separation between rooms and thus, lots of noise, depending on your neighbours (pulling/pushing around beds, chairs late at night).

The rooms also have a kitchenette which is very practical. However, I had to turn off the small fridge when going to bed as it was a bit noisy.

On the early morning when I had to leave to the airport, the night before I had informed the security attendant and he had arranged for the taxi for me and checked with the reception people that I could check out in the morning.
My stay turned out with no problem, except tiny inconveniences but then you can't expect to be in the comfort of your home neither, right.

Room Tip: Your room's window will probably be located for a part, behind a façade of the building in the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovingstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
Residencia Universitaria Campus del Mar
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 739 in Barcelona
1,620 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#123 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#102 of 518 in Barcelona
3,908 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 518 in Barcelona
4,162 reviews
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#63 of 739 in Barcelona
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia Universitaria Torre Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia Universitaria Torre Girona

Address: Passeig dels Til.lers, 19, 08034 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Les Corts , Pedralbes
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 739 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torre Girona Residence Hall is found in the exclusive neighbourhood of Pedralbes in Barcelona. The residence hall provides visitors with agreeable rooms including airconditioning and en-suite, as well as diverse common areas and facilities. This is the perfect option for a tranquil and affordable visit to Barcelona. It is in the upper area of Barcelona, in Campus Nord of the UPC and is perfectly connected with the centre of the city by metro and bus. The nearest metro station is Palau Reial and is only a 10 minute walk away. Avenida Diagonal located 600 meters away hosts a large variety of stores and restaurants. The residence offers rooms for short term accommodation for the members of the university/educational community (students, professors, researchers, administrative staff) and for those participating in academic and scientific congresses, cultural and sports groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residencia Universitaria Torre Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia Universitaria Torre Girona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing