We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, Great service, Great Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartments Gran Via
Ranked #261 of 722 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location, Great service, Great Value!”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Was a bit worried about going here after reading a few of the reviews but just goes to show that some people are will moan about anything!

I loved staying here and it was great value for money, so much so that we have booked out the whole apartment next year when I visit Barcelona again with some friends.

There are two apartments above each other, we stayed in the top one and the apartment itself was cleaned every day, although I don’t think the rooms were, but I wouldn’t expect this for the price.

The room was fine, simple and effective if you do not intend to spend much time in your room. The apartment had 2 bathrooms, and a WC, a breakfast area and a fully equipped kitchen which was very useful as although there is a cafe downstairs, it wasn't particularly cheap so sometimes we just had a quick breakfast in the room before we left for the day.

The location was excellent and it is only a 5 min walk to the nearest tube stop which was Tetuan (one stop from Sagrada Familia) and there is parking outside the hotel for a moped if you rent one (by far the best way to see Barcelona).

It can be a bit noisy at night as the road it is on is one of the main ones in Barcelona but this is easily solved if you just take some ear plugs.

I can’t wait to go back again, Barcelona is a very cool place and the apartments are a great place to see everything from.

Room Tip: Rooms can be noisy at night due to the road so take some ear plugs, its not that bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeardedNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    23
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
8
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights in September. Great location, very central and convenient, with markets, shops, restaurants nearby. Ok, traffic is noisy but if you close the windows and shutters at night it blocks it out. There's a fan in eveyr room. Kitchen was spotless, as was common areas. We hardly saw our neighbours, nor did we hear any noise from any of the other apartments there.

Rooms are very spacious, high ceilings, comfortable beds. It's not a hotel, so don't expect hotel service, with new sheets and towels every day, it's more like an upmarket hostel. I would definitely stay there again, and recommend it to anyone I know travelling to Barcelona. I know two people who stayed there in August, and they thought it was great too.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, I believe the apartments above have bigger common areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGer0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2011

The appartment was unclean, floors were so dirty the soles of our foot were black. There was no cleaning equipment and our contatc person didint speak english very well ,so it was hard to explain the situation. I am surprised that people here on this site write, that their appartments were cleaned everyday, we never saw no one there?
Being a foreigner you might be blaimed for the noise or other things happening in the building, as we were, alltough there was a whole hostel upstairs full of people.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 366manni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Booked the hotel via Venereal and a week before the trip, the manager emailed us for confirmation. That was nice but I also found out that they charge for late check-in. €25 after 9pm, €50 after 11pm. Thought this was quite steep but too late to rebook.

The manager showed up when we arrived, and all was easy. Passed us the keys, and she spent 10mins walking through sights and recommendations.

The room was small and basic, no tv, no cabinet, no table. We stayed there 3 nights and no change of sheets nor towels. Made a mistake first night I was there - did not fully close the balcony doors at night - to let the air in. Turned out the roads were busy all night with buses and ambulance. Closing it fully kept the noise out, and there is a standing fan in the room.

The 2 showers/toilets were adequate, but I really did not appreciate how it was not kept clean nor dry. Also, when one of them ran out of toilet paper, it was not refilled during the days when we were there. Because of them dampness, they smelled rather bad.

Location is good enough, about 15 mins walk to popular La Rambla, Old Town and Segrada Familia.

Still feel that at this price, one can probably do much better.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinKz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We came at Apt Bcn for 5 days during september. You have to call when you arrive in Barcelona, so that they can send someone to give you the keys. This may be a problem if your sim card or your phone doesn't work abroad!
Anyway, we were given a cold welcome by the manager, but she showed up to be quite helpful, by giving us advice on the "how-to" of BCN (pickpockets, ID card, streets to avoid), and handing us over a map on which she annotated the main touristic spots.

The place is clean, it's a big appartment with locked and common rooms. You have the "hostel" feeling in the way that you share spaces with others, but everyone has it's private room, like in a regular hotel. The walls - as it is usually in old buildings - are not very big, so you may hear some noise from a couple ("hum, hum") or sweedish binge drinkers (which we experienced). They went anyway get wasted in clubs around midnight, so we slept very well everynight.
The kitchen is clean and has everything you need, and our room was granted a big fan, so we were that hot. They view on the "avenida" is quite nice in the morning, if you are used to street sounds. Ho and I couldn't connect on the wifi, but that's wore because of my phone than the box I suppose.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This is a shared apartment in a very good location in central Barcelona. Like any shared space, the experience often depends on who is staying there with you, but the facilities are nice and modern and the apartment and linens well kept and clean. Someone was there every day to clean the common spaces, including the kitchen and bathrooms. The manager is very helpful and gave us tips and advice when we checked in. All of her recommendations were helpful, including excellent restaurants outside of the usual tourist areas. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFergUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Love the location, very central. The only inconvenient was that I though it was a B&B, but it is just a room in an apartment to rent.
If you are young, this is the best place, you can cook your own meals, great atmosphere, near to the discos, etc. However, I would recommended for people over 30s.
I like comfort, peace and quietness, I didn't get them here.

It is just like youth hostel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank znieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Casa Bonay
Casa Bonay
#82 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Eixample
Acacia Suites
Acacia Suites
#235 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Eixample
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
#335 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
FisaRentals Gran Via Apartments
El Raval
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Gran Via

Property: Apartments Gran Via
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 686, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 722 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Apartments Gran Via 2.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartments Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Gran Via Hotel Barcelona
Apartments Gran Via Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing