We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AinB Gothic-Little Jaume
Ranked #580 of 723 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best place to stay in Barcelona”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We relied on this website prior to booking! Imagine our 'despair' when we found other reviews complaining about the property. I am so glad we relied on your rating. The apartment was lovely, clean, spacious with an abundant supply of hot water and towels. It was our first visit to Barcelona and we would happily return to this apartment. The reception staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful as were the cleaning staff. We felt very safe and secure. The apartment is a very short walk from the main office where you collect the keys and yes it is in a quiet alley but there was nothing to cause any concern. We did not need the earplugs recommended by another reviewer! Perfect base to explore Barcelona as much of what we wanted to see was within walking distance and there were no shortages of places to eat.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenC3_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quim b, Manager at AinB Gothic-Little Jaume, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion about your stay with us. We are extremely pleased to know that the quality of the accommodation we offered reached your expectations. There is no bigger reward for us and for our staff than a satisfied client. We mentioned your comment to our employees in the reception and in the housekeeping department and they were also very happy to know that their work was appreciated.

Hope to have the chance to welcome you again and offer even more and better services, as we are working on developing some new projects that would make exploring the city a more complex activity. Don’t miss it!

Kind regards,
Apartments in Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Excellent location, but it is not a hotel or apartment. In the best case it is a hostel for very young and rich people. Stairs to 2 or 3 floors can use only a very thin and young people. The room is quite dirty, drain in the shower does not work. TV also does not work.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Maksims R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My Mom, Aunt and I stayed at the apartments on October 2nd, 2011. We were in town one night before embarking on a cruise and thought it would be nice to see a little of Barcelona. We arrived about 2 hours before check in and were hoping to store our luggage so we could go sightseeing. The entrance to the lobby is separate from the entrance to the rooms, so I watched the luggage while my aunt inquired about checking in. Security is tight, the lobby area has a sliding glass door that only opens with a remote and the apartments require a key to the entrance as well as the rooms. The man at the front desk told my aunt that we couldn't check in yet but could store the bags while we went sightseeing, but when we brought our bags in he miraculously had a room available (we had a lot of bags, overpacked a little). He helped us to our room, which took a few trips because the elevator is tiny. The room was very clean and it looked like the bathroom had recently been updated. The room had a bathroom with a nice glassed in shower and modern sink, a small kitchenette with a mini fridge, a double bed, a rollaway bed, two end tables, a small wardrobe and two balconies. The view from the balconies were amazing, we could see the gothic cathedral from one of the balconies.

There were only a couple of problems that we encountered. First, the beds are extremely hard. It literally felt like we were sleeping on wooden boards. Second, the front desk is sometimes hard to get ahold of. They left no information in the room about check out time or how to call, and when we went to inquire at 9 am no one was in yet. We decided to go sightseeing anyway, and returned later to check out. Checkout was easy, and they called a cab for us to take us to the cruise terminal when we were ready to leave. We were able to store our bags while we continued to sightsee, and we felt it was safe to leave our bags in their care.

One important thing to note is that Barcelona is a petty crime ridden city, and it seems as if the location of the hotel is especially bad for petty thieves. One of the shopkeepers next to the building warned us to watch our bags when we were waiting to check in, and when we were leaving the front desk person made us keep our hands on our bags at all times while waiting for our taxi. She said many people have had their bags stolen right in front of their eyes.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spark1es18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We initially booked Hotel Ample Apartments(do not go there seriously rubbish no windows adjoining doors to other occupied rooms and not 24 hr reception as described) After complaining to Thomas Cook they then moved us to this company/apartment. It is near all the best areas(Ramblas and Ports) and a 10 minutes walk from Placa Cataluna ;the bus stop where you would get off from Airport. Metro only 1 minutes walk. The staff are polite and looked after us. The only downside is that you have to walk up a lot of stairs to get to the apartment which could be an issue for the elderly or wheelchair users. highly recommended and a thumbs up for Thomas Cook for sorting out the Bitter taste from Hotel Ample.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barn682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2009

We had read reviews of the appartment all saying it is small and the spiral staircase is a nightmare with luggage. This is true, (although the hotel staff carried our luggage up for us so it was not a problem).
We arrived considerably earlier than the 15:00 check in time and called them on the off chance we could check in. They said it was not possible but arranged for us to leave our luggage so we could go and explore.
The room was modern and clean everthing was in good working order and the beds were comfortable. The staff asked when we would like our bedding and towels changed and if we required any extra blankets.
The kitchen area is not really subtable if you want to cook full meals but the fridge and kettle were all we really used.
The location was fantastic, right in the middle of the gothic quarter. Plenty of bars and restraunts within easy walking distance. Most of Barcelona could be explored by foot or tube from here easily.
The room overlooked the street and even at weekend we were not bothered by street noise.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quegybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#352 of 513 in Barcelona
1,656 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Gran Hotel Barcino
Gran Hotel Barcino
#434 of 513 in Barcelona
431 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Gotico
Hotel Gotico
#339 of 513 in Barcelona
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#63 of 513 in Barcelona
1,139 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Exe Laietana Palace
Exe Laietana Palace
#376 of 513 in Barcelona
519 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#234 of 513 in Barcelona
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AinB Gothic-Little Jaume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AinB Gothic-Little Jaume

Property: AinB Gothic-Little Jaume
Address: Dagueria 18, 8002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #580 of 723 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — AinB Gothic-Little Jaume 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments in Barcelona Little Jaume have a great location. The studios are in the Gothic Quarter all within walking distance of tourist attractions such as Las Ramblas, the Cathedral and the city of Barcelona.All studios are fully renovated with stone walls and high ceilings, preserving is rustic and gothic in the area. The studios have a bathroom and kitchen.It is easily accessible by public transport. The metro stop Jaume I is a few meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your AinB Gothic-Little Jaume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AinB Gothic-Little Jaume Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing