We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treat!”
Review of Apartments Jaume I

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apartments Jaume I
Ranked #491 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

This is slap bang in the heart of the gothic quarter! You walk out of the front door and you're on the streets. However despite this I never really noticed much noise. This may have been as I was exhausted from exploring.

The accommodation was clean and had everything I wanted. The room even had a micro kitchen which came in handy.

To gain entrance on the first day I had to call a number on the front door which seemed odd. However someone arrived shortly after and gave us a key (after checking our booking papers etc). I mention this as its something I would have appreciated reading on a site like this before I went.

A great base and would definitely use again

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Froome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2011

Apartments in Barcelona Jaume 1, calle Dagueria
june 2011
just returned from Barcelona
stayed 1 night in the apartment before a cruise
the apartment in Jaume I is well located (Barri Gotic), a couple of blocks from las ramblas
the apartment is clean and tidy
there is no elevator, only spiral narrow and steep stairs, unable to climb the stairs with your luggage on the side, more than 30 steps up
the windows are not soundproof
the bedding rather average
not recommended for people with walking difficulties

3  Thank jandi789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

First time we have stayed in apartments, difficult to find (but opposite Hotel Gothica)we usually stay in hotels 3-4 star.However our stay was great! room clean, nice bathroom with shower, also small kitchen which was great for making cup of coffee etc in morning! although there are plenty of cafes in the area.Also french windows and shutters which were great . Great location right in centre.I would definately use again and price was really cheap, as with city breaks you spend most of your time out and about not in your room.Only down side was bed a bit firm and a little bit of noise at night !

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heavenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Not really an apartment - but I did really like it - just one room with a smal kitchenette (hob, cupboards, cutlery, crockery, microwave, bialetti, kettle, toaster) nice bathroom, 3 small balconies about half a foot in depth, not suitable to sit on but nice to look out from.

Very hard bed, so it depends what you like in a bed really!

I read a lot of other reviews saying that it was noisy so I brough earplugs. It really wasn't that bad.

We stayed in room number 1, for £85 for two nights it was good, but I think if I were to stay again I would like an upgrade on the room.

Also I read a lot of reviews saying it was difficult to find and you had to ring etc, don't worry. It's very easy to find from Jaume I.

Not particularly friendly man on the front desk but it was 11pm when we arrived.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteWray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We hadn't originally elected to stay at Sant Jaume Apartments but at the last minute Apartments in Barcelona company contacted us to see if we minded moving. Carrer Jaume (Jaume St) was more centrally located than our first choice so we didn't mind at all, and the accommodation is new and tastefully decorated.
The street noise was a real factor though (we were on first floor) and we had to drown out the sound of party people at all hours, building/construction/rubbish collection and traffic using iPods and television.
The bathroom here was huge, built with lots of natural stone characteristic of much of the city's architecture, and the kitchen was well equipped with all the facilities we would expect from a self contained apartment.
From this location we were able to walk to La Ramblas, the Barcelonetta Waterfront, and lots of incredible art museums and galleries, including Dali and Picasso. Excellent restaurants and bars just steps away. The tiny laneways all around this location are amazing - you can explore for a long time and never see it all! Things open and close up at all hours.
The only thing to bear in mind is when trying to find the apartments, you need to enter from a small alley off Jaume St, there is no door on this street. The metro is station is only about 15 metres away so if you come by train, don't run past it and miss it (as we did)!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hozay_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

I saw some great reviews on this site and this seemed like the best place for location (gothic quarter) and wasn't super-pricey. The rooms also looked charming in the photos. Almost photoshopped.

Well, it was everything as expected! The whole place was immaculate and really cold not have had a better location - close to the Jaume subway station as well as Plaza Catalunya (a major subway junction as well as where the airport shuttle drops you off). And it's smack in the middle of the gothic quarter without being in a super-touristy area.

I did see some comments about hard mattresses and loud noise, but a) we found everything very comfortable (though we both prefer firmer beds) and b) we didn't really notice the loud noise (or must not have minded it).

We also accidentally left some expensive clothes in the closet after we left and went back almost a week later to retrieve it and the the staff was very helpful and they were returned just fine (I've had issues with other hotels not being able to return stuff that was left in the room so I thought this was a nice plus.)

The only drawback is that the kitchen is sort of useless since they don't provide any salt/pepper or oil even thought there are plates, pans and cutlery.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmmsoymilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank mhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
#476 of 515 in Barcelona
259 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Gran Hotel Barcino
Gran Hotel Barcino
#473 of 515 in Barcelona
463 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Gotico
Hotel Gotico
#317 of 515 in Barcelona
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#225 of 515 in Barcelona
287 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Exe Laietana Palace
Exe Laietana Palace
#370 of 515 in Barcelona
543 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Call
Hotel Call
#424 of 515 in Barcelona
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Jaume I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Jaume I

Address: Dagueria 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #491 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £63 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Apartments Jaume I Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing