We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally unacceptable!!!!! Avoid at all costs”
Review of Bailen

Bailen
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bailen
Ranked #445 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Totally unacceptable!!!!! Avoid at all costs”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Me and my friends booked this place based on their rating on expedia. What a HUGE HUGE mistake. Before we even got there we realized their advertised prices are made to be deceiving. Although they put themselves on a lot of agent sites, ultimately you deal with this Spanish agent afterall, who has NO SHAME to send you LISTS of ridiculous extra charges for almost everything you can think of (checking out at NORMAL hrs during the day, total rip off cleaning charges, booking fees etc etc).

Eventually when we were there we were taken up to the place by this guy who had some difficulty speaking english. The place, was NEVER CLEANED and even the sheets never changed. The guy had to put back the sheets when we settled in. When we asked of restaurants around the area he had NO IDEA, i thought that was unacceptable when they try to sound like some warm, welcoming, hospitable hosts (not at all).

There were 5 of us, but turned out there is only one proper bed, and the others were unfolded sofa beds. Which were not a problem (we thought) until we saw...omg, like the largest amount of DUST behind those "sofas" which had to be the beds.

During the stay more things propped up, not only were the hot water running out after 2 showers, the fridge and freezer were horrid and we found an uneaten jam biscuit in between the gaps of the kitchen cupboards.

Hence to start with it was a filthy place, AND WHAT'S MOST OUTRAGEOUS, is we found out 2 weeks after we left, that they actually FINED us 60EUR on the card we registered with them because we "left the place unclean and untidy" - boy were we raged. A reminder - that was ON TOP OF the ridiculous cleaning charges we ALREADY paid.

From the French comment before this, and from what I saw myself at the place, there is NO CLEANING whatsoever, before NOR after your stay.

Sorry for the length of this, I never really bother with writing reviews, but as you can tell I just felt I should do the world justice - to warn ANYONE against staying at Bailen appartments, unless you have plenty of money that you feel you want to give to a shameless business which gives you a filthy flat with unacceptable facilities and close to NO services during your stay. I wish you luck.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank eur0pe_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaOnLine, Manager at Bailen, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
We are sorry this customer got angry.

We do our best to inform all our clients about everything before they book, and reviews like this one only can be avoided if we make the information even clearer, and we are constantly working on improving it.

This said, we believe the problem with theseclients arose because they did not realise there was a cleaning fee to pay at the time of booking, and felt cheated.

However, all the information regarding extra fees is fed and published on any collaborating site, such as the one mentioned by the clients. Also, once a booking is made, we get in touch with all clients and provide again all the information, very clearly. Sometimes in spite of our efforts (emails, phone calls, etc), and the more so with last minute bookings, clients are already travelling and don't get this additional information

In a vacation rental, as a lot of people know, it is standard procedure to apply a separate cleaning fee, because this is a one time flat cost that is impossible to integrate in a daily rate. It accounts for sheets and towels, and a final thorough cleaning after departure. It is also standard that renters are kindly asked to leave the apartment reasonably tidy, otherwise the cleaning team has double work to do, and a charge may apply.

We would suggest that these clients got angry, and must have felt that since they paid for cleaning, they could leave the apartment without tidying up.

The amount they were charged means that they left the apartment very dirty, since we almost never charge after departure, and at the most a 10/20€ extra.

As for the rest of the review, we disagree with the lack of cleaning, an in any case everybody is told that if for whatever reason cleaning is not to their taste, we send again the cleaning team until the client's satisfaction is reached.

There are two bathrooms, with boilers, so it has to be a very long shower that uses up all the hot water.

The recepcionist is very knowledgeable and helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    3
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
MH Apartments Tetuan
MH Apartments Tetuan
#356 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Eixample
Hotel SERHS Carlit
Hotel SERHS Carlit
#329 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Eixample
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
#343 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#75 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Podium
Eixample
Casa Bonay
Casa Bonay
#74 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailen

Property: Bailen
Address: 68 Carrer de Bailen, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #445 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bailen 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Bailen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailen Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing