We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, helpful receptionist, great appartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AinB Gothic-Jaume I
Ranked #551 of 740 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed 6 June 2014

On arrival we were upgraded and given an appartment with access to the lift. We were able to access the room before check in time,which was great. The receptionist, (I think her name was Slyvia), was absolutely brilliant and really bubbly. She was very helpful in telling me and my sister which bus' to catch for tourist destinations and answering any questions- lovely!
The appartment itself was lovely and clean and both me and my sister, having never been to Barcelona and only being 17 and 19 felt safe and secure in the appartment!
From the appartment, it is around a 15 mins walk down to the beach, minutes from la rambla, and we walked to the gaudì works including la sagrada familia which were really not far away.
The area is packed with food places and restaurants!
Negatives
The room wasn't cleaned every day, but our towels were changed. We weren't really bothered about our rooms not being cleaned either way- we were only there for five days, and tidied up behind ourselves.
Yes it is true, it is a very busy street with lots of noise outside such as bins early in the morning, but the gothic area itself is busy, and given the location, minutes away from la rambla, it is expected! Neither me or my sister were awoken from the noise outside once!
When arriving it isn't very clear where to go, as our taxi dropped us off on the lane of the actual appartment, whereas the reception is actually around the corner, which was quite confusing.
I would say make sure that the room you get is the room you thought you had booked- although we were upgraded, our upgrade was what we had thought we were getting anyway.
Overall, would definitely return back to stay in AnB appartments, given that we were to stay in an appartment of the same quality! Was set off to a good start from the lovely receptionist. Loved every minute of Barcelona!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Having read some of the previous posts on this hotel - or really it is an apartment block you could be forgiven for passing it by, but that would be a mistake. After a 40 hour trip we were walked around to the apt building (abt 5 mins) went through the security door and caught a lift to our 2nd floor apt. It was spacious, clean, had washer/dryer, kitchen, separate bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Our place was cleaned every day and we got new towels as well. sure there is only 1 TV channel in English but the nightlife is outside and the weather great. The staff were with one exception very helpful and overall our stay was a good one. The location is only a few minutes from La Rambla and the same from Via Leitano so you are in the middle of a good area for tourists. We had a great time in Barcelona and the accommodation suited us fine. Yes the bins are noisy in the morning, but seriously any low level apt is going to get that in a stone jungle like this. The good news is that the streets are clean, the people friendly and the tapas great. One last thing, the security is very solid in this building so for those who worry about such things, you don't need to if you go here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Garry1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in Jan with a friend. Location was excellent and easy to find. Apartment was ok and quite spacious and liked the fact you can check in and leave bags at the reception desk etc. However, when we arrived we got the keys, found the apartment - the cleaner was still half way through cleaning it! (this was at 4pm!) Communication needed to be better as front desk didn't say it wasn't ready. Once we finally got in, it was ok, but they hadn't emptied the bin from the last people! The apartment was really noisy all night - we closed all the windows but they are not very good at keeping the sound out, so wasn't a great night's sleep. The TV didn't work either. Overall, it had potential, decent value, but just needs managing better and something to stop the noise!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Location is absolutely fabulous other than some nice smells but that's Barcelona!, don't think they are actually apartments as facilities limited but worst of all you get working up during the night with the bins being emptied between 2 and 3am as well as the bar noise. Just in case you thought you could sleep in to compensate then no chance, school or crèche opposite wake you up nice and early:(

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We booked for one night...so arrived early in the hotel..but the chekin is on 15:00 so they could not give the toom faster..we had a small baby..there were no toilets or bathroom in the reception room so we couldn't change diapers..and wee needed to wait for the room 3 hours and when we walked back they gave the wrong room in in the ground floor with windows with no day light at all and we booked also with balcony and paid for the balcony..but they said its the only available room and theres no chance to get our room with balcony..very bad staff and bad quality rooms..no kettle in the kitchen..no shampoos or bath gel no choice that we can get our toom with balcony

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank velguciss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This place is in a great location-that is the ONLY good thing. It is dirty. The towels are so thin that you can read a newspaper thru it. The phone and TV don't work and the mgmt doesn't care!! They say they "tidy-up" everyday-they do not! They bring in "clean" towels every other day. They also did not change the sheets on the 3rd day as promised. It is noisy and the windows don't block out the sound. I wish I could give this place a negative star rating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

If you want to have a good night sleep, don't pick this one! The street outside the window is noisy, very noisy, even till early late id-night, so that I have to get up to write this review. It is just too noisy! The room is small, not up to the name of an apartment, at most a a small studio. The towels are not that clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAOCHEN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 740 in Barcelona
1,618 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#121 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#66 of 740 in Barcelona
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#102 of 517 in Barcelona
3,904 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#203 of 517 in Barcelona
3,145 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 517 in Barcelona
4,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AinB Gothic-Jaume I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AinB Gothic-Jaume I

Address: 1-3 Calle Dagueria, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #551 of 740 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: £49 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AinB Gothic-Jaume I 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartments are situated in a beautiful building located on a pedestrian street in the historic old city, next to City Hall and minutes from Las Ramblas and the sea.All are outdoor balconies let you enjoy views of the Gothic Quarter for breakfast. These apartments are ideal for stay of a couple or for business executives.From here you can visit many museums and sights of the city and stroll through the bohemian district of Borne.El Born is known for the many bars, restaurants and designer shops.The area is well connected to the network of public transport and the metro station Jaume I is a few feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AinB Gothic-Jaume I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AinB Gothic-Jaume I Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing