We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff & nice and clean but not spectacular” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelona Princess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barcelona Princess
Ranked #180 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff & nice and clean but not spectacular”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

So the hotel swung my decision to stay here information on its SPA facilities. do not make this mistake, as you may not even use it. I took one look at the 'jaccuzi' and walked away very upset... its a tiny pool with luke warm water, outside on a balcony in the wind.. the 2 swimming pools also had luke warm water and were quite small. I did change my mind about them however, and did later go back to take a dip in the pool. they are ok, but do not make this the deciding factor 4 ure holiday. Sauna was very nice, but small also.

Anyway, staff were very friendly, and helful and spoke english.. room was nice and clean, but not as spectaculat as I thought it would have been.. a simple double bed, clean sheets and a nice city view (24th floor)... electrical window blinds and curtains which were quite cool.....shower was amazing though, with very powerful hot water, and massage effects.. the room was clean with a lcd samsung tv ( i brought my HDMI cable just incase and this worked fine so could cnnect my laptop and watch my films on the tv) free mimibar and safe, with a bottle of beer, coke, water and lemon juice for free in the minibar... everything in the room was fine, except the toilet started to smell the 2nd day of sewege.. not nice, but could only smell it inthe toilet..I tried to connect my internet via wireless, but no signal, so simply called reception and they asked me to come down and get the internet cable, and this worked straight away no problem- and was free...

Breakfast buffet was $19.99 pp very extorinate, considering i didnt eat too much of it.. a variety of juices, runny scramblled egg, very nice potent saussages, pizza typed things, yougart, fresh fruit, yougart, bacon/ham slices, fresh bread... that was the most of it.. it may have suited the tastes of others, but not my self, and it is probably best to eat somewhere else and to get more for you £ also , definetly....

The hotel is not far away from the city (Cantaluyna* / las Ramblas at all).. its about 6 stops, and then one change for one more stop and ur there.. takes about 20/25 mins on the metro, and the metro stop is right accross the road from the hotel which is fab - about 30 seconds walk..so nice if you dont want to stay in the city, but i would definetly prefer to next time. especially as there nothing close to the hotel at all, just a few tiny cafes.. there is a mall right next door though, with Zara and primark etc in there.. but i dont figure you would go in there as it is not a 'spanisy tourist place' more like a standard London / americian shopping mall.

The tram also stops right outside, and the beach is supposed to be nearby but we didnt go as we didnt really have time, and it was a bit windy..

We got to the hotel from Barcelona airport by getting a transfer bus from terminal 1 to terminal 2 where we could get a train , which would then take us to a metror stopp, and we then got the metro to the hotel station stop.. station workers will tell you what stops etc to get off at etc, and definetly most of them spoke good english so it was simple to get around.. that journey to the hotel took about 2 hrs almost!! very long.. but on the way back we decided to take the Aero * bus which leaves La Ramblas and goes strait to terminal 1 for only $5.05 very quick, taking about 25-30 mins.. definetly should have done that on the way there - simply then taking the metro form la ramblas to / from the hotel.

Over all, hotel was fine, but more like 3* to me, clean and a very nice building though. Would definetly stay in las ramblas next time though, but bare in mind that I am 22 years old, and my boyfriend is 26...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shazz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,216
    1,147
    309
    97
    67
See reviews for
262
1,328
87
548
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lodz, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

The hotel is well located if someone wants to be close to the sea and congress center.
There are only 2 lifts which are working very slow. If you want a room with a sea view ( floor 25,26 ) be carefull - don`t choose rooms close to the lift.It makes noise..rooms under swimming pool- are not good too due to the air condition.The breakfast is amazing ( the best croissants I have eaten except France)
- Sometimes one coffe machine is working which is not enough

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank destinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

The hotel was nice and clean with a big room and bed. The area is new and still being constructed. The ocean is very close but does not have a bathing beach but a beautiful marina. We battled with the aircon, the air was very hot and dry.

We did not eat at the hotel so cant comment on the food.
We put a sign on the door saying to clean the room both mornings and they only cleaned it the first morning and not the second.
The staff are quite friendly and most speak English.
The area is new and feels safe and clean but you need to catch a tram to get to the main part of Barcelona.
Cost about 35 euros for a taxi to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eviepie-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

The hotel was nice, but the internet connection was horrible because I think they had one server for the entire hotel. I was able to read about 3 - 5 e-mails the first day or two and then could not connect at all.

Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CScharer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Bay, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

Stayed at Hotel Princess Barcelona mid week. They kindly accommodated my request for a room on high floor with sea views. The building is split into 2 towers, one with 26 floors, the other with 23 floors and a rooftop pool. Some rooms face suburbs, some old Barcelona, some the sea. Only three glass elevators serve all those rooms, so give yourself an extra 5 minutes to check out.

The hotel is about 6 metro stops away from the center, (for example, Las Ramblas or the 13th century gothic cathedral). I would have preferred to stay in the Gothic Quarter to skip the Metro altogether, but this hotel is only one block away from bus stops and the yellow Metro Line 4 @ Forum stop. There are a few suburban restaurants and bars directly across the street, if you'd rather pay one euro for your coffee instead of 3 at the hotel lobby/ bar. Hotel is next to a shopping mall. Also directly in front of the hotel is the Tram which you can board with your Metro card.

I stayed on the 24th floor, and was very pleased with the relaxing sea view. Window practically runs floor to ceiling, but you cannot open the window. We called the front desk to get it opened a crack, but they shut it the next day. The window shades were run down, but the bed was the most comfortable I experienced during my two weeks in Spain. I had to be vigilant that my door to the hall shut properly.

We couldn't get the t.v. to work but didn't really care. My companion was quite irritated that we could not get the Wi-Fi to work anywhere - yes we did complain twice to no avail. There are two computers behind the front desk, on the second floor of the lobby, and they're often occupied.

The shower stall has a fancy shower head that blasts so much water I nearly flooded the bathroom. Of course if the water had drained more quickly there wouldn't have been a flood... There was only one towel / bathrobe hook. No bath tub. They supplied most toiletries, but you'll have to bring your own hair conditioner and wash cloth. There's a mirror near the sink, and the closet door is a full length mirror.

There is a small desk and one chair near the window. There are about half a dozen light switches. Two switches to control window blind and shade, and one to control the bathroom shade that covers the glass wall separating the bath area from the bedroom. There is a wonderful free mini bar with Cokes, waters, one juice and an Estrella beer bottle, refilled daily; such a treat. Bottle opener included.

The staff at the front desk was always quick to approach when we walked up to it. We were able to check in half an hour early, get transportation info, a map, and get a loaner plug adapter easily.

I did not try the gym. Water at rooftop pool seemed lukewarm, but at times one could see steam rising from it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGirlPunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

Lovely, modern hotel. Really nice room and views. Room was v. clean and modern in style. Great shower. Hotel staff very helpful. Room service generally inexpensive and tasty. Only drawback is the location which is approx 10-15 euro taxi ride to city center. Possible to take a tram too which is outside the door, but we never figured it out. Great shopping center close to hotel. We got a good deal on the hotel. Nice place to stay, but not at the center of the action. If you are okay with this, then the hotel is good. If you want to walk out onto the action of Barcelona, then maybe not so good. But overall a luxury hotel..lovely. Good spa as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandHappytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PT,IL
Level Contributor
152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

One of the best hotels we have attended
Free internet, free mini-bar, modern design, close to a metro station, late departure, good breakfast.
We don't know why it is not granted a 5- star hotel grade
I guess this is because there are only showers in the rooms and no bath tubs, and no iron also.
They have a heated pool, a Jacuzzi…
Very recommended

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel SB Diagonal Zero Barcelona
0.2 mi away
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#186 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vincci Bit
Vincci Bit
#102 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Barcelona Forum by Marriott
0.4 mi away
Vincci Maritimo Barcelona
Vincci Maritimo Barcelona
#167 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Princess

Property: Barcelona Princess
Address: Diagonal Avenue 1-3 | 50 , Eters From the Beach and in Front of the Convention Centre, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#80 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#96 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#123 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star hotel located in the Forum area only at 50 meters from the beach. On the 1st of Diagonal Avenue directly across from the CCIB (International Convention Centre of Barcelona) and Diagonal Mar Mall. Excellent public transport options to the city centre, just 20 minutes by metro, Tram or bus, all just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. There is also a Barcelona Touristic Bus stop behind the hotel, you can purchase tickets at the reception and start the tour on the Green Line. Spacious facilities with free access for all guests. Its modern Business Centre with computer use, Internet access and complimentary printing. Two heated outdoor pools, one on the 3rd floor next to the solarium, gym, sauna and massage room available to the customer (massages at extra cost). The other pool is on the 23rd floor with wonderful views over the Mediterranean Sea. In the rooms, modern and comfortable, there are free services such as WIFI and Mini Bar; you can also enjoy spectacular views of Barcelona and the Mediterranean at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelona Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Princess Hotel Barcelona
Princess Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Princess Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing