We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Hotel Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Del Mar
Ranked #252 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed here for two nights and i would never stay here again. The beds were hard, nl breakfast, rude staff, advertised wifi but said it was broken but when i young woman asked they gave it to her. Avoid this hotel unless it is 20 pounds a night

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateg1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    328
    114
    29
    16
See reviews for
95
282
44
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My family and I stayed here for a total of 2 nights, 1 night before a cruise trip and the other after. In one word it was terrible. They basically con you to book the hotel advertising free Wifi and a free continental breakfast. Upon arrival, I asked for WiFi knowing it was free (as per the website) and after saying it was a mistake on the website, the staff just put this paper in front of me with costs for WiFi (which we didn't pay for). Turns out theres free Barcelona WiFi just outside the hotel and I could get a pretty strong signal.

Secondly, was breakfast which we thought was included when we booked, but there was no part in the booking that said we had to book for breakfast too. Apparently we booked "room-only" hence we couldn't get breakfast and had to pay 14 euros per person. Thank god for the good location because there was cheap breakfast around the corner that cause 14 euros total for the three of us.

Lastly was the second night we stayed after the cruise. We were put in a different room where the Barcelona WiFi signal was not picked up and we decided to argue after insisting that it said Free WiFi on the website. After about 15 minutes we got login information which worked! :D

Beds are tough, bathroom has barely any soap, holes in the towels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaesha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The only thing good about this hotel is the location and the building itself. It's very centrally located, close to the beach and the main centres of the city and right next to the excellent 7 Portes restaurant. The building itself is very beautiful.

However:
- no free wifi.
- keycard failed every time I went to use it and it had to be reset.
- air-conditioning did not work (in the height of summer!).
- beds were uncomfortable.
- staff were not friendly or helpful.
- breakfast was not included and for the extra cost it was not worth it.

I normally don't do reviews but I thought I'd better warn people to avoid this place. Particularly as we had positive experiences everywhere else we stayed in Europe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesseparker1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Arrived to be greeted by the most obnoxious man in the world ....Only there for 3 nights for a very ,very, special occassion .
The man at the desk was very angry because our room swipe key didnt work . He made it sound as though we were to blame ??? After telling us to swipe harder 3 it angered him more He punched the wall behind him when we mentioned we needed to get our medication this was after he told us he would put us in another room but without any of our belongings
There were 7 of us spending what little time we had waiting for an answer of what can be done .
Paid for breakfast to be told it hadnt been put on system so we werent allowed any .Would like to add that although 7 of us were there we had 1 spokesperson so he didnt feel intimidated ....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theelfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Wifi which was advertised as included was not! When told to pay, which i did, i then get told - it doesn't really work.

Breakfast that was advertised as included was not! Probably a good thing as we found some fantastic places around the harbour.

Part of ceiling outside of room fell down and was leaking. We told the desk staff and it was left there for 2 days!

Staff were very rude - if they don't like there job - don't work there. They were not welcoming in the slightest. The man at the front desk on our first night was the rudest person I have ever encountered. Not only did he punch a wall in anger when we told him our room key wasn't working, he wouldn't tell us what to do about it. He basically told us to shut up and started texting on his phone.

If you're only there for a weekend and nothing goes wrong - i.e. they manage to put you in a store cupboard as a bedroom - with this place it might actually be possible - it's a fabulous location and if it had happy staff and you got what was advertised it would have a been almost pleasant.

On another note - when we could;t get into our room because the key card wouldn't work we were told we wouldn't be able to get any of our belongings and that we had to stay in another room with NOTHING! when you're only there for 3 days thats not really on - infact its not on at all.

We were not offered any sort of compensation i.e. - a breakfast - which we had paid for anyway, but didn't get.

Would I stay here again - No

Room Tip: dont book online because anything you book isn't valid. the only plus was we asked to all be put...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 147kirsty85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Good value, rooms clean and nice. The location is excelent.1 minute walk to Barceloneta metro station and the bus station is in front of the hotel. The 4th floor rooms have a balcony which offers a great view over the port.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the last floor (4th) the balcony offers a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickmacross, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

we stayed there after Easter. lovely hotel for 3 stars.big rooms,clean.staff at front desk very nice and helpful. good choices for breakfast,only needed more bigger tables.
hotel good location.close to picaso museum. la ramblas only 10 min walk away.
we had dinner at origens restaurant- very close by, organic food, good service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dijaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
Santa Marta Hotel
Santa Marta Hotel
#183 of 513 in Barcelona
358 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
#272 of 513 in Barcelona
451 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#308 of 513 in Barcelona
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#27 of 513 in Barcelona
904 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#234 of 513 in Barcelona
255 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
#253 of 513 in Barcelona
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Mar

Property: Hotel Del Mar
Address: Plaza Palacio 19, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Hotel, located in the heart of Barcelona between the Gothic quarter and the beaches of la Barceloneta, housed in a building considered artistic national monument surrounded by the most important monuments of Barcelona, This 3-star hotel offers excellent value for money and is perfect for visiting the city of Barcelona, thanks to its good connections by public transport. We are in the Placa Palau, between the Gothic quarter and the beaches of Barcelona, very close to the famous district of el Born, the port and the Parc de la Ciutadella, in one of the most popular tourist areas of the city. Within walking distance of the Hotel of the Sea you will find several bus, train and subway lines that will allow you to comfortably navigate Barcelona. The Hotel del Mar in Barcelona offers 75 comfortable rooms with a functional and elegant decoration, many of them with views to the sea and the port of Barcelona, and some with terrace. All the rooms have: heating and air conditioning, flat screen TV satellite, safe (with charge), bathroom with hairdryer and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mar Hotel
Del Mar Barcelona
Hotel Del Mar Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing