We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Rigoletto
Ranked #180 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I agree with other reviewers: Dont be fooled by its exterior. The hotel is modern, clean, has a very good breakfast (impressed by its quality) and, yes, you are not at the centre, but have in mind that if you are travelling with children you are next to a park, very near a shopping mall, with a small playground and, additionally, at the mall (Illy) you will find an excellent food mall, with everything you can imagine at far better prices than at the centre of the town.
For us, the only minus was that putting another bed for our child made it difficult for even to move in the room (205) even though we paid full price for our child to our tour operator.

Room Tip: Beware if you need an extra bed in a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RigolettoCatalonia, Director General at Catalonia Rigoletto, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments in Trip Advisor. We are more than pleased to cover your expectations in our Hotel. We wait for you in the future to welcome again. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

5 min walk from the metro station and the most popular Spain mall "el corte inglese" !!! The breakfast just satisfactory but very modern clean and spacious rooms!!!! Especially the bathroom where u could have your bath together with your children! Friendly staff especially the hotel maids! Lovely late discussions with the other group people in front of the hotel under the umbrella! So if u need a small, friendly and modern hotel this is the perfect choice!!! Also perfect for home decor fashionistas!!! U will find the latest decor ideas!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RigolettoCatalonia, Director General at Catalonia Rigoletto, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for all the time you spent writting all this comments about us. We are more than pleased and we hope to see you again in our Hotel. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Don't get fooled from the exterior of this hotel (which isn't so great). Inside, it's a modern hotel with spacious rooms, lovely bed and a bathroom which stands out, mostly beacuse of the black mosaic tiles. 5 minute walk to the Maria Christina metro station, walkable distance to Camp Nou, really nice and quiet area. Staff was friendly and willing to help and answer all kinds of questions. Breakfast included many fruits to choose from -among other goods.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank little_missile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RigolettoCatalonia, Director General at Catalonia Rigoletto, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for sharing your experience with us through TripAdvisor. We are more than pleased to receive it, and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I attended a conference in mid May at the adjacent Princesa Sofia Gran Hotel - this was full, and the Rigoletto was closest available hotel. As mentioned below, it is very comfortable and I didnt have problems with room cleaning.

However, checking in took nearly 20 minutes due to a computer fault; staff were very friendly and helpful, but if you arrive late in the evening and it takes ages to check in, it is hard to be positive afterwards. Other guests staying at the same time seemed also to have problems with the new system, so some work needed there.

But it is comfortable and there are quite a few local restaurants that are excellent value and dont rip people off as they do in the centre of town - great food at excellent prices. And the German Beer Bar at the other local hotel is a good place to relax after a day at work, so I would return if I needed to stay locally.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RigolettoCatalonia, Director General at Catalonia Rigoletto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for the time you spent writting your experience in catalonia Rigoletto Hotel. We are more than pleased to met your expectations and we wait to see you very soon. Thanks in advance for your confidence and kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The room is big enough, clean, recently renewed with a well working wifi and a free bottle of water.
It is really 2 minutes walking from diagonal street and the metro station. 10 minutes from the University and some non very touristic restaurants. Easy access to a taxi parking (frequently empty!)
I guess it can be also a good choice for not-business traveler. Maybe the breakfast is too expensive

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willy64Milano_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RigolettoCatalonia, Director General at Catalonia Rigoletto, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments in Trip Advisor about Catalonia Rigoletto hotel. We are more than pleased to meet your expectations. Do not hesitate to contact us in the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Location: Close to Camp Nou and the university. However, if you are here for sightseeing, book something closer to the city. EVERY hotel in barcelona will be close to a Metro, because the public transportation is so good.

The walls are thin, I could hear the toilet flush in the next or room above.

Plus: very clean, very nice beds, excellent breakfast

Minus:
1. poor design. The lights in the room were stressful to the eyes. There was no outlet to put a laptop on the table, because a lamp was connected to it. Why do hotels do this ????
2. The fitness center treadmill did not work for 3 days despite a complaint. So, a 4-star hotel without a functional fitness center? Certainly not worth the price
3. Very "i care a damn" staff at the reception. Despite complaining about the treadmill, all I got was "I am sorry".

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khandelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RigolettoCatalonia, Director General at Catalonia Rigoletto, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for all the time you spent in writting your experience. It will help us to improve in the future. We are more than proud that you chose our hotel as reference. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I really wanted to like this hotel. From the outside it looks pretty awful, a 1950s concrete edifice but inside it's contemporary stylish dark wood and glass. The rooms are terrific, same dark wood and gala with velvet upholstery. Beds are superb, possibly the best beds I've stayed in whilst abroad and bathrooms are well equipped.

But the downside, the service ranges from friendly but inept to borderline rude. We arrived early, well before check in time so went for a walk to the CampNu. When we returned after check in time our rooms still weren't ready as they had had a problem with a group checking out. We were told the wait would be 10 - 30 minutes. When the rooms were ready we went up only to find that none of the key cards worked cue another trip to reception to sort that out. Eventually we got into the rooms which as noted were lovely.

Coming down for breakfast the following morning (7.30 - 11am) all the tables were either in use or dirty and we ended up commandeering a table that had a reserved sign on it. We had booked bed and breakfast but halfway through breakfast the waitress tried to give us a bill for one of our rooms but not the other. Yet another trip to reception who acknowledged that this was a mistake. Breakfast selection was okay but not great and coffee was truly awful.

We came back from visiting the city (which is about 5k away) at 2.30pm to find that our rooms had not been made up which wasn't great as we were just ready for a shower and a rest after all that walking.

Coming back from dinner the second evening we found that the key cards for one of the rooms has stopped working, hence yet another trip to reception.

One the whole it you're going to the Camp Nu for a match and aren't too worried about service then this is a really comfortable hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Daisy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RigolettoCatalonia, Director General at Catalonia Rigoletto, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for telling us your experience. We take note about all your comments in order to improve in the future. Do not hesitate to contact me personally on your next reservations. I am at your entire disposal. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Stadium
NH Barcelona Stadium
#213 of 520 in Barcelona
772 reviews
Madanis Hotel
#283 of 520 in Barcelona
484 reviews
Hotel Upper Diagonal
#50 of 520 in Barcelona
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
Arenas Atiram Hotels
Arenas Atiram Hotels
#380 of 520 in Barcelona
233 reviews
Les Corts
AC Hotel Victoria Suites
AC Hotel Victoria Suites
#290 of 520 in Barcelona
351 reviews
Les Corts
Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel
Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel
#258 of 520 in Barcelona
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Rigoletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Rigoletto

Address: Sabino de Arana, 22-24, 08028 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Les Corts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#103 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#126 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#167 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £81 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Rigoletto 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalonia Rigoletto Hotel, opened in 2009, is situated in the main commercial and financial center of Barcelona, next to the new Clinic Dexeus and and The Maternity clinic; nearby the Nou Camp (Barcelona’s Football Club stadium) and perfectly communicated to the historical center of Barcelona. This new building has 65 rooms, bar, breakfast buffet, restaurant and Free Wireless Internet Connection (WIFI) in all the areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Rigoletto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Rigoletto Barcelona
Catalonia Rigoletto Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing