We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inside Barcelona Apartments Esparteria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inside Barcelona Apartments Esparteria
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

These apartments will not be beaten for location, the inside Barcelona team are SO helpful & welcoming. If ur looking for a truly amazingly located place to use as a base for a few days in this amazing city - look no further - the cathedral Santa Maria del Mar is literally next door - heaps of super bars & eateries on ur door step - even las rambalas is only a short ten min walk away. But be cautious - the beds are very narrow -proceed with caution when tuning over in the night ! Would recommend & use this apt again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eveyemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    33
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
52
75
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

- after mentioning the bad odor of the room the staff didn't care or even bother to check
- 10€ for a towel change
- 30€ to have the rooms cleaned
- The apartment which was for 2 people had a bigger lounge room than the apartment for 4 people
- after paying for the accomodation in full beforehand, we were asked to pay a city tax

I would not reccomend staying at these apartments

also the area in which the apartment is located stinks

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aeb8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Wonderful apartment in the heart of Barcelona. Great location - close to some attractions, metro and beach. But inside apartment was very silent. Flat had all facilities you need and even more. Good wifi. We loved it and recomend to everyone, who wants to feel being citizen of Barcelona, Very helpful and nice staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marija C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We booked a two bedroom apartment for a week after reading the reviews on here, and weren't disappointed. I thought that It represented very good value for a family of four, particularly when compared with paying for two separate hotel rooms in the city. We also enjoyed the additional space, and the benefits of the kitchen and living areas.

There are some very detailed reviews for these apartments on Trip Advisor, and I completely agree with the general trend, which is that they are situated in a great location, and tick most of the boxes for a city break. You are not staying at the Ritz, but the accommodation is comfortable (albeit resembling an Ikea showroom) and very well located. The Gothic Quarter is lovely, and has so much to offer on the doorstep (bars, restaurants, bus stops, shopping, the ports etc etc).

We had a couple of issues during our stay. The kettle was causing the electrics to fuse on day one, but was replaced with a brand new one as soon as we raised the problem. On the Saturday of our visit, we were unable to gain access to our safe due to a technical fault. Fortunately the staff were able to help us open it and retrieve our valuables, but unfortunately it was out of action until the following Monday (not ideal in Barcelona!) I would like to add, that in my opinion the staff did everything possible to try and rectify the the situation. Sometimes these things just happen. Indeed, as many of the other reviewers on this site have commented, the staff were incredibly helpful throughout our stay, and were full of great insights which enabled us get the most from our holiday.

I am a light sleeper, and did find that there was quite a lot of noise at night. However the rest of my family slept well, and I actually suspect that the apartment may well have been slightly more sheltered from noise that a lot of the other accommodations on offer in the city.

If I were to be critical about anything, then I would recommend that the shower be re-grouted as it is starting to look a little unsightly. Also, I would like to have been offered some better quality towels for use during our stay (I think ours were getting to the end of their natural life!)

If you're looking to stay in Barcelona, then I can only recommend that you give these apartments serious consideration. Personally, I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matttScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

The Inside BCN staff was professional, helpful and fast from the availability inquiry up until the day we left. From orienting us to the city, neighborhood, building, and apartment to making a lunch reservation for us, the service was really top notch. And their office is located IN the building, which is beyond convenient.

We stayed in the Attic A apartment. It's tiny, but was perfect for 2 of us for a short stay - especially since the weather cooperated as we used the outdoor space often. There is a private area (blocked off by a large planter) and then the shared (with one other apartment) part of the terrace - but we never ran into anyone while we were there for 4 days.

Everything worked well, except the TV audio on the English stations - it was sporadic, but that's a minor quibble. The only thing I would have liked to see would be a few more staples in the kitchen, i.e. salt, pepper, coffee, cooking oil. Other than that, we cooked a couple times so no complaints on the kitchen appliances. When we ran out of paper towels, they were quickly replenished by the staff.

The location in the Born area was perfect for us. Grocery store, Santa Caterina market, bars, restaurants, bakeries - everything is right there. In fact, we did something we've never done on a trip to a big city, and didn't take public transportation once! We walked everywhere, including Sagrada Familia (took a taxi to Montjuic just to save time on our last day).

We would absolutely rent from Inside-BCN again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YankyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenum wiesel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed for a couple of days in this apartment, which was great. A unique location close to many nice places of Barcelona ! You can easily walk to harbor and beach. Inside the apartment is okay: really all you need is there, it's clean and well facilitated. The people of Inside Barcelona are super friendly and are very service-minded. I would wish that we are always treated in such friendly way. We had a perfect stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
148 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Im such a fan of this apartment complex!

Where to start?

I have stayed here 3 times and its addictive!

First of all, the staff is.... GREAT, to a point where i have brought them macaroons as a "thank you". They do anything they can to insure your stay goes to plan and that you feel comfortable.

The flats... wow, nice, clean and cool IKEA look that works. exposed brick walls in some flats, and small step out balconies from which one can enjoy the views of the narrow streets and life of the locals.

The flats are super clean and have all you could need in the kitchen area, the fact thats its a flat gives you the option to cook if you feel like it (~and it is tempting with all the food markets), but also to store food and drink in the fridge. Never any problems with aircondition or warm water! Only thing I can not understand is why there is NO english or German tv stations, after all it is international guests staying here, really wish they would change this as 2 weeks with no tv can be a long time.

The location is for me the best in Barcelona, El born has it all, old buildings, narrow streets (great for the warm hours as the sun cant get down there), cool shops, small restaurants and then the church! its 10 min from the beach and about 10-15 min from las ramblas.

I have read the reviews where people say the area is no good. As i said i stayed here 3 times and i have never seen or heard anything(touch wood), not even when walking home at 4am after a night out. Like all other cities keep your eyes open and dont expose your camera or wallet and you should be fine.

Its not a cheap area, but if you cant or wont pay that then go into the small side streets and see where the locals go.

Its a great area to stay in, as it is full of locals living just across the road, unlike big hotels this place makes me feel like i am a part of this city and i love it.

I am a huge fan of Barcelona and I would love to stay here everytime im in town, but would be nice if they had a flat that had wheelchair access as this has been the reason for why I at times have had to stay at another place in Barcelona as a friend of mine is a wheelchair user.

Keep up the good work and I look forward to return again soon!

Room Tip: Esparteria is the building I have stayed in and it ticks all the boxes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viking77London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#188 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#106 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Inside Barcelona Apartments Mercat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Inside Barcelona Apartments Vidreria
El Born / La Ribera
AinB Born-Damas
AinB Born-Damas
#637 of 760 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inside Barcelona Apartments Esparteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inside Barcelona Apartments Esparteria

Property: Inside Barcelona Apartments Esparteria
Address: Calle Esparteria 1 | entrance at Carrer Volta dels Tamborets 9, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 760 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inside Barcelona Apartments Esparteria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inside Barcelona is the best alternative accommodation option in Barcelona. Charming apartaments may be rented by days or weeks. Located in a quiet street in the Born and in Sants. All our apartments are equipped with elevator, air conditioning /heating, TV satellite, Dvd, CD, stereo system, and connection Internet-ADSL 24 hours including in the price. Also it is included in the price, obvious, the water provisions and electricity as well as a weekly cleaning of the apartment, with change of sheets and towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Inside Barcelona Apartments Esparteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inside Barcelona Apartments Esparteria Hotel Barcelona
Inside Barcelona Apartments Esparteria Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing