We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but more a set of bedrooms than a hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
Ranked #365 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location, but more a set of bedrooms than a hotel.”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is a wonderful location for staying whilst in Barcelona, it is 100m from Place de Catalunya, from where you can catch all buses around the city, and to and from the airport. It is the start of las Rambla and is very close to the Gothic quarter. So if you are intending to be out and about 12 hours a day and just need a place to rest your head Citypark is good. However if you are looking for a hotel with a few facilities, choose another one. Citypark is just bedrooms with NO facilities, no lobby, just a different attendant on the door each time we came and went. So for the positives: it has free Wifi, it is clean, daily maid service, it has a safe (essential for Barcelona), the beds are a good size and hard, it is well priced and it is very well located with lots of restaurants and cafes all around the hotel to eat and drink at. On the negative side, the air conditioning does not work, and the rooms are stuffy and hot (this is the beginning of April), so the only option is to open the windows, and then it is like sleeping next to a motorway, or to sweat it out in a hot, airless room. The pillow is about 1 inch thick, and there are no other spare ones in the hotel, the rooms are quite small and there is no comfortable seating/relaxing area in the hotel. It is only a 2 star, and I understand why. However I would return purely because of the location, but I would bring my own pillow and fan and it would be perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bambi1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    137
    65
    36
    28
See reviews for
49
163
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The hotel had an amazing location and free wifi. However, the wifi would run slow and/or stop. They had to reset the servers three times. The room was very basic. This location was perfect for walking to Las Ramblas or catching a bus to Playa Barcelonet. Bus to the airport stopped 100 ft from the hotel door. Great for young people traveling or people on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmflucus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We picked this hotel solely for its central location and for that it was excellent and decently priced. It was a short walk from the Place de Catalunya and La Rambla, which was great for easy access to the main tourist attractions and the best dining in El Barri Gotic.

As for the actual hotel, however, we were quite disappointed in all regards except for the cleanliness and the friendly staff at the front reception. The beds were so hard that it was by far the most uncomfortable we've ever slept in in a three star hotel, while the pillows were barely a couple of inches thick. This would not have been enough by itself to prevent a half-decent night's sleep, but combined with the fact that our room overlooked the Ronda de la Universitat, a busy road with cars, buses, trucks and motorbikes travelling on it throughout the night, we found it very difficult to get any sleep even with earplugs in. On the second night we slept a bit better after setting up our laptop with a 10 hour YouTube video of rain falling on a tin roof with the volume cranked up fairly loud, which drowned out all but the loudest of the street noises (of which there was still a fair bit).

If your quality of sleep is important to you when you are travelling, you would probably be better off finding a quieter hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max-H588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLG H, Director General at HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your review and the gesture of sharing your experience with other travellers on TripAdvisor.

Regarding your review , please accept our most sincere apologies, we regret that your quality of sleep was not to your liking.
The Pillows and beds are being renovated.

Although we comment that our rooms have soundproof windows. We do not understand how the noise problem has occurred at night.

Our guests satisfaction in our hotel has always been our main priority, therefore, we will look carefully what you said of the pillows and beds and try to fix this.

Our best regards from Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Benevento
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

a very good hotel, all is near the hotel. breakfast was good, the room was clean and warm.the metro station is near the hotel. Placa Catalunya is five minute to walk.Near the hotel there was a lots of restaurants and caffe.


  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Alba V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a very comfortable stay. Clean, tidy rooms although not overly spacious but we weren't worried. Our room was serviced everyday and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast wasn't great, but for what you pay it is still good value for money. Great location with just a two minute walk from Catalunya Sq,(Aerobus stop) and La Rambla.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiakaha7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the weekend in November 2013, we got the hotel for dirt cheap so we were not expecting it to be very good but were pleasantly surprised!
Both rooms were really clean and we were given fresh towels and bedding both days.
When we requested extra pillows they were brought up straight away.
The rooms also have a safe free of charge. Plus a fridge and free wifi.
As a group of 4 young women we felt safe as there was a 24 hour reception and the hotel door was locked in the evening and the night staff let us in. Additionally the staff were really friendly and helpful.
On Sunday we didn't have to be out of the room until 12 and then they allowed us to leave our bags locked away for the rest of the afternoon which was good.
With regards to the 'sewage smell' we did smell it a couple of times around the lift area but also could smell it out in the street around the hotel so I think it was the area. Didn't smell it at all in the rooms though.
The one negative was that one of our rooms was on the corner so although we had a lovely few there were huge windows all the way around and due to the time of year this made the room very cold at night and the heating facility in the room wasn't working. If we had been staying longer we would have requested to move rooms but as we were only there two nights there was no point.
The hotel is in an excellent location. Right outside the metro station and a few minute walk away from las ramblas.
Had a lovely time and loved Barcelona. If I was to go back to Barcelona I would definitely stay here again.
I have stayed in 3 star plus hotels that have not been as nice.
Would absolutely recommend for mini breaks on a budget!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carmen904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Everything you would expect in a 2 star hotel. Good value, plain, clean, pleasant staff, our room was fine, not huge but had everything we needed.. None of the unpleasant smells that plagued the last reviewer. We had come to see Barcelona, not the inside of a room, only thing missing was tea making facilities - take a travel kettle if you can (and an adapter) if, like me, you need a good cup of tea to wake up. There is a small fridge and a 24 hour supermarket just over the road.
would use this hotel again, not too far from Playa Catalunya where all the travel buses go from, also easy for airport bus . a little traffic noise so take ear plugs if this bothers you. I doubt many of the hotels in this huge city dont have traffic noise

Room Tip: we had 403 - 4th floor and a curved room overlooking a square, fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bev012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#222 of 513 in Barcelona
846 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Acta BCN 40
Hotel Acta BCN 40
#198 of 513 in Barcelona
778 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Medium Monegal
Hotel Medium Monegal
#440 of 513 in Barcelona
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Pelayo
Hotel Pelayo
#350 of 513 in Barcelona
290 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#303 of 513 in Barcelona
415 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Reding Croma
Hotel Reding Croma
#197 of 513 in Barcelona
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel

Property: HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
Address: Carrer de Pelai, 1, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly HLG Citypark Pelayo)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The CityPark Pelayo Hotel welcomes you to a hotel next to Las Ramblas with a modern and functional design, for both business travellers and those looking to enjoy a pleasant stay in the city. The services of the CityPark Pelayo Hotel are the ideal complement for your trip to Barcelona and include daily full breakfast, free WiFi in common areas, 24 hour reception, ticket sales, lounge room, Internet Corner, laundry service ($), wake-up service... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing