We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in quaint surrounding”
Review of Onofre

Onofre
Ranked #266 of 9,594 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$32
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent food in quaint surrounding”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We went here based on what we read in Wine Spectator article and were not disappointed. The tapas menu was great. Plates were decent sized and everything was very tasty. The wine list is extensive, but definitely skews toward red wines. We wanted a Grenache Blanc, but there weren't any on the menu. The hostess provided us with several other options and we settled a wonder Albariño instead.

I'm not sure that I'd say the cuisine was all that inventive, but it was quite solid and served at an appropriate pace to allow a wonderful meal.

Be aware that the staff isn't well versed in English, but we were able to stumble through without much issue. In the end, I kind of liked that better since it sort of made it feel a bit more authentic as opposed to all the other places where it's like you're back in the states.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jpmnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    71
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across this place by chance. I wanted a small but delicious something and there is so much bad tapas and paella about that its not always easy to find what you really like. Heres a tip, if the resturant has a picture of their food then you are likley to be disappointed. This menu was different and immediatley appealing and interesting. I had a warm goats cheese salad on tomato with parma ham in a honey and pink peppercorn dressing. The other dish we ordered was a pear and goats cheeses tatan 5 euros each. Great value. Nice place.

Helpful?
1 Thank LondonBluepalm
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We went there for dinner. None of the waiters / owners could speak English, nor did they particularly try. A bit of an attitude.

There are hundreds of red wines to choose from, but unless you can read spanish, it may as well have been two.

The same for the food, none of the dishes were memorable, and unfortunately with one or two we did not understand the menu and it came with an ingredient/spice we did not like.

Would not go back......

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great service, a real hidden gem in Barcelona”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We try to visit this restaurant whenever we go to Barcelona. The food is fantastic, fresh and full of flavour. I have tried a number of dishes on the menu, they are all so good that I couldn't say a firm favourite but anything using their own selection of meats like the cured ham and black pudding is particularly good.
The wine selection is outstanding and reasonably priced for a city centre restaurant.
The staff are pleasant and receptive without being intrusive.
I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough.
They do close for a few weeks in August during their local holiday period so worth giving them a ring first to check they are open if its that time of year.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Simple and good”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Went there during shopping based on reviews, found a very nice local place( everyone around us were spanish). The food was very good although it feels like the chef thinks the more oil the better...

Helpful?
Thank Ran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Onofre also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Onofre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing