We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Theme hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de Billy Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Billy Barcelona
Ranked #21 of 325 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
L'Estartit, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Theme hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel is undoubtedly charming and Siri, our host, was exceptional. You have to want the old style to get a sense for the old Barcelona and appreciate what this Inn brings to your vacation. I'm used to staying at hilton hotels so this was a refreshing change. They do offer laundry also.

I enjoyed our morning croissant although a little variety would be recommended.

Room Tip: Email ahead as there are several options. I found the penthouse suite was not that far from what I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlyGirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    127
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
329
81
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Casa de Billy is an absolutely brilliant place to stay in Barcelona, situated in a lovely old Catalonian building with all the character and charm that are absent from the more costly chain hotels. Initially we were worried that the location wasn’t going to make Barcelona as accessible as other places we’ve stayed, but in retrospect, that allowed for a quieter nights sleep and at a lower cost. We also decided that although the beach & main tourist traps are a fair walk away, there are two metro stations in very close proximity to Casa de Billy so really there’s no need to walk anywhere anyway. Joaquin was the perfect host, spoke great English and was always on hand to answer any of our questions and help in anyway he could, making some great restaurant & bar recommendations for us.

Our room was superb with a very large comfortable bed, plenty of storage space, a big TV, ensuite (with a great shower), a very fast wifi connection & aircon. Breakfast was no frills, but we knew in advance from reading other reviews that it would just be a croissant, juice & tea/coffee, so if we wanted anything more we just popped to the local supermarket and stocked up, we could keep things in the fridge & use all the kitchen facilities too if we wanted.

I appreciate not everyone is a fan of dogs, but Joaquins dog, Mona is a super friendly & very quiet French bulldog, who we wouldn’t have even known existed had we not spotted Joaquin taking her for a walk, so I wouldn’t let the fact that there is a reclusive dog staying there put you off, she certainly doesn’t roam free.

I can’t recommend Casa de Billy enough, we certainly enjoyed every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexjwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here at the end of May 2014 and had an excellent stay! The hotel is located just about a 15 minute walk from Las Ramblas and very close to major metro stations. The hotel staff was VERY friendly and helpful. We were given a map of where to go and how to get there with all the main attractions that Barcelona has to offer. The hotel was very safe, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was served fresh every morning in the dining room. We would DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fefi_223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you are looking for that home away from home stay then this is it in complete Spanish style.Casa de billy complete with its antique lift, great views over Gran Via and charming staff make this quirky tasteful place a must stay in Barcelona. The place is spotless. The staff are professional and helpful to the max. Breakfast was a simple delight in a fantastic setting to add to the stay. My thanks to Joachim and his staff far their efficient and friendly help during my 4 days there last month.I WILL return!

Room Tip: M front room had a great view over Gran Via and was surprisingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffrey_fafard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Casa billy is a special place, lovely attention to decor and detail. You can use the kitchen and fridge to store food. Near metro station and supermarket. The hosts are lovely and you feel well looked after.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Morealle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Casa de Billy would best be described as typically Catullian in nature - Grand, colourful & Eccentric.

Each room has it owns décor and we were fortunate to get a balcony room which meant that we were able to chill with the doors open for an hour in the evening before supper. The B&B actually has 3 floors and each is managed by a different person. We were on the 2nd floor so I cannot comment on any of the other rooms other than where we were.

Our host was Siri and he was very welcoming & helpful in providing advice on where to eat and see. the fountain show is within walking distance and certainly worth watching at some point. I would also ask Siri to tell to tell you about where he recommends to go for Tapas as we went to where he recommended and it was a cut above all other tapas we had in Spain during our stay. the breakfast at Casa de Billy, although minimal , is actually very nice. Siri does make you aware that you are able to bring in your own food if you want more. for some people they may want to do this but for us we were raring to get out the doors and see what Barcelona had to offer.

transport to and from the main attractions is great and there is a nearby shopping centre with an underground supermarket.

I would recommend this place to Couples and friends looking to get a real taste of living Barcelona life. Thanks Siri!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is where we stayed when we first arrived in Spain so we were jet lagged and really needed to recharge with a good night's sleep. The room we stayed in was a standard double with private on-suite bathroom and was very clean and comfortable. We stayed for 3 nights and apparently every room was booked but heard minimal noise from within the building; however, the noise from the street was a little loud at times. Therefore, if you're a light sleeper I would recommend shutting the windows and using the fan (very quiet) to drown out the noise - which we did - and slept just fine.

The hosts Siri and Joachin were great. I mostly had the chance to visit with Siri, who speaks fluent english, and he was kind, funny and knowledgeable. Every morning Siri set up our morning breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee and tea and a fresh baked croissant from a local bakery in the area. The breakfast is small to some standards but it suited us perfectly.

The location of Casa de Billy is excellent. We took the Aerobus from the airport and got off at the Plaça d'Espanya and walked the short distance of 2-3 blocks to the B&B. It's located right next door to an Asian restaurant that has lanterns hanging on the outside. There is no sign on the building so one must look for the panel to buzz up to rooms/apartments and there you will see a little sticker next to a button that says 'Casa de Billy'.

Casa de Billy is also perfectly located for easy access to all the major sights and Siri and Joachin were very helpful in explaining the bus routes and the metro. Barcelona is clean and safe in the areas we visited so we never felt uncomfortable using the public transportation and like most large cities Barcelona's public transport is very efficient and inexpensive.

We had a very comfortable stay at Casa de Billy Barcelona and would definitely recommend it to our Canadian friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hbenson5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#97 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vilamari
Hotel Vilamari
#184 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#66 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
HCC Lugano
HCC Lugano
#192 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
El Raval
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites
Eixample
The Patio Barcelona
The Patio Barcelona
#11 of 325 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Billy Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Billy Barcelona

Property: Casa de Billy Barcelona
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 420,4-1, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Billy Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, Luxurious Bed and Breakfast Guesthouse located on Gran Via in a Regia Style building built around 1920. Near metro Rocafort. We are on Gran Via between Plaza Espana and Plaza Catalunya in the heart/city center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa de Billy Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Billy Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Casa De Billy Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing