We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots and Lots of food!”
Review of Al Punt

Al Punt
Reserve with
Al Punt is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,531 of 9,510 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Eixample
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots and Lots of food!”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We went to Al Punt for my sister hen weekend in April!

There where 19 of us and we got out catalonian friend to book it for us!

They had a veriaty of set menus that where €25PH but we it ended up being €38PH including tip as we ordered more wine and soft drinks.

I would have been happy with the starter, tapas. There was so much of it and it just seemed to keep coming! By the time we got to the main we where all pretty full!

They only little issue was that we had 2 non fish or steak eaters and they only had one chicken dish that they could offer. It didn't really matter though, no one came away hungry!

I would defiantly recommend this restaurant for a big group! great food great atmosphere!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Millz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    58
    30
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
137 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Honest”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Nice, abundant food, very kind staff. The restaurant itself is a classic, old style room (strange entrance, though) and the whole experience is definitely worth a try. Stay conservative with ordering, portions are BIG. Absolut good value with their 50% off promotion: dinner for 2 with a good bottle of Malbec, 60 Euro.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strassen, LU
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Angus-Steaks”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We all had angus steaks and we all enjoyed them. As it was 20:00h when we arrived at the restaurant, we were the first customers and as a result the service was very personal and friendly. Because of the 50% offer on the whole card (except for the angus dishes which are 40% off), the bill at the end wasn't too high.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
427 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“We had memorable, enjoyable dining experience”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I somehow mis-mapped the place we were intending to dine and decided if we saw a pleasant looking place on our way back to the hotel where I'd again have wi-fi and could "re-map," we'd eat there.

Al Punt had a sign offering 50% off regular food prices and the menu and the property looked inviting. It worked out fine for us. An alternate title of this review could well be "too much food." Being only 8 p.m.we were the first diners and made to feel very welcome in the pleasantly appointed dining room. Service throughout was excellent.

Had we ordered one mushroom/scampi/brie starter to split, it still would have been too much food. Quite tasty as well, but 200 g. of melted brie cascading across the top of an already rich mushroom/egg/scampi concoction reminded me of a time in Missouri where a small mountain of deep fried chicken livers were a starter course.

When Pat ordered the grilled lamb ribs, we had visions of a first lamb of the year one Easter years ago somewhere along the Duero, where the chops were silver dollar sized and not much thicker, on ribs like lollipop sticks. The six or so chops at Al Punt were almost pork chop size with meat and alluring fat running down the rib for five or six inches. My grilled duck breast was well presented and the caramelized onions were terrific, but I'd forgotten European ducks are so "farmed" these days they've lost much of what makes duck special. It was again, however, a huge portion, for what that's worth.

Good wine selection at what seemed good prices to my Pacific NW eye, but it was our first night here so I have no way to know. The Argentine Malbec labels I recognized (and like) were half a dozen euros more than Riojas and Duero's so we opted for a Ciranza that was just fine.

In a city with 3700+ TA rated eateries I won't hurry back, but we had a very enjoyable European meal at distinctly bargain rates... had we known to order half as much food, it would have been a steal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkykomishBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Disappointing

An anodyne place, badly lit. The dishes are disgusting, especially the signature dish: a steak drenched in blueberry jam. Don´t waste your money!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Punt also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Al Punt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing