We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Mandarin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Ranked #18 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
hannover
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just Mandarin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Perfect location in the Passeig Gracia city center with best shopping around.
Almost everything was perfect in that luxury hotel : excellent service, helpful concierge and front desk staff, nice breakfast buffet and amazing restaurant, extreme cleanliness ,on and on
The only bad points is that room service takes a very long time and that pond that they call “pool”.
Either way, I would definitely book this hotel on our next visit to Barcelona, which I hope will be soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saaham_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    977
    182
    72
    35
    15
See reviews for
239
591
60
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
623 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

My wife and I stayed there for three nights in june.The checkin procedure was quick and very efficient and the overall standard of service was up there with even the four seasons where we usually stay in other cities .the rooms although small were well thought out and the internet in the room was excellent.The concierge was great and nothing was a problem if i go to Barcelona again i would be staying there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

this is an excellent hotel , ideally placed for easy access to all the sights of Barcelona. the staff were supereb , the Bankers Bar , the roof terrace , Momnet Restuarant , Blanc & Mimosa Garden offer superb food with excellent settings. The room we had was in the style of a mondern boutique, bright and airy with the use of lots of light coulours. Floor to ceiling windows and a nice terrace to sit on overlooking the Minmosa Garden. Considering that this building used to be a bank the way that it has been laid out makes good use of the features the building has to offer. Entrabce alone makes you feel like a star walking up at catwalk. the reaturant Blanc is siutated it what I belive would be the old banking hall and has natutal light flooding in from the roof windows. A very relaxing hotel experience compliemented by the excellent staff.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the Minmosa garden are quieter as the Passeag di Gracia is a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARRY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed in the Deluxe Boulevard Room for four nights during our recent trip to Barcelona and were impressed by the hotel's high standards of service. Situated in the middle of the luxury shopping strip Passeig de Gràcia, the hotel location is excellent. The interior design is contemporary yet soft and welcoming. The room was a little smaller than we expected but nonetheless comfortable. We were a little disappointed that the bathroom only had a standing shower with no a separate bathtub. The bed was very comfortable with high quality linens. The food at the hotel was excellent with top notch service. We had a hot stone massage and a Thai massage at the hotel spa which were absolutely divine! We highly recommend Mandarin Oriental Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evon802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I slept in many hotels in Barcelona, but this one is really the best. Check-in was very fast and efficient. The gym was opened 24 hours a day, with excellent equipment and cold drinks available even at late hours. The bedroom was so quite at night that I thought it was not working, but it was indeed and I felt it during the night. My bedroom was just front of the famous Paseo de Gracia, noisy from morning to evening, but inside I heard no noise at all. Room service was served quickly and food was tasteful. Staff and food quality at the breakfast buffet were also of high standard. As for its location, it is right downtown and it could not be better. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALEX N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii Kai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

As always Mandarin Oriental does not disappoint and the sense of beauty is outstanding. I love the decorations, the soft colors, the white tones and the harmony so well obtained. The entrance, and restaurants, bars are well situated to create areas of elegance and amazingly there are always areas of tranquility. You feel private even if the restaurant is full. The Mimosa terrace is a lovely area with another esthetic feel to it. The chairs are well chosen. You dive in literally and feel like a film diva. YES I like it. So we arrived and were treated as royals, all details taken care of. While waiting for the room to get ready we grabbed a snack and wow, it was superb. Europe meets Asia and very well balanced. Our room was with a terrace and we enjoyed a cool glass of white wine, while looking at the charming backstage scenes of Barcelona. Very colorful, almost chinese spirit to it. The big bathroom was fantastic, with bathtub and shower separated. Unfortunately I did not have time to check out the Spa area and dip pool. But the restaurant Moment and I definitely give my best best recommendations. The breakfast was superb and the restaurant beautiful.

Room Tip: If you like to watch the backstage scenery, choose a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uganda
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Disappointingly the night before travelling american express called to say the hotel would not be able to upgrade the room on arrival as American express had indicated (with a subject to availibility waiver).Howver they did reduce the rate for the room given instead.

The room was pleasant and overlooked a school at the back and its best to avoid these rooms as one gets a lot of noise from the lids paying in the morning in the playground below.

Generally what one would expect from a Mandarin Oriental...the room butler indicated she would iron clothes complimentary...got lumped with an ironing bill so may be complimentary has another meaning here.

The bathrooms/ shower design is a bit daft as the shower is in the same outside the bathtub and when showering since there is no enclosure the entire place gets wet.similarly the washbasin in the separate WC is so small water splashes everywhere...the designers didn't think through practical aspects.

The contracted exclusive Limo provider to the hotel is a rip off and best to avoid.The concierge recommended an alternative whom they could not deal with directly that was about 40% cheaper for half and full day trips out of Barcelona and very good.

The Barman at the Bankers Bar in the hotel mixed some great cocktails!

Room Tip: See review..avoid rear school facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UGReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#10 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#92 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,979 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#50 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Address: Passeig de Gracia, 38-40 | Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#16 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona is an elegant, contemporary hotel in the heart of the avant-garde city's celebrated Passeig de Gracia. Located in a renovated mid-20th century building, this 120-room hotel, offers exceptional services and facilities including an award-winning spa, innovative dining at BistrEau by Angel Leon and two Michelin-starred dining by Carme Ruscalleda, within an exquisite interior created by world renowned Spanish designer Patricia Urquiola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing