We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hellasview”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Ranked #25 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We have been to many luxurius hotels up to now , however what makes this one unique is first of all the exchellent service! Very polite , helpful and always smiling staff indeed!And not just some of them , all of them! They give you the impression that they really enjoy their job and that each one of them is very carefully selcted to ensure customer satisfaction.As per the hotel itslef : The location is ideal for all the City sighntseeing as well as shopping areas. Few minutes walk fom City Center ( La Rampbla etc).We enjoyed the minimal style the rooms were decorated with and the cool atmosphere - it has a calming light aroma all over the floors as well as very delicate lighting selections ( in the rooms and all over the hotel). The selections for the mini bar were excellent and tempting :) , outside the normal beverages and drinks most of the hotels have to offer. The hotel bars offer very good coctails as well. The bathroom design was something to remember as ideal.The sleeping material are made of very soft linen and adding the automatic windows and temperature makes your sleep very conforting. An overall excellent experience that is highly recomennded.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floors in order to have a better view of Passeig de Gracia and Casa Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eftichia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

827 - 833 of 1,442 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

We just came back from our anniversary trip, staying at the Mandarin Oriental in Barcelona. We had a beautiful junior suite with a sizeable balcony that faced Gaudi's Casa Batllo on Passeig de Gracia. Upon arrival, we were treated to Cava, fresh fruit and chocolates. There was a bottle of wine also. Roses were strewn on our bed at night. On actual anniv, this was replicated. Our butler Brendan was very pleasant and accomodating. Concierge was most personable. The doormen were friendly. Amazing bathroom with generous toiletries. Everything was faultless and worth every euro spent. And the restaurant MOMENTS is one of the best restaurants we've been to. Impeccable service all in all. Looking fwd to a re-visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauline k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

The minute you get out of your car, you are greeted by the very friendly doormen, you step on the thick and plush carpet that leads you towards the main doors, and upon entry you are hit by the smell of Ginger and Spice that permeates the entire hotel.

We had arrived at 1:30pm but our rooms were not ready. So we went to the outdoor bar, which was huge, but empty. Very attentive and friendly young staff, quick on their feet, who saw to our every need. The bar closes at 10pm because the neighbours complain about the noise, which was a shame. A lot of good tips from Delfin, for bars and clubs so Thanks for that.

Our rooms were finally ready by 5pm (!), and we received one round for free, but we were somewhat damaged by then. However all forgiven as my room was beautiful, very well laid out, bright, with an extremely comfortable bed. I loved the bathroom, all black and white granite, large mirrors with an amazing all black shower room that was open to the white bath. Very nice indeed. Toiletries were also great, right from the spa.

We had breakfast in the very spacious and beautifully laid out basement cafe, that had plush sofas for seating, excellent service, and great food.

The concierge service is also excellent. The staff here made great recommendations, effortless reservations, with a courtesy that made it all very pleasant.

The construction next door makes sitting outside a bit disturbing, but it is very quiet in the rooms and indoors.

All in all, a great boutique feel to the hotel, in the heart of the uppity shopping district, with everything no more than a 10 minute walk away, and service that sets the benchmark for other 5 star establishments.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianThunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Amazing service staffed by people who openly acknowledge how much they enjoy their jobs. Beautifully appointed and comfortable, spotless rooms with a fabulous rain shower and deep soaking tub. The restaurants were all lovely including the rooftop deck overlooking Barcelona. I have bad allergies and only had to mention once and meal were adjusted to accommodate (fresh gluten-free pastries and breads warm each morning, soy milk for coffee, custom tapas). It was our anniversary and they provided a delicious bottle of cava and desserts in our room on arrival. Spa services were superb but a bit pricey. The location is central and concierge is extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRCBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental for one night before departing on our Mediterranean Cruise. We flew from the US & arrived in Barcelona at 9:30 AM the next day. I arranged with the Concierge for their driver to meet us at the airport & transport us to the Hotel. The driver was waiting for us at baggage claim. We were whisked to the Hotel & immediately met by the Hotel Staff. We were brought straight up to our room, no need to stop at the Hotel desk & within a few minutes we were able to relax after our long flight. The room was very comfortable, a bit small, similar to what you would see at a New York City Hotel but had every amenity available. The bathroom was outrageous & there were various controls on the remote to adjust the lights & blinds. We visited the rooftop pool, that was great, a lovely view & we were able to get a bite to eat. The concierge also recommended a great restaurant for dinner & gave excellent directions for us to walk to.
All in all, the Mandarin Oriental was a great experience, even if for only a one night stay! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The Barcelona property shouldn't be a Mandarin hotel. The rooms are too small, the gym area is terrible, the rooftop area where they advertise drinks and service is abandoned. They failed to put laundry items in our room for 3 days in a row. There is a high rise building being built next door and there is constant construction noise. When there isn't construction noise there is noise from the school playground either from the kids during the day or adults playing basketball at night.

The staff are excellent but management is obviously lacking as was the Mandarin group's decision to build the hotel on this property. I love Mandarin hotels - the ones in London, Hong Kong, Macau and Prague locations are all spectacular in every way.

The one good point is that like every Mandarin the core staff are very pleasant and they do try their best but nothing can make up for the properties basic shortcomings.

Room Tip: Don't but if you have to ask for a room away from the school and construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

From the moment you walk into this beautiful property, you are treated like loyalty. They are professional, warm and super friendly! The hotel is two years old, it's maintained so well, the decor and installations are beautiful.
This hotel is run by people who love their job. They are not there because they have to, they are there because they want to be there. The rooms are beautiful, clean and charming. The level of attention to each guests needs is superb. They have an amazing roof top area with amazing views of Barcelona with a dipping pool and great staff. The breakfast are very good, our room was booked through our travel agent which came with full breakfast. You have an option of both the buffet and ordering a la cart. The Mimosa garden restaurant in the hotel is a beautiful interior garden with great food, an amazing manger, Ramon Safer and a great wine expert, David Soler. They go out of their way to make sure your lunch or dinner is exactly what you want. They both make your experience so wonderful. We tried lunch at the Blanc, where they served breakfast in the morning, it sure was not as good as Mimosa. Blanc is great for breakfasts.The Banker's bar was very nice with great staff, they have live bands at some nights. Ask the concierge, they will give you all the information about their live bands, we got to see an amazing Cuban band during our stay which was an amazing experience. The spa is magical and takes to another world. We were lucky to be able to check out from Ohla hotel to stay at the Mandarin Oriental, which was the first place we wanted to stay. But since Mandarin had no availability on the first night of our stay, we had to go stay at Ohla for one night. Please read my other review about Ohla. My husband and I highly recommend this hotel, the only downside about this hotel was there were no restrooms at the roof top and if you needed to use the restrooms, you had to go to your room or to go to the spa other than that, everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A711N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 516 in Barcelona
1,790 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 516 in Barcelona
1,418 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#67 of 516 in Barcelona
4,831 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#121 of 516 in Barcelona
6,498 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#62 of 516 in Barcelona
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Address: Passeig de Gracia, 38-40 | Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £298 - £660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona is an elegant, contemporary hotel in the heart of the avant-garde city's celebrated Passeig de Gracia. Located in a renovated mid-20th century building, this 120-room hotel, offers exceptional services and facilities including an award-winning spa, innovative dining at BistrEau by Angel Leon and two Michelin-starred dining by Carme Ruscalleda, within an exquisite interior created by world renowned Spanish designer Patricia Urquiola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing