We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Ranked #31 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed for 9 nights in June. I cannot overemphasise the quality of the service in this hotel. In addition to making our stay extremely comfortable, the Concierge team were excellent in helping us with several administration tasks. Requests for printing, photocopying etc were turned around very promptly.

The room was beautifully designed and very large. We had a deluxe room which felt more like a small apartment. The only slight downside was the night-time lighting, there wasn't really any possibility to have a small light on in the bathroom. Turning the "night light" on in the bedroom can wake the other person in the main room as it lights the whole floor. There also is no full length mirror in the room, although one was brought immediately on request.

Room service was fast and efficient, they even remembered our breakfast order each morning without us requesting it which was very welcome (9 days in a row gets tedious ordering the same thing). The food was high quality (I have had better) , although the choice rather limited.

Overall this trip was made very enjoyable by the staff at MOB. Truly first class service and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WLondontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

773 - 779 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

The Mandarin Oriental in Barcelona is a beautiful place to stay.
The rooms are spacious and modern and the bathrooms are really lovely.
The hotel has a really lovely roof top garden with a bar, lounges and a dipping pool area. It’s lovely to sit in at night and watch the sunset or just lay round and red. It’s a highlight of the hotel. Whilst the pool is not deep it’s great to lie around in (it really is only a dipping pol).
The hotel is in a fantastic spot in Barcelona with lots of shops and restaurants outside its door. The hop on hop off buses also stop out the font. We only needed to walk a few steps to find all we needed in terms of restaurants and shopping.
Breakfast is really nice with an excellent selection and just about everything you could want. We had breakfast included which was well worth it.
All of the staff were really lovely and friendly and couldn’t do too much to help us. The concierge arranged our tickets that we needed to skip the line for the Familia Sagrada and the Picasso Museum.
The gym is reasonable and has most of what you need. There is an indoor swimming pool but we didn’t use it. It looked nice however.
Would recommend the Mandarin Oriental as a haven to rest in after a very busy day in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamish2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Sure, location is pretty convenient. Having said that you don't get the sense of usual Mandarin oasis feeling as the entrance/lobby is tangled among a matrix of retail shops. In fact the reception is literally next to a Manolo Blahnik
shop! Rooms lack the usual luxurious feel. Instead they are sparse and minimalistic. Wardrobe and bathroom doors are flimsy and Ikea-like. Toilet is cramped and positioned so close to the wall that you can't sit straight without touching it. Our room faces directly a council housing estate, hardly what one would expect for €500+. No coffee maker, no complimentary wi-fi. Swimming pool on the roof was more a dipping pool. The one down in the spa looks nice and zen when it's empty but once you have 2 people inside it can't fit a 3rd. Overall it feels more like a boutique hotel than a 5-star hotel. Last year we stayed at Hotel Moo which I feel offers much better value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pawnstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The best location in Barcelona for sightseeing, upscale shopping and proximity to fantastic restaurants. The service from the concierge is outstanding! Hotel personnel greet you by name and are quite responsive to your needs. The breakfast buffet looks great and has a varied selection of hot and cold dishes. The Banker's Bar serves wonderful tapas along with very well made drinks by the very personable bartenders. Now for the "almost"....our room was on the first floor which is partially underground. It was quite dark, loaded with very modern controls and switches, but do not accept a room on this floor. Housekeeping was spotty. Always had to call for turndown and repeatedly had to ask for additional soap. The toiletries were not up to MO standards, delivered in plastic tubes that were hard to distinguish. We asked the front desk for another room, but they repeatedly said that it was not possible due to the hotel being full. All in all, this is a very nice home in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Do not let them put you on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter2868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Service! From beginning to end, this hotel is FIRST RATE. The staff seems truly to love their jobs and are eager to make guests happy.
Reception is quick and pleasant, especially after a long international flight, with missed connections. As we stood to check in, someone showed up and offered an herbal tea tea without being asked. Nice touch.
Breakfast is wonderful and inclusive. What do you want? They will try to make it happen, with a smile!
Each concierge is knowledgeable and helpful.
We literally took names of those who went out of their way to help make our stay exceptional. A glowing letter has been sent to management.
WiFi is included (it surprises me that many 5-star hotels that are still charging).
The hotel is situated in a lovely area, walking distance to most things you'll want to do.
We felt like royalty throughout our stay. Yes, MO hotels are pricey; but this was by far the best we've ever experienced and worth every Euro.

Room Tip: West facing suite with terrace (#507) has a lovely view and terrace with the pleasant evening breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicspix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

This beautiful gem of a hotel is centrally located on Passeig de Gracia, far enough from the riff raff of Las Ramblas but a perfect walking distance to all of the sights and neighbourhoods.
The concierge staff is phenomenal and the staff makes a point of knowing and using your surname name. (It's not mechanical, like at the Ritz Carlton hotels, but warm and genuine.)
The spa is delightful and the rooftop dipping pool is a nice refuge above the city on a hot afternoon.
Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CNKLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This hotel has an excellent location, situated on the passing de Garcia amongst many well-known retailers and cafes. It is extremely convenient as there is easy access to double decker tour buses which take you on a fantastic tour around Barcelona including explanation about the sites. I highly recommend this. The hotel service is excellent, from the bell men to the receptionists and the concierge. The concierge are very friendly and recommended us to really good tapas. Our personal favourite was "catchitas", which was about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. However the actual rooms were very small and there was hardly any space for our suit cases to be placed neatly around the room. The bathroom also had frosted glass, which made it impossible for someone to shower early in the morning without being woken up by the glare of the light. Buffet breakfast was good, as they had a great selection of breakfast cereals, yoghurt and fruit. The á la carte menu was excellent and contained a extensive variety of eggs and other delicious breakfast treats. The service at breakfast was also fantastic. We also specifically enjoyed our experience at the spa. Our massages were among one of the best we have ever experienced. Sunny afternoons were also well spent by the pool on level 9. although the pool is only 60cm deep, it is a great place to chill and soak up some of barcelonas sun while escaping the hustle and bustle of the city. (We also enjoyed great sushi and cocktails here). Proceeding to level 9 however was quite a task, as only one lift was able to reach that level. We often found ourselves sending down unwanted lifts as we were waiting for the left lift that was able to take us to level 9. All in all, the location is exceptional, and the spa and our poolside experiences were highlights. However the size and practicality of the rooms were questionable.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Amelia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 519 in Barcelona
1,440 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 519 in Barcelona
1,815 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
The One Barcelona
The One Barcelona
#10 of 519 in Barcelona
198 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#71 of 519 in Barcelona
4,896 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#123 of 519 in Barcelona
6,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Address: Passeig de Gracia, 38-40 | Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £321 - £739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona is an elegant, contemporary hotel in the heart of the avant-garde city's celebrated Passeig de Gracia. Located in a renovated mid-20th century building, this 120-room hotel, offers exceptional services and facilities including an award-winning spa, innovative dining at BistrEau by Angel Leon and two Michelin-starred dining by Carme Ruscalleda, within an exquisite interior created by world renowned Spanish designer Patricia Urquiola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing