We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, but a few tweaks needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Ranked #24 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights while on a family vacation with our adult kids. The hotel is a very cool renovation of an old bank and is located perfectly on the Passeig de Gracia (read that shopping and heart of a lively city).

Let me start with the numerous positives: the staff is focused, welcoming, pleasant, and genuine. A very special call out to Marta the concierge, she helped us with some very tricky circumstances and did so quite professionally and pleasantly. Maria and Marika of the front desk are also worthy of thanking. Our room ( a junior suite on floor 3) was large but not spacious. It came with "Butler Service" which is an interesting touch. Very contemporary bathrooms that you should find enjoyable with great amenities and towels. The elevators are very good -- fast and nice. The roof top terrace provides a great view of Barcelona and has an attractive dipping pool. It is pricey but if you are willing to sign up for this you get high touch service.

Now for things that need to be tweaked (improved upon) -- for a hotel of this stature the Fitness Center needs to be better. It is too small and has very limited weights. The aerobic machines are high quality TechnoGym and there is an "advanced" singular universal machine that only uses resistance bands -- very hard to use. The Spa is nice and the people are welcoming but the relaxation facility is too small and it can get to a situation where there are not enough lounges. Lastly, breakfast was not included in our room and it should be given the price of your stay.

Net net: This is a very fine and expensive hotel. It has many advantages but a few things that hold it back from being a exceptional experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Passeig de Gracia side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGCx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 686 of 1,460 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Our holiday was great , and what made it the best is the Mandarin Oriental , everyone was wonderful and pleasant , the rooms are excellent , the food was amazing , room service is excellent , housekeeping were excellent, it was very safe and comfortable , from the minute we checked in till we checked out , every minute was enjoyable , can't wait to go back again , many thanks to all the staff there from the doormen to the GM, thank you for making our holiday great and worth it , and the most important was the pleasant attitude from everyone. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Rmfa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We didn't stay in the hotel but popped in on Saturday afternoon for some cocktails to The Bankers Bar.
The barman was very knowledgable about cocktails and started us off with the Banker's Martini. It was a great choice, we all enjoyed it.
We picked a couple more from the menu which were equally as good and the barman then asked us to leave the next round in his hands as opposed to choosing from the menu. We told him our likes & dislikes and he came back with four fantastic cocktails which felt special as he had obviously understood our tastes.
Well worth a visit when in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

we had a suite which was lovely. beautiful room and finishings, very peaceful and romantic. i absolutely adored the hotel, i particularly enjoyed the delicious cocktails and barcelona has to be the best place in europe. i would go back at any time i love the gaudi architecture

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The wow effect starts when walk the entrance. Awesome architecture. The service is perfect. It's perfectly located along the Passeig de Gracia. I can't say more than it was awesome. Restaurant is so good with a 2 stars chef. The spa is beautiful. the terrasse is impressive on the roof. Stop talking come and try it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had a very pleasant two day stay with great service. One feels very welcome in this boutique style City Hotel. It's like an oasis in lively Barcelona, especially the spa. The spa has excellent staff and can really be recommended. The rooms are very nice and the beds very comfortable. the restaurants are also very good and the service is very friendly. I would come back any time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I have stayed in Barcelona at Mandarin hotel for three nights and the oveall rating is very good,. Special concideration for the attention from the personal.
I would stay again in another opportunity.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francisco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 517 in Barcelona
1,804 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 517 in Barcelona
1,430 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#70 of 517 in Barcelona
4,865 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#66 of 517 in Barcelona
1,978 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#126 of 517 in Barcelona
6,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Address: Passeig de Gracia, 38-40 | Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £286 - £619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona is an elegant, contemporary hotel in the heart of the avant-garde city's celebrated Passeig de Gracia. Located in a renovated mid-20th century building, this 120-room hotel, offers exceptional services and facilities including an award-winning spa, innovative dining at BistrEau by Angel Leon and two Michelin-starred dining by Carme Ruscalleda, within an exquisite interior created by world renowned Spanish designer Patricia Urquiola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing