We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch Service!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Ranked #18 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top Notch Service!!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The service at this top-notch Barcelona hotel could not be beat. The staff was practically falling all over themselves to accommodate our every need (which were few!) The rooms are modern and very clean. They even supply a flat a flat iron in the room! The location can't be beat. Even in super crazy, crowded Barcelona, they have spaces in front in which we could park our car. My only negative, which is so minuscule that it is almost not worth mentioning, is that there is not a light above the make-up mirror in the bathroom, making it a little tough to see. Everything else here was over-the-top.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back are probably quieter than the rooms facing the front. We were facing the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italiafiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    187
    72
    35
    16
See reviews for
246
599
60
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Met expectations. !! nice hotel, very good service, I had room service \@ 3am and was perfect. The shower was great. very good experience for me and my friends. It is totally worth the experience. No free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The wow effect starts walk up the entrance. Awesome architecture. The service is perfect, there's nothing the staff won't do to make your stay memorable....nothing's a problem. It's perfectly located along the Passeig de Gracia. I can't say more than it was awesome. The spa is beautiful. the roof top terrace view is impressive. One of the finest stays we've ever had. I should mention that we were upgraded to a suite in the new wing which certainly added to our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam12399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our family of 4 recently stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in Barcelona after a cruise. Property is ultra chic and modern. Staff extremely friendly and spoke English well. The breakfast was superb. Location of the hotel is excellent if you are a shopper like me. It is right in the middle of the street where the major luxury brands are located.
Most notably, however, is their service. The day we checked out coincided with a taxi general strike and protest. The taxis were expected to block up the city centre. Hotel management was so concerned whether guests were able to leave the city centre in order to catch their flights that they specifically arranged for free shuttle buses to run to the airport ahead of the blockade (which was scheduled to start at 6:00 am). They even made sure there was tea and coffee in the hotel lobby at 5:30 am! I have stayed at other mandarin properties but this level of service is extremely impressive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renae2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Highly recommend, central location, staff friendly, helpful, terrific service. Rooms are spacious, modern, complete blackout and silence even though on Paseo de Gracia. An oasis from fun and energy of BCN. Terrific breakfast, great service, totally relaxing spot to start the day. Concierge exceptionally helpful in getting tickets to sights to avoid lines and restaurant suggestions.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcusmarcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We've stayed at this hotel several times previously, but only for one night at a time, before boarding a cruise, so we knew it was good but hadn't fully appreciated how good!

The hotel is situated on Passeig de Gracia probably one of the most beautiful streets in the world with its Gaudi and other modernist buildings, wide pavements brimming with cafés and tapas restaurants and beautiful boutiques.

From the street it's not immediately apparent there is a hotel were it not for the doormen who are at hand to assist you. You enter the hotel via a ramp taking you from street level to first floor level through a brightly lit modern atrium, which is breath taking even when you've seen it all before.

Staying this time for four nights, we made better use of the hotel than on previous occasions. We arrived at the hotel after midday and as we had advised the hotel of our arrival time, our room was ready immediately and check in was done in the room itself, which was a nice touch.

We had a beautiful room on the 6th floor overlooking the garden at the rear of the property, we prefer these rooms as they provide a real level of tranquility from the bustle of the city. The room was a good size with good storage space, a desk and seating area, a huge bed and our favourite, a fantastic appointed bathroom, with huge round bath, walk in rain shower, large vanity area and separate WC all behind sliding glass walls, which are tres chic!

Previously we had visited the hotel in the autumn and winter months so hadn't used the garden or roof terrace. The garden is a gem with comfortable tables and chairs in a beautiful shaded tranquil setting. We had lunch and stayed hours enjoying the serenity of the place. The roof terrace has shaded seating, great sun beds and a large plunge pool which despite its shallow level we did manage to swim in. The views of the city are quite spectacular especially at night!

Breakfast was taken in the Blanc Brasserie which is set in an atrium at the centre of the hotel, where you could choose from an excellent buffet or extensive breakfast menu. The staff here were truly exceptional, with first class service delivered in a very personal and friendly manner. We also ate here one evening and enjoyed similar service and great food. We had wanted to eat at Moments the Michelin star rated restaurant, but strangely enough the place was closed two nights of our stay, so didn't manage to eat there at all!

Another great venue in the hotel is the Bankers Bar, serving great cocktails in a chic and quirky environment. We've experienced it jam packed late at night on a Friday and at quitter times too. A must to try is the Bankers Martini!

One draw back to the hotel is if there is a private function, they tend to close the Blanc Brasserie to guests which is very restricting. It is such a shame they don't have another venue which could be used for parties and weddings.

We liked the hotel after previous visits, but have now fallen head over heals with the place. We shall definitely be back and soon!!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms at the front of the hotel are a little small, so go for the rooms overlooking the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt-n-James-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
228 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect: right in the middle of great shopping and restaurants. The service is exceptional and very friendly. They remembered out names after the first night went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. The room was a bit on the small side, but still quite comfortable: modern and clean. Will stay there again next year when we return but move up a room size.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercant700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#93 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,047 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#51 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Address: Passeig de Gracia, 38-40 | Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona is an elegant, contemporary hotel in the heart of the avant-garde city's celebrated Passeig de Gracia. Located in a renovated mid-20th century building, this 120-room hotel, offers exceptional services and facilities including an award-winning spa, innovative dining at BistrEau by Angel Leon and two Michelin-starred dining by Carme Ruscalleda, within an exquisite interior created by world renowned Spanish designer Patricia Urquiola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing