We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Ranked #24 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Service was excellent, as one would expect from Mandarin properties. Rooms were small, but not atypical for Europe. Everything was very modern both inside and outside of the room. Location is good for the city center, situated among the high-end shops (Tiffany's, Brioni, Manolo Blahnik, etc). I prefer the seaside hotels, but if one is going to stay within the city, then this is likely the best option. Simona in the Banker's Bar was a true pleasure, filled with great suggestions for dining and activities. The concierge service, in general, was top-notch as we did not have a single bad suggestion on our 7-day trip. I was not overly impressed with the restaurants: Blanc is great for breakfast, but lacks ambiance for evening. Terrat is the rooftop bar / restaurant, and it has only a sushi menu (I was tired of having only sushi every time I took in the pool). Banker's Bar is nice, but the foot traffic going through there is very light.

Room Tip: I would avoid the rooms that overlook the main boulevard as there is a lot of construction at the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sdrs1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 611 of 1,411 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

It starts with the service the minute you walk in the guys at the door are friendly, accommodating, caring, and smart. Alberto is the man. There was some construction in front of the hotel when we arrived so you could not pull up to the front of the doors but the guys at the door wee on this like white on rice. Our luggage was grabbed we were escorted up the very cool walk way and taken right to the desk. Our room was not ready but we were taken care of never the less, I was a little bummed we did not get upgraded but the room we had was perfect plenty of space and a great bath room with a giant shower and huge soaking tub. The concierges were fantastic, great recommendations for restaurants and sites. We wanted to see a jazz show that was being held on a Saturday evening on top of the Guadi building up the block there was some confusion and the concierge purchased tickets for a different venue. Upon realizing this we came back to the hotel and not only did the concierge correct the error but paid for the concert we wanted to stay. Breakfast was awesome kudos to Mikala (sp?) a waitress in the breakfast venue she was a great server and super accommodating.. My wife hit the spa and loved it. The location s is perfect If you are going to Barcelona and are going to stay in a luxury hotel this is the place, look no further. I'd love to go back

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevieNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were considering other hotels for our trip to Barcelona this past week and the tipping point was the number of people who said that the concierge at the Mandarin were outstanding. We were not disappointed. We had very little chance to plan for this vacation and as a result were heavily reliant on the concierge. There were always at least 2 at the desk except first thing in the morning and sometimes after 9:30 at night and they worked hard to make sure they were meeting every expectation. They always pulled out a map to show where you were going to go and they took great pride in their recommendations - following up when you passed them the next day to make sure you liked what they had recommended. It was a flawless experience. We worked with Marta, Albert and Francisco and I can safely say they listened to what we wanted for that day's excursion or meal and we were never disappointed.

As for the hotel itself - this too exceeded expectations. I had read that the rooms were small - I was prepared for a tiny place with no space. We found the opposite - not that the rooms are huge, but they are perfectly spacious with design elements that solve so many problems you are grateful for the thought that went into it. For example, they have a box with every conceivable charger you could need in case you forget your own or need additional ones. They provide unlimited converters for your room at no charge. They have this night light system that is awesome - you press the button when you turn off the main lights and you get this runway of lights that make sure you can still find your way around. Then when you shut off every light to sleep, the closet -which you pass on the way to the bathroom - has a motion sensor light that sheds this tiny bit of light through the crack in the door to make sure you don't trip or bump into something on your way in and out. It then goes off seconds after you get to where you're going allowing you a seamless trip without your partner waking up from the light. The closet was big enough to have extra room for us as well as two drawers and there were shelves in a cabinet sufficient for the week's worth of clothes for two. The room came with its own yoga mat and there was plenty of room for an adult to stretch on the floor as well as two chairs - one of which I'd like to bring home with me because its so comfortable. The desk was sufficient for my husband to do work on with documents and a laptop. We had a separate shower and tub and faced the street - we never heard noise even though there was construction on Passieg de Gracia - our view. The bathroom had both a hairdryer and a flat iron! The windows come with an electrically controlled black out shade that was excellent.

The hotel feels very intimate - not like a large hotel even though there are a fair number of rooms. There's no overwhelming hubbub of activity even though there were people of all ages there - traveling with small children, teenagers and just couples. We greatly appreciated the restfulness of the ambiance.

The spa was lovely (we both enjoyed excellent massages), the terrace on the roof with a dipping pool was lovely (although it lacked a bathroom), and the indoor pool and steam room were comfortable and enjoyable. It never felt overcrowded. The gym is spacious with 2 bikes and 2 treadmills and a few other machines, a full compliment of weights, large and small fitness balls and a stretching area. The machines aren't new but they are very well maintained. Everything is spanking clean and someone is always coming through to restock the water and towels.

Breakfast was amazing. It was 39 Euros for the full buffet, 32 Euros if you didn't have the hot options. Our breakfast was included with the rate so I'm not sure if we would have splurged everyday but the food quality and options would have made it worth it a few times.

Location is great because it is central to everything so you can walk everywhere or take a subway and cabs are plentiful. No cab trip from any part of the city cost more than 10 Euros to get back. And, you're right across from one of the Gaudi homes - you can see it if you have a boulevard facing room from your window which makes it an easy thing to do.

I hope to stay at another Mandarin one day and certainly return to Barcelona to stay at this one. It made all the difference in the world to have this kind of experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a separate tub and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank schdjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The staff at all levels, especially the amazingly helpful concierge service, helped to make our trip to Barcelona a huge success. We would not hesitate to return or recommend the Mandarin Oriental.
We felt the Mandarin Oriental is in an ideal location. While the Ramblas is chock-a-block with tourists, we wanted to avoid the crowds. The hotel is just a few blocks north of the Plaça de Catalunya in the L’Eixample district. Here, we felt almost as though we were part of the city, experiencing Barcelona with the people who live there, rather than melting into the tourist throngs in the older part of the city. But we never felt the tourist destinations we wanted to experience were out of the way.
When we checked in, we were shown two different rooms. Our goal was for quiet. The room we chose faced the back of the hotel onto the garden, and was close to a doorway the staff uses for room service. But we rarely, if ever, heard anything. The room was, indeed, quiet. There was a long hallway from the entry door to the room. We felt this added privacy.
We were there the last week in June, after school closed for the summer, and it was a holiday weekend (Festival of Sant Joan), which may have made a difference.
From our first day, whenever we needed directions, restaurant suggestions, even translation help, the concierge staff was there to help. They were absolutely amazing. We felt the concierge staff by itself made the price of a room at the Mandarin Oriental worth every Euro.
The bathroom did not have a door around the shower. Instead, water from the rain-style shower head lands on a kind of platform – which is level with the rest of the floor – but has a one- or two-inch space around it for water to drain. It worked well. Except, at one point, since a little of the shower water does make it beyond the platform, I slipped and fell on the bathroom floor. Luckily, no injuries.
The lighting in the room was controlled by a master switch next to the bed. This was convenient but we had a little trouble understanding exactly how the lighting worked. We found this to be merely a curiosity.
We found it easy to get a taxi out front on Passeig de Gracia and there was always a staff member to hail one for us. There is close-by subway stop, as well. The hotel is just one or two convenient blocks or so away from Gaudi’s Casa Batllo and just another few blocks to another Gaudi house, La Pedrera / Casa Milà.
We enjoyed the Mandarin Oriental and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in Barcelona for a short two night weekend gate away.

As with all Mandarin Oriental hotels customer service and staff are top notch. From the driver that waited for us at the airport through to the butler service in our room, everything was impeccable.

We specifically booked a suite in the new building which has just been opened. The room is beautifully appointed with high ceiling, comfortable furniture and a dinning area, siting area, bedroom area and bathroom with walk in wardrobe.

The room is large at 600 sq ft and with all the different area being carefully separated you really get the feel that you have a small luxury flat of your own for the weekend.

We opted to have dinner on arrival in our room (23 PM) and we also opted for two in room breakfasts. While there was plenty of choice both in the room service menus and the breakfast menu there is some room for improvement in the food quality.

Our dinner club sandwich was called a club sandwich but was something far from it. Our cappuccino's at breakfast were of quite poor quality and overall we found dishes were tastier on paper then in reality.

The hotel has a great spa and we were very happy with the treatments we had. The spa area itself is rather small but sufficient. The steam room needs some serious improvements as it is very large but not hot enough.

On our last day we opted to go up for the 9th floor roof terrace and pool. We were a bit disappointed to find about this great place from the in room TV as the staff at the hotel actually didn't tell us about it when we checked in.

Overall a great experience and if you are looking for class and quality in Barcelona then this is the place to stay

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gadir80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel won't disappoint. Nice roof top pool, great location! Easy walking distance to all the sites in the city. Also close to the train if you want to head to the beach for a day trip.

The staff is amazing, they team at breakfast remembered out names by the second day. Food is excellent as well.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

After looking around for a hotel in the center of the city we decided on The Mandarin. It was amazing!!!Especially the concierge!!! Albert!!! As well as the front end manager Miriam!!!
So if you're looking then look no more! Mandarin is it!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank daniel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#7 of 515 in Barcelona
1,761 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#68 of 515 in Barcelona
4,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 515 in Barcelona
1,868 reviews
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#2 of 515 in Barcelona
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona

Address: Passeig de Gracia, 38-40 | Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £396 - £1,288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona is an elegant, contemporary hotel in the heart of the avant-garde city's celebrated Passeig de Gracia. Located in a renovated mid-20th century building, this 120-room hotel, offers exceptional services and facilities including an award-winning spa, innovative dining at BistrEau by Angel Leon and two Michelin-starred dining by Carme Ruscalleda, within an exquisite interior created by world renowned Spanish designer Patricia Urquiola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing