We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barna House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barna House B&B
Ranked #89 of 326 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My husband and I chose to stay at Casa Dover during our 4 day trip to Barcelona. We found Christian, the host, to be very helpful and accommodating. We booked Room 3 (one of the two suites) which overlooked Carrer de Corsega. Our room was very spacious, clean and accommodating. Mattress slightly on the hard side. Overall the bed & breakfast has a pleasant feel, is very cosy and has a great atmosphere. Breakfast is served from 9-11am (the day seems to start a little later in Barcelona) so we made sure that we ate at 9am sharp in order not to waste too much time. Casa Dover's position is very strategical and great for whoever prefers to vist the city on foot. 10 minutes walk to the Sagrada Familia, 10 minutes walk to om Passeig de Gracia where you will find Gaudì's Casa Pedrera and Casa Batllò. A must stop for anyone staying at Casa Dover - tapas at La Pepita (Corsega, 343).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria_Luc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    64
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
77
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Stayed for 3 nights at Casa Dover. Originally had a lovely room with a balcony that overlooked the street but just after being shown into the room was asked if we would consider trading rooms to accomodate a guest with amubulation issues. The only other room not already occupied had a step inside the room and the guest would probably have problems navigating it. Of course, we said we would trade. The other room was adequate size and the bathroom was fine. However, the only window looked into the atrium of the building. There were apartments, etc, above the rooms and the people were coming and going all hours of day and night with screaming children early in the morning. We could hear all of this. No way to get fresh air into the room or look out into the city to check the weather. We were not offered a discount and didn't ask for one since were both exhausted from traveling to get there. The gentleman who greeted me was very pleasant but didn't offer any discount to trade.
The light wooden floors made the spaces seem larger and opened it up . The bathroom was large and water pressure was great. Breakfast was adequate, nothing hot except coffee and tea. A communal refrigerator was available as was coffee and tea always. Free wifi and tv in the common living room also. I would consider staying there again but not in the inside room!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superrn_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

This B&B was the perfect place for us (8 People)
It was very cosy and we could all sit outside in the "living room" together and have breakfast in our pj's- it definately felt like home!
Our host Cristian was very helpful and explained us the whole city on a map... So we would know where the good restaurants and bars are ;)
the rooms are adorable! I really liked the cute and individual style of them!
Don't forget to bring some ear plugs though- the walls are very thin!
The central location of the hotel- close to sagrada familia- made it easy to reach about every point of the city in a short time- either by foot or metro which is close to the hotel too! We will definately come back here!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Casa Dover is definetely a nice place to stay in Barcelona. In a ten minutes walk you can reach a metro station and if you feel lazy, there is another metro stop at only 5 minutes from the B&B. And if you like to walk, you are right on the Avenguida Diagonal, not far from Passeig Garcia... so basically, by metro or on foot, you can easily go everywhere.

The B&B was really cozy and Christan was a great guest. They serve continental breakfast with lots of muffins, mini croissants, bread, cereals, fruit, juices, coffee and tea. Believe me, there is plenty of food for every and each guest there.

Our room was big and, most important, clean. They clean up your room daily but you'll have fresh blankets and towels every three days, and personally I am fine with that. I mean, I am not that dirty! In any case, if you need extra towels, they are keen to please you.
The biggest concern about the room was a very strange and loud sound that we could hear during the night. We didn't figure out whether it was the A/C (but our was set to OFF) or the flush of some toilet but for sure it was really really loud. In any case, you can live with it and honeslty it was really annoying only one out of three nights spent there.

So yes, I would definetely recommend this accomodation.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miss_frog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2010

The place is well designed with warm and calming atmosphere.
Our room was nice and big with a balcony.
Christian and his team were very helpful, Excellent service.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to stay in the center of Barcelona in a nice place at a reasonable price .

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isaac270111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2010

The host (christian) is extremely helpful and pleasant. the interior design is beautiful. Great location, and very reasonable price for Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Christian and his team were fantastic - we had a junior room and the room was small but very comfortable. Great location, rail network and food places around were good and the staff were very pleasant. The decor and the way the place is presented was really lovely and was great having shared common rooms for eating and relaxing on the couch. There are only about 7 rooms in total which provided a quiet yet still social setting. The only issue we had was the breakfast - some of the pastries were a couple of days old. Apart from this one issue I'd recommend this place to anyone who wants to have some comfort thats affordable and a touch of class! Bravo Christian.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
#254 of 521 in Barcelona
459 reviews
Gracia
Aparthotel Silver
Aparthotel Silver
#68 of 521 in Barcelona
934 reviews
Gracia
Hotel Well and Come
Hotel Well and Come
#39 of 521 in Barcelona
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Horta - Guinardó
Barna House Apartments
Barna House Apartments
#536 of 759 in Barcelona
11 reviews
Eixample
Barcino 147
Barcino 147
#2 of 326 in Barcelona
571 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Live Barcelona
Hostal Live Barcelona
#10 of 326 in Barcelona
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barna House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barna House B&B

Property: Barna House B&B
Address: Carrer de Corsega, 429 | Gracia, 08037 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Casa Dover)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Gracia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barna House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming neighbourhood of Gracia, in Barcelona, Barna House B&B provides tranquil and attractive accommodation, just 5 minutes walk from the Sagrada Familia and other Gaudi monuments. The smart, modernist facade of the Barna House B&B building contrasts with the modern interior design. The rooms here are spacious and perfect for a weekend getaway, or a business trip; the city centre is a 10 minutes away by metro or bus. All rooms have a private bathroom with a shower, hypoallergenic soap and a hairdryer. Guests have access to a kitchenette with a fridge, microwave, oven and kettle. Tea and coffee are free. A living room with a TV are at guest's disposal. Boasting a daily cleaning service, this accommodation is ideal for those who want to explore the nightlife on offer in Barcelona. This property offers continental breakfast buffet. Equipped with Wi-Fi internet access, keep up to date with your emails while on holiday at Barna House B&B. Gracia is a great choice for travellers interested in architecture, art and museums. This is our guests' favourite part of Barcelona, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Dover Hotel Barcelona
Barna House B&B Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing