We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, patient staff. Great, fashionable rooms”
Review of Barna House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barna House B&B
Ranked #104 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Monza, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly, patient staff. Great, fashionable rooms”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The "casa" is an elegant palace right next to the neighbour of Gracia and the omonimous "carrer", that leads straight to the main attractions: Casa Batllo, La Pedrera and Placa de Catalunia. We selpt in the junior suite, which costs only a few EUR more than the others and highly recommend it if you love fine, fashionable furniture. Than, you'll find common room to be precious, since you can use the fridge and the cooking stuff for your own groceries. The breakfast is served in the same room: lots of croissants and large cake slices!
The only two negatives are the noise coming from that room (doors are not well insulated) and poor restaurants and cafès around the B&B. The best solution to have dinner if you're in a hurry is the Adonis Cafè right under Casa Dover.
But this is compensated by the courtesy of the young owner, Cristian who is available for tips and information in the morning. He will also keep your luggage after the check if possible. More, he didn't get any angry when I accidentally locked him out of the B&B and had to head to his car for his spare keys :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FedericoCalvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    65
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
79
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

positiv:Location was pretty good. Good access to Metro and Gracia area. Short walk to Sagrada Familia.Excellent nightlife and cafe/bar/restaurants in area. Room was nice. Building was lovely.
negative:
the staff were initially friendly, however, they did not have much time for us after the second day. requesting help or information regarding Barcelona didn't offer anything insightful and conversation was not something they were concerned with. Breakfast was mediocre at best. toast, cereal, cold coffee. the breakfast area was not comfortable. Noise was an issue. As the 7 rooms opened into a common/kitchen-living room area cleaning often woke us; as did traffic noise from the street. towel changes were not frequent enough and even on request we were refused, which was a little dissappointing.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gani89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

While located in the centre of Barcelona, Casa Dover is a bit outside of the busy touristic area. And that's definitely an advantage! It is close to a metro station, so that way access to the entire city is easy. The Sagrada Familia is in walking distance (10-15 minutes).
The place is well maintained. The rooms are very clean. Breakfast is fine.
I would certainly consider staying here again !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank De_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

The manager is very nice and always available to help you .
Casa Dover is like to stay in a boutique Hotel but with cheap price.I really suggest to stay here .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlesFaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed at Casa Dover in March, and were very impressed by it. It is located on the first floor of an attractive old building, with a lift. Our room (no.2) was large, very comfortable, attractively decorated and very clean; we asked for a double bed and the two singles were made into a Kingsize+ bed which was really comfortable. There was a sofa, table, wardrobe with ample hanging and storage space, and very clean ensuite facilities. Rooms were cleaned daily. We had a balcony, overlooking a busy road, and above the restaurant owned by Casa Dover. Casa Dover is a cross between a small hotel and a large B&B! There are 7 ensuite rooms, a good buffet breakfast is served each morning from 9 - 11 (very civilised!) and guests are encouraged to use the microwave and/or help themselves to tea/coffee etc at any time of the day or night. The staff don't live on site but Christian, the manager, and his deputy were very helpful and always available by mobile if not in the building. The restaurant itself - more a bistro/wine bar - was a great place to relax and enjoy tapas, light meals etc. We were given a token for a complimentary drink - cava, wine or beer - when we arrived - and were impressed by the staff and the venue generally.

Casa Dover is in a very convenient place, within easy walking distance of a metro station.

The rooms on the front are at a busy road intersection so it can be noisy - but we didn't find that a problem at all. Probably light sleepers might request a room at the back of the building.

Room Tip: See above re requesting room at back of building if you are a very light sleeper. Our room was lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hils15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Extremely clean, furniture in great condition, nicely decorated, good location, close to Sagrada, Paseig del Gracia and metro. Very nice staff, good breakfast.
But.
The bathroom was built in the room (obviously added at some point), had a sliding door 30 cm away from the bed, it is impossible to be used in the night without waking up your companion. The room was also very dark, almost no natural light. In the morning people start to move around the common areas and it gets quite noisy after 9 am.

Room Tip: The rooms with street view are noisy from the cars and also from the breakfast area, but are larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliviutza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I have travelled to Barcelona as a young couple in June 2011 and we chose Casa Dover over booking.com. It was one of the most amazing places we have chosen for accommodation: great location in Eixample district, very fashionably renovated apartment, transformed into a B&B. Our room was beautiful, big, furnished in warm colors and natural furniture and with a great shower. I highly recommend it for a city trip! It is a very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LF112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Teatre Auditori
Hotel Teatre Auditori
#181 of 513 in Barcelona
788 reviews
Gracia
Catalonia La Pedrera
Catalonia La Pedrera
#201 of 513 in Barcelona
539 reviews
Gracia
Hotel Well and Come
Hotel Well and Come
#62 of 513 in Barcelona
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Horta - Guinardó
Barna House Apartments
Barna House Apartments
#540 of 728 in Barcelona
14 reviews
Eixample
Forget Me Not B&B
Forget Me Not B&B
#43 of 308 in Barcelona
219 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Live Barcelona
Hostal Live Barcelona
#8 of 308 in Barcelona
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barna House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barna House B&B

Property: Barna House B&B
Address: Carrer de Corsega, 429 | Gracia, 08037 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Casa Dover)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Gracia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barna House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming neighbourhood of Gracia, in Barcelona, Barna House B&B provides tranquil and attractive accommodation, just 5 minutes walk from the Sagrada Familia and other Gaudi monuments. The smart, modernist facade of the Barna House B&B building contrasts with the modern interior design. The rooms here are spacious and perfect for a weekend getaway, or a business trip; the city centre is a 10 minutes away by metro or bus. All rooms have a private bathroom with a shower, hypoallergenic soap and a hairdryer. Guests have access to a kitchenette with a fridge, microwave, oven and kettle. Tea and coffee are free. A living room with a TV are at guest's disposal. Boasting a daily cleaning service, this accommodation is ideal for those who want to explore the nightlife on offer in Barcelona. This property offers continental breakfast buffet. Equipped with Wi-Fi internet access, keep up to date with your emails while on holiday at Barna House B&B. Gracia is a great choice for travellers interested in architecture, art and museums. This is our guests' favourite part of Barcelona, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Dover Hotel Barcelona
Barna House B&B Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing