We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property”
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Barcelona
Ranked #114 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The W Barcelona is a combination of all things good you look for in a hotel. The location is perfect with great views overlooking the beach and just a short walk to the city center. The staff goes out of their way to make your stay more enjoyable. The bed is as comfortable as it gets and the scene is quite active.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,445 - 3,451 of 6,416 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon break, we had arrived at the hotel at circa 10am in the morning and the hotel managed to find us a room no problems although check-in wasn't due for another few hours. We managed to bag an upgrade as it was our honeymoon.
The room itself was superb - I recommend asking for a room which has a sea/city view - highlights being the super comfy bed and the wet room.
The hotels location is on the beach with probably a twenty minute walk along to the nearest metro (Barceloneta), though frequent bus services mean you dont need to walk.
Would defiintely stay here again.
Staff were really helpful and met all requests we had timeously.

Room Tip: Sea/city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilThom1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I love this hotel because of the pool and beach. But, the hotel itself and people who work there are great too. The pool plays great music, has great food, and the drinks are pretty great also. If the pool is not your thing then the beach is close by and is great for people watching.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joej45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed in one of the wonderful rooms facing the beach. Waking to the sunrise in your super comfortable bed is a delightful experience. Of course, given that this is Barcelona, most people shut the mechanized curtains and sleep in late.
Other than the beach, you need a taxi or a bus to go anywhere else. About half hour walk to the Gothic quarter.
The hotel is an iconic landmark and scores high on design esthetics but falls short on comfort and basic ergonomics. Specifically, the bathrooms are great to look at but not very convenient to use. Also, the soundproofing is not that good. Finally, considering the room rates it is really annoying to be charged extra for things like water, Wi-Fi or music on TV.
Still, I would recommend staying there for a night and then moving to some more central location.

Room Tip: Pick a beach side view above 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anachronist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I am sure that most people are wowed by the fun design, but have to complement the concierge staff who really went way beyond the call of duty to help us out with an urgent problem!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust0037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights before a cruise. It was a beautiful hotel. Service was decent, even if it was not always friendly. The bell men, young, hip, dressed in black shirts were very friendly, and went out of their way to help out.

The room is very different from most hotels I have stayed in. The bed is in the middle of the room and faces the window. We just had a basic room, but the view was fantastic. The sink was in the room and the shower was enclosed in opaque glass, as was the toilet. There was very little privacy. That did not bother us, but it is something you might want to consider.
There were trays of booze sitting out, and of course the mini fridge was fully stocked. Price tags on the water etc.

Our rate included breakfast, and it was lovely. We ordered hot egg dishes from the server, and the buffet had many different cheeses and cold cuts in addition to pastries, cereal, yogurt and fruit.

The location was great for us. Bus 17 starts just outside the hotel, a 2 minute walk if you are walking slowly. This bus takes you to the Las Ramblas/Barry Gothic area very quickly. Pick up the bus on the same street on the way home. We bought the T10 card for the two of us.

There is a nice pool area by the hotel. The girl who was guarding it asked if we were staying at the hotel and I said yes. Then she wanted to see our room keys! It would have sufficed if she had asked to see the room keys right away. This way it seemed that she thought we were lying. We did not hang there, it was not the purpose of our trip, and it was a little cool for that, but it was a nice place with great atmosphere, music playing and a bar.

One of our suitcases did not arrive with us. We asked to have it delivered to our room when it arrived. It had not arrived when we went to bed, so we called and asked them to please hold it until the next morning. We were awakened late in the evening with the delivery of the suitcase. It was ok, we were happy to have it, and we did change our minds, but somehow that change should have been communicated to the staff.

Service of the room was once in the morning.

We would stay there again if we go back to Barcelona.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Gardendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. As my husband is a platinum spg member we were given an upgrade to a cool corner suite. This room had an incredible sea view from the bedroom and more of a view of the dock area from the lounge room. All is very open plan and very spacious. Best bed in any hotel I have stayed in.Be prepared to be okay with not so private bathroom facilities. Glass panel wall and doors on shower and toilet. Toilet was visible from part of lounge area, not good being exposed if you invite guests to your room. All very comfortable furnishings.No tea/coffee making facilities.Had to get room service.Overall the hotel had fantastic service and a cool, relaxed atmosphere.Lovely sitting on the terrace and in the Lounges.Had a beautiful dinner in Bravo restaurant.Liked the nice beach walk to all the nearby happenings.Barcelona a trully memorable place.Hope to return again to W and Barca!

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozcaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#68 of 515 in Barcelona
4,727 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#207 of 515 in Barcelona
3,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#7 of 515 in Barcelona
1,761 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#22 of 515 in Barcelona
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#16 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#85 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £164 - £794 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing