We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, perfect Location”
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Barcelona
Ranked #93 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, perfect Location”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed at the W Barcelona for three nights and we are glad we chose the W. The hotel is very stylish and modern and is situated beautifully right on the beach. The view from the rooms is nothing less than spectacular.

We booked breakfast at the hotel, which was very good. Right below the W, there are a few small restaurants right at the beach, which seemed to be quite popular. A perfect opportunity for those, who prefer a less hectic way of spending the evening. For those, who are interested in doing sightseeing/shopping etc. the hotel is also a great choice. Although is is not "downtown", a taxi to Plaza de Catalunya (which is as downtown as it gets) is just 10 Euros. The harbour is within walking distance.

Downtown Barcelona is beautiful, but also very crowded and very "tourist-orientated". It is almost impossible to just look at a restaurants menu and quietly decide, whether you want to choose this restaurant for dinner. The moment you just come somewhat close to the place, some "tourist-catcher" runs up to you, sticks a menu in your face and tells you one million reasons why just just absolutely need to eat right there. At the mentioned restaurants below the W, there was no such behavior, which we were very thankful for.

The room we had was great (Thank you, Valentina). 19th floor, beautiful view of Barcelona. The room was clean, spacious and very stylish. The only thing that I need to mention is, that the mattresses are typical Spanish mattresses, which means that they are very soft. I prefer something different, but that is NOT a flaw from the hotel but a matter of my personal preference.

With too little time on our hands we never got to test the gym,the spa or the Eclipse (bar on the 26th floor), so I cannot say anything about them.

The service overall was great, whenever there was a small problem, it was taken care of right away.

I had a wonderful time at the W Barcelona. So if you are looking for a hotel in Barcelona that offers great service, modern and beautiful styling/architecture and a perfect location, I recommend that you choose the W.

Room Tip: Should you be wondering (as I first was) what the difference between the "Wonderful Room"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isabelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,706
    1,444
    483
    221
    181
See reviews for
807
2,611
233
989
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Great hotel on the beach and only 10 minutes by taxi to central Barcelona. The pool area has a Las Vegas look and feel, a DJ plays outdoors in the evening. We ate in the Bravo restaurant which was good but expensive. The beach front offers a great place to jog.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Have stayed here twice. I'd argue that best Barcelona hotels are Arts, Mandarin Oriental and the W.

W wins on our personal preference - great breakfast, fantastic gym, and hands-down winner if you're visiting in Summer and want to use pool/beach. Great cocktails too.

If you need american-style 5-star concierge type service go for the Arts and if you want to stay central and just shop go for the Mandarin.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kjw_global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I am in a corner suite of the new W Starwood hotel on the 17th floor.
Fabulous luxury and view for 480 Euro a night.
It's a 5 minute walk to get a 12 Euro Paella dinner or 37 Euro Paella for 2 downstairs.
Taxi ride to center Plaza de Catalunya is 10 Euro.
Euro = $1.30
Best bacon and eggs I have ever had.

Room Tip: I am a Platinum member in Starwood SPG. I received a free upgrade to a suite. I stay 5 nights as I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedwards1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear bedwards1951,

Thank you very much for having taken your time to submit us your feedback while staying with us. I am very glad to read that you were able to enjoy one of our beautiful Cool Corner Suites on the 17th floor, and that you had the best bacon and eggs you ever had. We always appreciate hearing from guest satisfaction.

Hope you also enjoyed the Paella!
It was a real pleasure to have you at our hotel, and if you ever feel like coming back to Barcelona, we would be honored to welcome you in our hotel once again.
Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the W Barcelona. It was my 30th birthday and we booked a short break to celebrate.

Our first room was on a lower floor (7th I think) and faced the port. The room looked out over a roof so we asked to change rooms and ended up in a much better room on the 18th floor, still looking out over the port. The room (a Wonderful room) was very well designed - we loved the window seat and enjoyed watching the cruise ships come and go and the planes taking off and landing. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the Bliss products were great. The one disappointment with the room was that there was no coffee machine.

We used the gym a few times - it's very large and well equipped for a hotel gym and has a great view of the beach. The pool was quite small but there were good sea views from there. In general the facilities at the hotel were great and you could easily spend days there without leaving. We visited the Bliss spa twice - not cheap, but when you've booked a treatment you get access to the lovely spa, plus tea/sparkling wine and brownies! Both the treatments I had (75 mins "Blissage" and manicure) were excellent.

The beach was lovely - we went for a swim in the sea one day (brr!) and it was great to have hotel towels and showers etc on hand.

The hotel knew it was my birthday and really looked after me. There was cake in our room with a card the day we arrived; cake and a cocktail in the spa on my actual birthday and a free drink the day we checked out. These were really nice touches and made our stay special.

We visited Eclipse (the bar/nightclub on the 27th floor) which was fun and open until 4am.

We had a brilliant stay at the W and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The W, barcelona hotel is one of the best experience one can have. The picturesque beach front... Just a doors open walk and a super experience awaits you. Located in a vast open area and having its own pub n disc located on the 22nd floor providing a panoramic view of the ocean...The best place to be....

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vkumar1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I am completely sincere when I say that this experience at W Hotel Barcelona was one of the best ones I've ever had. The design of the hotel itself is at the same time very stylish, welcoming, and screams luxury! I was there with my girlfriend and we had an amazing time. We had a stunning view from the 15th floor facing the ocean and part of the city. The kingsize bed was very comfortable, and the touch of the rain shower in the bathroom was an unexpected surprise :)

We were lucky to be there on a Sunday night where W Barcelona has a private party next to the pool and the bar as well as one on the 26th floor! A really fun night I must say.

The service was great thanks to Valentina Gonzalez and Claudia Acosta. We will definitely be coming back at least once a year :)

From Yannick K.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yannick_2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#51 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,367 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#119 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#24 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Property: W Barcelona
Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#68 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing