We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury with Quality”
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Barcelona
Ranked #95 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Luxury with Quality”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Excellent! from A to Z... Need to see it, feel it, smell it, to experience luxury with quality (and price) in this hotel... Specious rooms, especially towards the middle of the arch, with excellent facilities. Views are breathtaking, makes you feel like you are floating in the Mediterranean but high up. Depending on which side your room is, you can have the Sun from sunrise to sunset right in the room.Top marks!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obaysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,750
    1,465
    491
    229
    186
See reviews for
815
2,647
235
1,004
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

we stayed in this hotel to attend a seminar. This is a great property with infinite sea view from each room, very tastefully done up room and one of the luxury segment hotel. As usual inspite of additional counters and support from the organisers the check in was a pain as it took unusually long time.
But otherwise it was a pleasant stay, befitting the status of the hotel. The break fast served was superb. Vegetarian person has to contend with fruits, juices, cereals, etc as even breads with contain eggs but whatever was served was excellent.
The hotel is in one corner of barcelona near the Port with a private area on the beach.

While the rooms are tastefully done, one definitely expects minimum courtesy like water bottles and free internet which were missing.

One does know that it is a luxury hotel so things are going to be costly. But one has to know that for a similar pricing most of the Indian hotels offer much better service and freebies.

Still the one who can afford the price must try this unique hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ap21959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear ap21959,
I would like to thank you very much for expressing your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback! I am glad that you liked our hotel in general and that you have called your review A unique Hotel to Stay. Super, thank you very much!

I have nevertheless taken good note of your comments regarding the necessity for faster check-in, and rest assured I will take the appropriate actions. The process of check-in is normally a fairly speedy and simple one, but something was obviously amiss on the day you arrived, and I sincerely apologize for the long waiting times you experienced.
On the other hand, and concerning your comments about the vegetarian food, I understand that the menus were specifically organized and prepared for this specific seminar and I do regret if we were not able to offer you enough vegetarian options.

Regarding the free bottles of water, I would like to take the opportunity to inform you that one bottle of mineral water is offered on complimentary basis in each room per day. As far as the internet is concerned, at the present time it is not feasible to offer it on gratuity.

Sir,It was a pleasure to have you at our hotel and if you ever feel like coming back to Barcelona, I would be honored to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards from Barcelona.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The hotel is beautiful.
The management is corrupt.

We caught them adding charges to our room when we ate at their restaurants:
Items like:
Complimentary Service - $24 Euros
Cover Charge (even for children) - $8 Euros per person

And the worst... we settled our bill in cash. When our credit card bill arrived, we saw they added another $270 Euros in unauthorized charges.

I know the economy is bad... but this sneaky behaviour to RIP OFF guests is unbelievable for a Starwood hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ams s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WBarcelona, Personal Assistant to General Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear ams s,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to read that you found the hotel beautiful, however, I have been very surprised about the charges you mention. This is the reason why I would like to be able to correct this immediately, in case there was a misunderstanding or in case we did something wrong. I would much appreciate if you could please contact me at elisabeth.vilardell@whotels.com so I can investigate this further.

Looking forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience, I remain.
Yours sincerely,
Elisabeth Vilardell
Personal Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidmarsh, Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We were looking for a 5 star hotel somewhere interesting, warm sunny weather, preferably on a beach all within 2 hours flying time from London Heathrow and to a budget! My lovely contact at Dial a Flight recommended the W Hotel which fitted the brief to the letter! The building is awesome, the views spectacular and most of the decor is lovely (I say 'most' because the corridors are all terracota red and very plain and boring!). The hotel was pretty full during our stay (21st-24th September) but it never felt crowded. Check in was smooth and efficient and we were in our rooms at 11am which was great. We were on the 5th floor overlooking the harbour from where we could see the cruise ships coming in each morning. The rooms are really fabulous from the sumptious bedlinen to the lighting. As we were girls sharing the class cubicle WC was not ideal but we lived with it no problem. On arrival we asked for more hangers (there within 3 minutes), reception mentioned that our phone was crackling and an engineer was in the room getting it sorted within 5 minutes. Room service is fantastic - ice/ tea/ every request was delivered within minutes.
The 'wet deck' where we spent most of our time - does get crowded and if you want a prime sunbed - then you need to get down early! The one issue is that from 11.30 - 1.15 the sun goes behind the building and there is no sun on the pool and upper decks meaning that you have to de-camp to the beach unless you want to sit in shade. I am sure this is not the case during the height of the summer and once you realise that this is the case - you can just move or have lunch or do something else!
The service around the pool was mixed. Some staff were excellent and would tailor dishes on the menu to your request without a blink of any eye. Male staff, on the whole, were better than the girls! The sunbeds are big and have lovely thick mattresses - although the ones on the beach are not so good.
Breakfast was good too - once again you need to ask if they dont have on the menu exactly what you want - just ask and you can have it!
We preferred to dine out as there was so much of the city to see so cant comment on the resturants in the hotel.
The location is ideal for sightseeing - just 10 mins taxi to the centre or you can just walk!
We didnt sample the spa but we did use it to change on our last day and can comment that the changing room was poorly lit and far too hot!

Room Tip: If you are staying with someone you dont know very well it might be advisable to ask if they have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Well to start off this is a 5 star hotel on the beach that is amazing. The staff was beyond helpful and do go over and beyond the average service. I will say the only bad thing is that Yes you have to pay for wifi but all the amenities that you receive for me at least countered that aspect. Every room is an ocean view room and the windows are floor to ceiling with the bed facing the view and you can wake up to a sunrise...amazing. The club in the Hotel always has a line to get into on the weekend but being a guest of the hotel you go right up. It is a pricey hotel but sometimes you have to spoil yourself.
Location is right on the beach and its always live...its always with surfers and beware nude tanners. Walking down the boardwalk you can get to the Gothic District in about 15 minutes and the bus service is 2 euros and very easy to use. We chose to walk everywhere which was great because we came upon a wine tasting festival outside near a park.

Room Tip: any room....but sometimes if you are higher up I was on the 23rd floor the club is on the 26th you k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

One of the newest and fanciest hotels in Barcelona, it sits right on the beach. It's great for a city getaway, however, it is far from public transport and from most of the sights of Barcelona so get ready to walk (great walk on the board walk) or take cabs to get around. The panoramic views in each bedroom are without comparison. The bed sits in the middle of the room overlooking a floor to glass ceiling view of the beach. The amenities are great with staple Bliss products. The hotel has a luxurious spa, complete gym and a gourmet restaurant (Bravo). Eclipse Bar on the 27th floor is a great place to have a drink overlooking the whole city. The pool area is lovely, overlooking the beach. The service can be a bit snooty at times.

Room Tip: Get a room with a northern view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VANCOUVER
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The W Barcelona is in a great location only minutes away from the city centre.After a day of seeing the sights the W is a welcoming locale to sip some cava sangria and chill by the pool.Great view from our room on the 6th floor and the housekeeping was excellent.Complaints about the bathrooms are by prudes and unfounded.They are frosted glass and private.All the staff we dealt with were cheerful and sincere.The gym is first class and I would put it up against any hotel gym in the world.
As a SPG and loyal W customer I do have one gripe.The food is terrible and overpriced for what you get.There does not seem to be any pride in the kitchen and food was not served as described.That being said ,The W Barcelona is very good and if they worked on the food and menus could be excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BENZAMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#55 of 513 in Barcelona
4,433 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,662 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#122 of 513 in Barcelona
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Property: W Barcelona
Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing