We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Barcelona”
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W Barcelona
Ranked #95 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Barcelona”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The rooms are great and you have from the upper floors a great view at the beach or to the sea facing the airport. The pool area is great for relaxing,plenty of diwans and very friendly service , good food and drinks.To the city center is a short drive by taxi. The only bad experience we had in the fine dining restaurant.Very slow service, nobody speaks English, unfriendly staff and overpriced for the quality. At the front office and pool you do not have any language problems and the staff is very friendly

Room Tip: room facing the beach and upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank udo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth38187497, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Udo h,

I am very happy to read your positive comments about our hotel and especially the rooms and the pool area. But I was also sorry to read that our signature restaurant did not meet your expectations, and I would like to apologise for that. Althought the feedback we normally receive is very positive, please be assured that your comments have been forwarded to Mr. Carles Abellan, the maximum responsible of Bravo24, and I am sure that corrective actions will be taken immediately.

I truly hope we will have the opportuntiy to welcoming you again in the future, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly if we can be of any assistance prior to your next visit.

Best regards,

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,750
    1,465
    491
    229
    186
See reviews for
815
2,647
235
1,004
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

My mother and I were travelling to Barcelona and we used Hotwire to book our hotel (does not give you the name until you book-just star rating and approx location). We paid quite a bit still but we were absolutely thrilled to have the w! Amazing ocean view, extremely comfortable beds with lots of room. Staff were always very friendly an helpful, and the pool area is gorgeous. The pool is only on the second level, however the view of the beach is stunning! We even decided to try the bliss spa which to be honest was crazy expensive, but the quality of massage was fantastic. We happened to visit the weekend of the opening party, and were invited to the pool party that later carried on at eclipse on the top floor! I would highly recommend this hotel, just not for someone on a tight budget!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laneylaney100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Where do you start? The W in Barcelona fully embraces everything that the chain stands for. It occupies a great location on the beach in the old harbour part of Barca. This area was really rundown before this was built but now it offers lots of cool bars and restuarants. Not that you need to leave the hotel. With the trendiest bar in town at the top of the hotel you can not only listen to the latest tunes whilst sipping your favourite cocktail but you have terrific views! Back down in the hotel foyer you have access to restuarants which spill out onto the deck and the pool area where all the beautiful people are hanging out.
The rooms consitent with what the W stands for are a geek's paradise with the different gadgets to tailor the ambience to your own personal taste - complete with floor to ceiling windows they give great views of the sea. The staff are always attentive and provide outstanding service. Lounging back on a comfy sofa by the pool sipping a mojito listening to chill sounds at 1 am ---doesn't get much better.

Room Tip: Higher the better - for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurobeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Have stayed in Barcelona many times before but this was the first time at the W, Fantastic, helpful staff, beautiful sea/city view room, with the best stocked mini bar and a large l shaped sofa in the window which was great for watching the world go by. Eclipse bar on top floor was very relaxed and the Mojitos went down far too quickly. Breakfast was very good. Would always be my first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomalo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

W Hotel was initially my second choice of hotel in Barcelona as the Hotel Arts was not available however, it certainly exceeded expectations. It is a very contemporary hotel with large bedrooms (with very comfortable beds) and lovely pool area. It is located by the beach and there are lots of ((really good) beach restaurants just underneath the pool terrace opposite the beach. The staff were extremely helpful and always charming. I would definitely come back for a summer Barcelona break but it is a bit further from the centre of town than the Hotel Arts.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CityTraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth38187497, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear City Traveller45,

Thank you very much for sharing your moments with us!

We were very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that everything was to your satisfaction. We are so grateful for your comments at TripAdvisor website, and we look forward to welcoming you very soon again to W Barcelona.

Happy Summer!
Warmest regards,

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed at W Barcelona last year and had such an amazing time that we've decided to repeat this year, and it did not disappoint at all !!!

From quick and smooth check-in (including a courtesy phone call to inform us that our room is ready), to a great room, pool, staff and drinks, W is and will be my number one choice for Barcelona on my future visits.

Truth is, it is not the cheapest hotel and yes, internet is not free in the rooms, but why would you be in the room wasting time when you could be by the pool or beach... enjoying the weather, mojitos and great service??? So money spent is well worth it! Next time I will upgrade too!

One thing that got us a little bit disappointed was that there was a announced R&B DJ night at Eclipse on the night before we left (7/7/2013). The flyer was saying from midnight til 4am. I'm a DJ myself and specialize in R&B so I was really looking forward to this. We've waited til almost 1am and all they were playing was house/dance music, which was more or less the same type of music played at the party by the pool??? So we've decided to call it a night and went to bed early. (Maybe you guys could give me a call and I could come and do a R&B night for you?)

There was a little issue regarding our airport transportation on the way back to the airport. We've booked a limo service through the hotel's concierge, same as last year, though this time, due to a miscommunication we didn't get the transportation that was originally booked and payed for. It did get me upset at that point, especially because of the plans we had made for the last hours of our visit to Barcelona. But thanx to, once again, great staff and customer service, not just that we managed to get to the airport on time, but I was also refunded the full ammount for the limo that was pre-booked. Thank you Rodrigo (Head Concierge). Great customer service!!

I could go on and on and compliment the staff and management about all the little things but, the best thing you can do, is GO and experience it yourself!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djalxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth38187497, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear djalxxx,

First of all, I would like to thank you for staying at W Barcelona again!

We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us one more time, and how fantastic it is to read that W is and will be your number one choice for Barcelona on your future visits.

I have neverthless taken good note of your comments regarding the announced R & B DJ at Eclipse on July the 7th, and please be assured that I will forward your comments to the Director of Entertainment, so he can review what could happened. Thanks for your feedback.

Finally, I do regret that you had a little issue with your limo transfer back to the airport, however, I am delighted to note that Rodrigo was able to solve in a not too much waiting time. Thanks a million Rodrigo!

It would be an honor for us to welcome you again very soon!!!
Warmest regards from Barcelona.

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I loved everything about this hotel. The staff are very efficient and when we arrived we were upgraded to a suite - not a high room with the best views but still amazing views over the bay and the suite was fabulous. The bed was very comfortable, bathroom so well equipped. Overall the room end beautifully furnished.
We ate in the brava restaurant and the food was fantastic. I ordered steak tartare which was theatrically assembled in front of our table.
Don't miss the Eclipse Bar at the top of the hotel. Amazing views, and yummy sushi!
The only negative point was breakfast. Admittedly we arrived in the last half hour, but service was poor - coffee then milk didn't arrive, certainly not the high standards we had experienced elsewhere in the hotel.
I didn't want to leave....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth38187497, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear 57 sallyb,

First of all I want to thank you for choosing W Hotel to be accommodated in Barcelona and I highly celebrate that you had a positive stay.

However, I have carefully read your comments regarding the breakfast and I am really sorry if the service was not the one you expected. Please be assured, we do value all guest comments and for sure, I am going to review the issues you have raised with our Food and Beverage Manager.

We hope to welcome you very soon.
Yours faithfully,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#55 of 513 in Barcelona
4,435 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,660 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#122 of 513 in Barcelona
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Property: W Barcelona
Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing