We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW view & hotel”
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Barcelona
Ranked #126 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Only free wifi in the reception area which is a shame, the lifts are quiet slow so don’t be in a hurry. Personally I would prefer to stay down town in a smaller hotel where I can walk to places but if your looking for luxury setting go here. The room was huge, I didn't like the bathroom which was a sink outside then a shower and bathroom with iced glass doors. I didn't like the fact that the whole shower got wet and no where to put bath mat or slippers as door opened out. Also the water ran in to the toilet floor. Looks good but not practical to use. The reception was quiet slow also.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,859 - 2,865 of 6,551 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

The rooms are great and you have from the upper floors a great view at the beach or to the sea facing the airport. The pool area is great for relaxing,plenty of diwans and very friendly service , good food and drinks.To the city center is a short drive by taxi. The only bad experience we had in the fine dining restaurant.Very slow service, nobody speaks English, unfriendly staff and overpriced for the quality. At the front office and pool you do not have any language problems and the staff is very friendly

Room Tip: room facing the beach and upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank udo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth38187497, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Udo h,

I am very happy to read your positive comments about our hotel and especially the rooms and the pool area. But I was also sorry to read that our signature restaurant did not meet your expectations, and I would like to apologise for that. Althought the feedback we normally receive is very positive, please be assured that your comments have been forwarded to Mr. Carles Abellan, the maximum responsible of Bravo24, and I am sure that corrective actions will be taken immediately.

I truly hope we will have the opportuntiy to welcoming you again in the future, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly if we can be of any assistance prior to your next visit.

Best regards,

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

My mother and I were travelling to Barcelona and we used Hotwire to book our hotel (does not give you the name until you book-just star rating and approx location). We paid quite a bit still but we were absolutely thrilled to have the w! Amazing ocean view, extremely comfortable beds with lots of room. Staff were always very friendly an helpful, and the pool area is gorgeous. The pool is only on the second level, however the view of the beach is stunning! We even decided to try the bliss spa which to be honest was crazy expensive, but the quality of massage was fantastic. We happened to visit the weekend of the opening party, and were invited to the pool party that later carried on at eclipse on the top floor! I would highly recommend this hotel, just not for someone on a tight budget!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laneylaney100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Where do you start? The W in Barcelona fully embraces everything that the chain stands for. It occupies a great location on the beach in the old harbour part of Barca. This area was really rundown before this was built but now it offers lots of cool bars and restuarants. Not that you need to leave the hotel. With the trendiest bar in town at the top of the hotel you can not only listen to the latest tunes whilst sipping your favourite cocktail but you have terrific views! Back down in the hotel foyer you have access to restuarants which spill out onto the deck and the pool area where all the beautiful people are hanging out.
The rooms consitent with what the W stands for are a geek's paradise with the different gadgets to tailor the ambience to your own personal taste - complete with floor to ceiling windows they give great views of the sea. The staff are always attentive and provide outstanding service. Lounging back on a comfy sofa by the pool sipping a mojito listening to chill sounds at 1 am ---doesn't get much better.

Room Tip: Higher the better - for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eurobeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Have stayed in Barcelona many times before but this was the first time at the W, Fantastic, helpful staff, beautiful sea/city view room, with the best stocked mini bar and a large l shaped sofa in the window which was great for watching the world go by. Eclipse bar on top floor was very relaxed and the Mojitos went down far too quickly. Breakfast was very good. Would always be my first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomalo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

W Hotel was initially my second choice of hotel in Barcelona as the Hotel Arts was not available however, it certainly exceeded expectations. It is a very contemporary hotel with large bedrooms (with very comfortable beds) and lovely pool area. It is located by the beach and there are lots of ((really good) beach restaurants just underneath the pool terrace opposite the beach. The staff were extremely helpful and always charming. I would definitely come back for a summer Barcelona break but it is a bit further from the centre of town than the Hotel Arts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CityTraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth38187497, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear City Traveller45,

Thank you very much for sharing your moments with us!

We were very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that everything was to your satisfaction. We are so grateful for your comments at TripAdvisor website, and we look forward to welcoming you very soon again to W Barcelona.

Happy Summer!
Warmest regards,

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed at W Barcelona last year and had such an amazing time that we've decided to repeat this year, and it did not disappoint at all !!!

From quick and smooth check-in (including a courtesy phone call to inform us that our room is ready), to a great room, pool, staff and drinks, W is and will be my number one choice for Barcelona on my future visits.

Truth is, it is not the cheapest hotel and yes, internet is not free in the rooms, but why would you be in the room wasting time when you could be by the pool or beach... enjoying the weather, mojitos and great service??? So money spent is well worth it! Next time I will upgrade too!

One thing that got us a little bit disappointed was that there was a announced R&B DJ night at Eclipse on the night before we left (7/7/2013). The flyer was saying from midnight til 4am. I'm a DJ myself and specialize in R&B so I was really looking forward to this. We've waited til almost 1am and all they were playing was house/dance music, which was more or less the same type of music played at the party by the pool??? So we've decided to call it a night and went to bed early. (Maybe you guys could give me a call and I could come and do a R&B night for you?)

There was a little issue regarding our airport transportation on the way back to the airport. We've booked a limo service through the hotel's concierge, same as last year, though this time, due to a miscommunication we didn't get the transportation that was originally booked and payed for. It did get me upset at that point, especially because of the plans we had made for the last hours of our visit to Barcelona. But thanx to, once again, great staff and customer service, not just that we managed to get to the airport on time, but I was also refunded the full ammount for the limo that was pre-booked. Thank you Rodrigo (Head Concierge). Great customer service!!

I could go on and on and compliment the staff and management about all the little things but, the best thing you can do, is GO and experience it yourself!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djalxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth38187497, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear djalxxx,

First of all, I would like to thank you for staying at W Barcelona again!

We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us one more time, and how fantastic it is to read that W is and will be your number one choice for Barcelona on your future visits.

I have neverthless taken good note of your comments regarding the announced R & B DJ at Eclipse on July the 7th, and please be assured that I will forward your comments to the Director of Entertainment, so he can review what could happened. Thanks for your feedback.

Finally, I do regret that you had a little issue with your limo transfer back to the airport, however, I am delighted to note that Rodrigo was able to solve in a not too much waiting time. Thanks a million Rodrigo!

It would be an honor for us to welcome you again very soon!!!
Warmest regards from Barcelona.

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#70 of 517 in Barcelona
4,862 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#203 of 517 in Barcelona
3,145 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#22 of 517 in Barcelona
2,200 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 517 in Barcelona
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#95 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £207 - £612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing