We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W is for WOW.”
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Barcelona
Ranked #96 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“W is for WOW.”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here only one night before a cruise departing from Barcelona. We snagged a super last minute deal on a "Wonderful" room at about a third of the regular rate. Even though we arrived at the front desk at 9 am, the check in agent had a room ready for us and WOW, it was gorgeous with views toward the sea and the port. Loved everything about this place. The room was HUGE and the bed was super comfortable. We spent a few hours just looking out to the sea from the floor to ceiling windows. The location is not walking distance to the main sights of Barcelona, but there are plenty of taxis from the front door. The hotel also has its own pool and beach. The restaurant was excellent and it was where we had the most unusual but delicious dessert....pineapple ravioli in a bowl of coconut soup. There is also a tapas bar, a beachside café and a contemporary gourmet restaurant. Service from every single person on the hotel staff was absolutely fantastic.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the sea, but some views are more wonderful than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsEllen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth38187497, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear MsEllen88,

Thank you for sharing your experience. It is such a pleasure to read positive feedback like yours!

We are pleased to learn that you had a nice but short stay at W Barcelona and that you appreciated the culinary experience, especially the desserts of our restaurants. I am happy to read also that the service you received by our staff was fantastic. Our goal is to provide our guests with the highest standard of services and there is nothing more rewarding than the client´s recognition!

It would an honor for us to welcome you again!
Warmest regards from Barcelona!

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,750
    1,466
    491
    229
    187
See reviews for
815
2,647
235
1,004
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Lovely hotel with all of the latest hi-tech gadgets in the rooms... Great bar / deck / pool area and right on the beach with its own sunbeds etc etc... Lovely nighclub on top floors and great buzz in the bars. One of the nicest breakfast buffets that we've come across.. However, where they fall down is in getting the basics right around restaurant reservations, food orders, timely make-up of room and basic service, all resulting from what would appear to be " a lack of someone who you could pinpoint as being in charge" !!!

Its a beautiful place for all of the "beautiful and trendy" crowd BUT if you want a personalised and attentive service you should probably try somewhere else....

While its a little bit remote from the centre (very near commercial port) there is always a plentiful supply of taxis right outside the door and a taxi fare will cost about €10 to the Ramblas area...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Stayed here with my girlfriend last month. Had a room on the 15th floor looking over the beach and city. Such a great view. Very modern. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There are a variety of restaurants downstairs all offering unique style of food, so if you don't want to travel far its great. It's only a 10 mintue walk into the city centre, if you want to adventure around. I would definitely come back again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth38187497, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Freddie T,

We were delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us at the W Barcelona!

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Firstly...wow! I was taken here for a long weekend with my partner and was completely overwhelmed with the hotel. It is certainly the most iconic hotel in Barcelona as it can be seen from everywhere as it sits beautiful on the tip of the beach.

The staff were very attentive and welcoming. At no point did we feel like anything was too much for us. When relaxing by the pool it was nice to have efficient waiting staff on hand for everything.

The pool was freezing but refreshing in the heat. It was certainly a very glamorous atmosphere around the pool and the music was funky and relaxing too. The private beach area was peaceful and away from the nudists on the main beach! Again, service was second to none.

We ate in Bravo in the evening and opted for the tapas. Which i have to say included some of the best fish i have eaten in my life. The prawns are a must! Everything was deliciously fresh.

Breakfast in the hotel room was brilliant too. We both had omelettes which were great and came with potatoes and vegetables too, a real plus!

The rooms were plush and beds were ridiculously comfy. The higher up your room the better the view so i would recommend adding this request to your booking. The best thing about the rooms though was the shower - best shower of my life.

Overall an amazing experience and i would come back in a heart beat!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors with a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth38187497, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Jade H,

Firstly....wow!!! What a fantastic review post in tripadvisor and thanks for sharing your experience with other travelers!

We are so happy to read that you had a nice stay with us and we will be honored to welcome you again to W Barcelona with your partner for another memorable stay!

All the staff here are waiting for you!

Hasta pronto!

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The W Barcelona is a very fun and sexy hotel. Room decor was modern and funky and the shower was almost as big as my bathroom at home. There is a number of great restaurant options onsite, and it was within walking distance to La Rambla and other restaurants. Bliss spa was amazing and I loved that the products were also in the rooms. Only complaint is that staff was a little snobby, but unfortunately that's often the case with trendy hotels! I highly recommend staying at the W Barcelona.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth38187497, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Amanda C,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your review at tripadvisor.

We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comfort and satisfaction is very important for us.

Hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Barcelona.
Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The view from the room (from bed!) is just breathtaking, especially from the higher floors. We didn't want to leave. This will certainly make up for some of the shortcomings of the hotel which a detailed in previous reviews, including:
- ridiculously slow check-in and check-out
- the breakfast is pretty poor
- room wifi is charged
- the toilet is separated from the bedroom by only a frosted glass door, so don't expect privacy in there!
Still, the overall experience is fantastic.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank boicey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth38187497, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest from London,

First of all, I want to thank you for choosing W Hotel to be accommodated in Barcelona and I highly celebrate that in general the overall experience was fantastic. However, I also would like to thank you for your detailed feedback which is very important for us so we know where we have failed. I can assure you that I will transmit your review to all department heads involved during our next morning daily meeting so we can start implement improvements in the areas you mentioned.

Regretfully, the toilet is part of the design of the rooms and I do regret that it was not to your liking. Concerning the internet, unfortunately at the present time is not feasible to offer it on complimentary basis but it is free of charge at the public areas.

Thank you again for letting us have your comments about your personal experience that will always help us, and we look forward to welcoming you again to W Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I stayed at this hotel two night for a business trip in September 2013 and this hotel is without any doubt one of the best I have been to in Barcelona. The view on the sea is stunning and the service is superb. The bar at the outside swimming pool and the top floor bar are fantastic for entertainment


Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bendef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#55 of 513 in Barcelona
4,435 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#24 of 513 in Barcelona
4,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,662 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#122 of 513 in Barcelona
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Property: W Barcelona
Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#73 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Lastminute, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing