We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, gorgeous rooms and amazing service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
W Barcelona
Ranked #89 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
WQetherby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, gorgeous rooms and amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We arrived on 31st October and got the Eurobus from the airport and walked down (this took 30 mins). Would recommend getting a cab!
Arrived early for check in and didn't expect to be able to, however the staff couldn't have tried to accommodate us anymore. They upgraded our room on request to a room with a bath for no charge. Our room wasn't ready and so they bought us 2 drinks each in the bar.
On arrival in the room, it's amazing, every part of it - we stayed on 1501, and the view was spectacular.
The bed and bed linen is dreamy, über soft and extreme luxury.
The luxury products by bliss are super - shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, face wash, body butter. We only stayed for 2 nights, so had I have known this I wouldn't hAve brought my own.
The pool area is lovely, the reception area is always filled with staff wanting to help you.

Overall, a truly outstanding 2 night stay, where staff were brilliant, facilities out of this world.

Can't wait to come next year for my birthday again!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WetherbyWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,627
    1,422
    471
    221
    171
See reviews for
784
2,561
227
966
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

First off Barcelona is beautiful and if you are on a special visit then the W hotel is for you. It has a premier location to reach on foot all the great places...and its unmissable as the shape is kind of like the Bur Al Arab in Dubai.
It is write on the beach with some excellent restaurants directly below....The pool is uber cool & trendy and the service is excellent. I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth38187497, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Mark O,

Thank you very much for your positive review about our hotel and for taking the time to post your comments!

We are so pleased to learn that you had a great experience at the W Barcelona and truly look forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future!

Kindest regards,

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

The W Barcelona is located on the far end of Barceloneta. It is not an ideal location for exploring the city centre; however it is right on the beach. And that's enough!
The sea view from the rooms is great.
The hotel is decorated and managed to a very high standard; just lacking some human touch. Bar and pool are fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucaVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth38187497, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest from Treviso,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We are glad that to learn that in general you had a pleasant experience at W Barcelona, and that you were able to take advantage of the beach located just in front of the hotel, the views from the rooms and the Wet Deck area. However, I would like to apologise if our staff let you down on this occasion with regards the lack of human touch and rest assured that this will be discussed in the next daily morning meeting to find out the appropiate corrective actions with all the Head of Departments.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Barcelona.
Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
263 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed one night pre cruise and would highly recommend the W for this purpose. We’ve been to Barcelona before so its situation away from the older parts of the city and main attractions did not faze us. Indeed in our day from airport to cruise ship we didn’t stray from its comfortable environs.
Things didn’t start well as our transfer vehicle was not there to greet us. After some toing and froing we found it was booked for a month later. We didn’t have the option of jumping into a taxi as we had 10 bags – hence booking a car. (For travelers with normal amounts of baggage there were millions of taxis so you don’t need the added expense.)
Anyway the limo company were superb and scrambled a minivan in 10 minutes and we were off and running. The meet and greet at the hotel was great and wonderfully we were upgraded to a Spectacular suite. We aren’t sure if it was because of the cock up with the car or possibly as we had splashed out and booked a smaller suite which may have run out of availability. Anyway suffice to say it really is spectacular. If you look at the hotel from the outside it has three little ‘wings’ and our suite was the top one of those overlooking the beach. Just fabulous. A HUGE terrace with sun loungers and a seating area, a HUGE lounge with panoramic windows and a fabulously comfortable bed. The bath was in the bedroom which is a pet hate of mine but here worthwhile as it truly is a bath with a view.
We went to the bar area for pre-dinner drinks and found the service patchy and the tables not cleaned until we asked. It was busy in fairness but we didn’t feel welcome – more of a nuisance. However the beer was delightfully cold and the ambience round the pool terrific and a brilliant spot to people watch.
We had dinner at the upstairs tapas restaurant and it was delightful. The Serrano ham was cut with love and the Spanish omelette particularly delicious.
We both slept like babies. On awakening we looked for a coffee machine but to no avail (it might have been somewhere as the suite is so vast but I don’t think so) which was disappointing as a morning Nespresso would have been great. We called for room service and it was only around 6 euros and delicious coffee so forgiven.
The breakfast buffet was fabulous and the cooked orders superb but enormous portions – daunted us. Again the service was patchy – from charming to surly depending on the server.
We used the Express checkout facility and I would suggest you do the same as the queue was at least 6 customers long.
We needed to organize a vehicle to get us and our luggage to the ship and had to wait ages for the Concierge. I went twice but he was busy. I finally had to wait while he told a lady the entire geography of Barcelona. It was apparent I – and another couple – was waiting and I think he should have called for assistance.
I feel slightly mean spirited giving The W a 4 – if it was out of 10 it would be a 9 – however the slow and busy reception areas, the patchy service and the tiredness of some of the trendy white furniture preclude a 100% rating. It was however a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here only one night before a cruise departing from Barcelona. We snagged a super last minute deal on a "Wonderful" room at about a third of the regular rate. Even though we arrived at the front desk at 9 am, the check in agent had a room ready for us and WOW, it was gorgeous with views toward the sea and the port. Loved everything about this place. The room was HUGE and the bed was super comfortable. We spent a few hours just looking out to the sea from the floor to ceiling windows. The location is not walking distance to the main sights of Barcelona, but there are plenty of taxis from the front door. The hotel also has its own pool and beach. The restaurant was excellent and it was where we had the most unusual but delicious dessert....pineapple ravioli in a bowl of coconut soup. There is also a tapas bar, a beachside café and a contemporary gourmet restaurant. Service from every single person on the hotel staff was absolutely fantastic.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the sea, but some views are more wonderful than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsEllen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth38187497, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear MsEllen88,

Thank you for sharing your experience. It is such a pleasure to read positive feedback like yours!

We are pleased to learn that you had a nice but short stay at W Barcelona and that you appreciated the culinary experience, especially the desserts of our restaurants. I am happy to read also that the service you received by our staff was fantastic. Our goal is to provide our guests with the highest standard of services and there is nothing more rewarding than the client´s recognition!

It would an honor for us to welcome you again!
Warmest regards from Barcelona!

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Lovely hotel with all of the latest hi-tech gadgets in the rooms... Great bar / deck / pool area and right on the beach with its own sunbeds etc etc... Lovely nighclub on top floors and great buzz in the bars. One of the nicest breakfast buffets that we've come across.. However, where they fall down is in getting the basics right around restaurant reservations, food orders, timely make-up of room and basic service, all resulting from what would appear to be " a lack of someone who you could pinpoint as being in charge" !!!

Its a beautiful place for all of the "beautiful and trendy" crowd BUT if you want a personalised and attentive service you should probably try somewhere else....

While its a little bit remote from the centre (very near commercial port) there is always a plentiful supply of taxis right outside the door and a taxi fare will cost about €10 to the Ramblas area...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Stayed here with my girlfriend last month. Had a room on the 15th floor looking over the beach and city. Such a great view. Very modern. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There are a variety of restaurants downstairs all offering unique style of food, so if you don't want to travel far its great. It's only a 10 mintue walk into the city centre, if you want to adventure around. I would definitely come back again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth38187497, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Freddie T,

We were delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us at the W Barcelona!

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#50 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,209 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#122 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Property: W Barcelona
Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#66 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing