We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in nice city :)”
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
W Barcelona
Ranked #121 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Hotel is on excellent location, rooms are beautiful, modern.
Service in the hotel should be better especially at the reception, where is permeant chaos! Hotel definitely has some problem with magnetic keys, in my 5 days stay I needed to change 4 times key!! Five star hotel shouldn't allow this kind of things.
Swimming pool and service on the swimming pool are outstanding compare with slow and chaotic at the other area of hotel.

Room Tip: There are rooms with beach, sea and port view. Of course beach and sea view rooms are more attractiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srdjan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,356 - 2,362 of 6,498 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at the W for one night before getting onto a cruise. Given the short stay, we didn't anticipate being able to do a lot of "tourist" activities, so the fact that the W isn't in the heart of the city wasn't a problem for us. However, it is right on the Barcelonetta, so you have beautiful views of the ocean and the city from there.

We found the property to be very pretty and very well-maintained. We stayed in a "Cool Corner Suite" (gotta love their room names). The room was very nice with beautiful views. One word of warning, though...if there is an event going on either at the pool or at the business next door, you will hear their music. There was rather loud music going on while we were there and we could hear it until about 2am. It didn't ruin our stay, but it did make us wish that the room were a big higher up. Not a deal-breaker by any means, just be aware of it.

We had both dinner and breakfast at the W's restaurant. Food and service were both excellent--the breakfast buffet in particular was outstanding.

I would recommend the W for the type of stay we did...might be a bit far out of town if you're planning to stay in Barcelona for a while and want to tour a lot of the sights.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I loved staying here but not convenient to the main city in terms of being a tourist. I feel like this hotel is better suited for someone who has been to Barcelona a few times before but wants something on the beach.

staff was friendly although one of the concierges kind of grunted at us when giving directions to the restaurant that he had given us reservations to. He said to walk to the right but what he didn't say was that it was about 1km down the road to the right.

The Bliss Spa gave me a polish change and were definitely up to the standards of the Bliss Spas that I have been to previously.

The pool was crowded.

Costs about 7-15euro cab ride to get anywhere from here...

Beautiful view from my room.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank skimmilk70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Even the most basic rooms are spacious and feel luxe A little far from the centre of town but it was an easy walk along the beach. I need to go back in summer to make the most of the terrace and pool area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The W Barcelona hotel boasts a great location and truly commands attention. However, I felt that the staff was not exceptional, and I left the property quite unimpressed. First, there are not enough lifts to accommodate the amount of people staying in the hotel, and therefore, the lift lines are quite long. Secondly, although we had a spacious corner room with incredible views, the bathroom left much to be desired. The smallish sink is actually in the bedroom, with zero counterspace, and the toilet and shower are in the actual bathroom, but there is no partition between the toilet and the shower. This means that if you need to use the toilet, you have to walk through the wet shower floor to reach the toilet. In addition to that, the toilet and entire bathroom get wet from the shower. It's akin to being on a cruise ship with a cramped bathroom. Whoever designed the floor plan clearly did not think things through at all. I was thoroughly disappointed with the bathroom accommodations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melicia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

This is incredible! Rooms spacious views if city port and the ocean. The pool has glass walls that surrounds entire area. There is reflecting pond area and the pool. Beautiful inviting lounging and seating with umbrellas to enjoy drinks or menu of items available. Hamburgers huge and delicious, nachos, squid a few of must haves. Beer wine champagne and full bar available. Service is impeccable.
Sunday night huge party on the terrace full band strobe lights and hotel neon lights in sea greens and aqua blues lit up the beach, with a yacht reflecting same out in water. All wore white, men in shirts ladies in white summer finery. Great band and dancers. One big party!
An exceptional property for an exceptional stay.
Recommend? Yes.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had a 5 night stay at the W Barcelona. Spectacular property and spectacular location. Didn't feel like a 'guest' though and didn't feel "heard" when interacting with the hotel staff much during our stay. Management could do so much here if they improved on the overall service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWAndersonSFSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear CWAndersonSFSD,

Thanks for writting at the TripAdvisor website concerning your stay at W Barcelona. I am happy to read that you appreciated the location of our hotel and in general the property, but I am terribly sorry to learn that our staff let you down. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, because your comments are vital for us to continue improving our service.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at W Barcelona and demonstrate you that we can offer you a better service than the one you have experienced in your last visit.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#67 of 516 in Barcelona
4,829 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#201 of 516 in Barcelona
3,108 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#22 of 516 in Barcelona
2,176 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 516 in Barcelona
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#92 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £152 - £538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing