We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of W Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W Barcelona
Ranked #95 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kanpur, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I am a big fan of W Hotels and I am delighted that W Barcelona matched the image.
The Hotel is located right on the Beach with a Marvellous View of the City, Beach & Sea.
As soon as one enters the Hotel, you are in awe with the Cool & Chic Lobby.
The restaurants are great, especially, the Pool Bar "Wet"
As expected, the rooms are Awesome. We were staying in a Suite having a large window with a view of both the City & Sea...Simply Amazing :-)
The area is full of life with many people enjoying outdoor activities.
Finally, after a great night of partying or a long day at Shopping, just relax at the Marvellous Spa!!!
W Barcellona is surely the place to be in!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Left Side offer a spectacular view of the City & Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bharat76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WBarcelona, Hotel Manager at W Barcelona, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Bharat76,

Greetings from W Barcelona.

I am very happy to see that we could give you an enjoyable stay at our hotel. Should you come back to Barcelona in the future, it would also be my pleasure to personally take care of your next reservation and I invite you to contact me personally in order to plan your stay.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon.
Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
W Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,750
    1,465
    491
    229
    186
See reviews for
815
2,647
235
1,004
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed a standard room and a junior suite in this hotel. Even I was for a business trip in Barcelona, I really enjoyed the sea breeze over the weekend and during the breakfast. For the breakfast, you have two choices and can switch. Afternoon walk on the beach is very relaxing. Perfect and reliable concierge "Xavier" made my day over my whole stay. Service during dinner is a bit slow and the restaurant is a bit pricey.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ipek U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have never stayed in a W Hotel that wasn't great and this is no exception. From the second we walked in, we were wowed at how beautiful the hotel is. Then, they gave us a free upgrade to a suite overlooking the city. The room was beautiful, it of course had the famous bed which could not be more comfortable. The location is a little tough for travelling into Barcelona, unless you want to walk a mile and a half to a metro, you need to take a taxi. It is right next to a beach however, which was very nice and clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Hotel is on excellent location, rooms are beautiful, modern.
Service in the hotel should be better especially at the reception, where is permeant chaos! Hotel definitely has some problem with magnetic keys, in my 5 days stay I needed to change 4 times key!! Five star hotel shouldn't allow this kind of things.
Swimming pool and service on the swimming pool are outstanding compare with slow and chaotic at the other area of hotel.

Room Tip: There are rooms with beach, sea and port view. Of course beach and sea view rooms are more attractiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srdjan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the W for one night before getting onto a cruise. Given the short stay, we didn't anticipate being able to do a lot of "tourist" activities, so the fact that the W isn't in the heart of the city wasn't a problem for us. However, it is right on the Barcelonetta, so you have beautiful views of the ocean and the city from there.

We found the property to be very pretty and very well-maintained. We stayed in a "Cool Corner Suite" (gotta love their room names). The room was very nice with beautiful views. One word of warning, though...if there is an event going on either at the pool or at the business next door, you will hear their music. There was rather loud music going on while we were there and we could hear it until about 2am. It didn't ruin our stay, but it did make us wish that the room were a big higher up. Not a deal-breaker by any means, just be aware of it.

We had both dinner and breakfast at the W's restaurant. Food and service were both excellent--the breakfast buffet in particular was outstanding.

I would recommend the W for the type of stay we did...might be a bit far out of town if you're planning to stay in Barcelona for a while and want to tour a lot of the sights.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I loved staying here but not convenient to the main city in terms of being a tourist. I feel like this hotel is better suited for someone who has been to Barcelona a few times before but wants something on the beach.

staff was friendly although one of the concierges kind of grunted at us when giving directions to the restaurant that he had given us reservations to. He said to walk to the right but what he didn't say was that it was about 1km down the road to the right.

The Bliss Spa gave me a polish change and were definitely up to the standards of the Bliss Spas that I have been to previously.

The pool was crowded.

Costs about 7-15euro cab ride to get anywhere from here...

Beautiful view from my room.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank skimmilk70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Even the most basic rooms are spacious and feel luxe A little far from the centre of town but it was an easy walk along the beach. I need to go back in summer to make the most of the terrace and pool area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jordi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#55 of 513 in Barcelona
4,435 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,660 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#122 of 513 in Barcelona
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Barcelona

Property: W Barcelona
Address: Placa de la Rosa dels Vents, 1, 08039 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIVE INTO THE CURRENT Step inside. See for yourself. Designed by world-renowned architect Ricardo Bofill, W Barcelona sets the scene for a spectacular stay. Located on the beachfront along the famous Barceloneta boardwalk. Check into one of our 473 fabulous guest rooms & suites boasting panoramic views over the Mediterranean and city of Barcelona. Mix it up and dine in style at Michelin-star rated chef Carlos Abellan's BRAVO24. Get glamorous on our 26th floor hotspot, at ECLIPSE rooftop bar, or make your way down to our signature Living Room to find WAVE & the W LOUNGE for a cocktail (or two). Take a dip at our WET pool surrounded by sun terraces, cabanas and enjoy the only beachfront access at any hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
W Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing