We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Poblenou Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #60 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place, but noisy”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I was in the Guinovart room (single), which was basic, but comfortable and included a bathroom and tea service. The hotel is located in a suburban area -Poblenou-, but only a couple of blocks away from the beach. The owner is really friendly and helpful, and I've heard her speak in several different languages.
There is no lift, so it could be difficult to go upstairs with luggage, but it's only a few steps.
The main problem is the noise coming from the hallway and the other rooms. I had a young couple in the room next to mine and their baby kept on crying all night long, so I couldn't have one single quiet night!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m_silvina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    58
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
53
89
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surfside Beach, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

O.K., being new at the "Barcelona" scene, my wife and I (in our 60's) wanted to be close enough to the city center to bus or taxi easily, but also wanted out of the madness when it came time to relax. The Poblenou B&B ended up being just what we wanted. The area of Poblenou is in itself an interesting area to explore, without the madness of the Los Rambles (sp?). Mercedes and her staff could not have been more helpful, room (ensuite), was perfect, and breakfast superb. If in the Barcelona area again we would be dissapointed if we couldn't stay here again. (Thanks again Mercedes for the assistance with our lost package.)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davedickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We spent six days in Barcelona and the downtown center was always jam-packed with people, it was good to go back to the hostel and be a little away from it all and get a good night's sleep. It was nice to be so close to the beach as well.

Mercedes and the staff were wonderful, very welcoming, kind, and helpful. The breakfast (included in room price) was very simple but delicious - fresh baguette and fruit, jams, butter, coffee/tea/or hot chocolate. New 1.5L water bottle in the room every day, and there was an electric kettle and complimentary tea selection in the room too!

(There was a common refrigerator on our floor too, which was nice.)

We had the smallest double-occupancy room. It was very cozy but well-arranged and a good size for us. And we had a comfy double bed! Even just having a double bed (instead of two twins together) is a rare enough treat to find in a budget hotel.

The bathroom was very nice, except that, as someone on this site previously mentioned, there is a bit of an unpleasant smell to the room (likely from the plumbing system?) but it's not horrendous. (It was a common smell throughout Barcelona, so it kind of just reminds me of the city.) The only other downside to this B&B is that, like most B&Bs, the doors to the bedrooms don't afford much sound protection - the doors are like that in a house.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and think the staff took great care of us, were very attentive and kind, the room was pretty and comfortable, and the location was good.

Also, there is a Xorchata place up the street on la Rambla Poblenou! It's called El Tio Che. If you haven't tried this drink, I recommend you do so at least once!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NathallieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

First of all this is the best neighborhood to stay in in Barcelona. So that said, maybe the rest of the review doesn't matter because Hostal Poblenou is one of the only places to stay in Poblenou that's affordable. Merceded and the other woman who helps her are amazing, helpful, friendly, welcoming. There was an odd man hanging around at times who did not add to the welcoming experience. That was a bit strange. The rooms look great on the website, but in real life they are a bit shabby. Our rug was smelly, but they took it out immediately when we requested that. It was summer and hot when we were there and there was a good air conditioner, but we were right near the air conditioning unit for the whole floor so that was noisy and we couldn't keep the windows open at night if we had wanted to.
But all those complaints are minor. If you don't mind a real hostal, traveler hostal vibe, this is a great place. Off the beaten path, right near the beach, good transportation into the heart of the city, free wifi. If you're looking for a slightly upscale place, this is not for you.
Don't miss sitting on the Rambla right outside your door and watching all the pensioners meet and hang out with their cute dogs. Beats the crowds at Parc Gruell.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMZinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We really enjoyed the hospitality of the owner and the location. Simple accommodations, with good taste, nice breakfast, good local restaurants nearby. The outside appearance is not as appealing, but once inside it is fine.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izumishikibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berks
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

A surprisingly quiet b&b in an apartment block with easy access to the beach and a short walk from the Metro. Comfortable bedroom, good breakfast and helpful owner. Unusually has private underground parking at Euro20 a day.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theRoyalBerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We are happy we choosed this exellent B&B during our stay at Barcelona! Hostal, Mercedes and the staff are so wonderfull. After a day at the sights it was so nice come back into this oasis :-).

Rambla del Poblenou (and surroundings) is a great place to taste some local cuisine(Raco del Taulat was the best, namnam), just take a walk around, all those small shops (also Adolfo Dominquez); not touristic at all. Just a few steps to the beach. Metro station "Poblenou" is easy to reach and use. We also took buses (bus stops are closer than metro) from time to time to go to some destinations - Mercedes gave us some great advices and very good map of public transportation.

High recommends!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank File101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
#239 of 512 in Barcelona
575 reviews
Poblenou
Travelodge Barcelona Poblenou
Travelodge Barcelona Poblenou
#309 of 512 in Barcelona
1,499 reviews
Poblenou
Lugaris Rambla
Lugaris Rambla
#64 of 722 in Barcelona
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Durlet Rambla Mar Apartments
Durlet Rambla Mar Apartments
#235 of 722 in Barcelona
12 reviews
Poblenou
Amistat Beach Hostel Barcelona
Poblenou
Homearound Exclusive Pool Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Poblenou Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Poblenou Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hostal Poblenou Bed & Breakfast
Address: Taulat, 30, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house was built in 1930 and has been completely refurbished. We’ve kept all the original elements that give it that special character and style, for example the ceiling’s heights, the coloured mosaic floors, etc… but of course, we given special care to the fact that a good rest is essential. In this sense, the rooms are cosy, the beds comfortable, and we provide eiderdowns in winter months, and fresh cotton sheets for the summer ones. To transmit a feeling of harmony, light colours predominate in all our rooms. The rooms are equipped with television, air conditioning and heating. For those travelling with their laptops we provide Wi-Fi area, but if you just want to check your e-mail, we have a shared terminal with internet connection... everything with no extra charge.The house was built in 1930 and has been completely refurbished. We’ve kept all the original elements that give it that special character and style, for example the ceiling’s heights, the coloured mosaic floors, etc… but of course, we given special care to the fact that a good rest is essential. In this sense, the rooms are cosy, the beds comfortable, and we provide eiderdowns in winter months, and fresh cotton sheets for the summer ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Poblenou Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Poblenou Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Poblenou Bed & Breakfast Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing