We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations in every way!!!!”

Spanish Trails Day Tours and Events
Book In Advance
More Info
US$120.14*
and up
Costa Brava Coast Hike from Barcelona Including Lunch
Ranked #2 of 171 Food & Drink in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Spanish Trails was born in 2001 as one of the first small group (max. 8 pers.) day tour companies and incoming travel agencies to experience the best of what Barcelona and all of Catalunya, Spain have to offer. Our year-round, regularly scheduled day tours are all-inclusive fully guided all day experiences, though guests are more than welcome to explore on their own. We cover the corners of Catalunya including the Costa Brava, Pyrenees, Girona, Montserrat and Penedes and Priorat wine regions, as well as half and full day Barcelona city tours and food & wine tours. We also specialize in customized family tours, private touring and small group events. We use comfortable touring vans and our staff are fun, experienced local guides with a deep love and knowledge of the regional history and culture. We have proudly served over 17,000 clients over the last 16 years. See you soon! The Spanish Trails team.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations in every way!!!!”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My wife and I did the day trip to Monserrat and a winery, and had an amazing day! Our group leader, Richard, picked us up right on time and whisked us out of Barcelona in a Mercedes van. During the 30-40 minute drive, he spoke with our small group of 6 about the history of Barcelona, Catalunya, and Monserrat. Upon arrival he deftly escorted us past the hordes of large tour buses so that we could avoid the long lines to see the Madonna. After touring the basilica, he gave us option of how to spend our time until the boys choir. We chose a walk further up the mountain, and were rewarded with some amazing views. Richard then got us back in the basilica with plenty of time to see the choir. After the choir we were off to lunch just down the mountain. We have done winery tours with other companies, and the lunches have always been pretty dull and basic. The meal we had was absolutely superb. Several bottles of cold mineral water, and different wines. One of the best version of pan con tomaket that we had in Barcelona. Then we had a starter plate, 2 nd plate, and a dessert. All the portions were huge, and all so good. Then on to a winery about 20 minutes away. As I have said, we have been on winery tours before with other companies, and have left not really learning all that much. I could not believe how much time they spent with us talking about the different types of wines and cava. It was so great to see every step, and just how much work goes into each bottle. The cava was great, and the wine as well. We were able to buy some at the end. A bottle of cava, bottle of red wine, and bottle of extra virgin olive oil all for just 19 euros. Finally, on the way back Richard offered to drop us off closer to our hotels than the regular meeting point. I am sure this was quite a hassle for him, but he was the one who offered and did not seem put out at all. My wife and I were so pleased with everything about the day, and feel it was worth every penny. Richard, and his guide-in-training Dan, we're both so great and made the experience all the better.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dmend05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,434
    76
    18
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
2 reviews
“A FABULOUS day - worth every penny!”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Picture this: 6 adults, 2 toddlers, and 2 babies travel to Barcelona and sign up for a day trip out to Montserrat and wine country. We were excited, but had no idea how fabulous this tour would turn out to be! To start, we had two guides, Charles and Viktor, pick us up at our apartment in Barcelona. They were ready to go with two vans, fully equipped with car seats for the little guys. We quickly realized how knowledgeable these gentlemen were as they shared their knowledge of the history, culture, and sites of the region. We enjoyed beautiful sites, delicious food, tasty wine, and friendly conversation. Perhaps the best thing Charles and Viktor did for us was to be sensitive to our needs as families traveling with kids. They just GOT it! We took breaks for snacks, they pushed and carried strollers, they ordered special food for the toddlers, etc. All of this allowed the adults to truly enjoy themselves on this FABULOUS day!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best tour group I've ever used!”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I'm 55 years old, and I've traveled extensively and have taken many tours in different parts of the world. Spanish Trails is without doubt the best tour company I've ever hired. The reviews I read prior to going to Barcelona were so good that I decided to book 2 different tours with them -- Medieval Mountain Village and Montserrat and Wine Country Tour. Both days were amazing! First, I love the fact that Spanish Trails is committed to keeping the group's very small. There were seven of us that went to the mountain village, and just five of us went to Montserrat. Second, the guides are completely committed to making the experience a magical one. For the Medieval Mountain Village, Viktor was our guide. What a trip he is! In addition to being a great guide, he is part philosopher, part historian, part economist, part social commentator, and part comedian. He also just has a tremendous lust for life that is infectious. The village of Rupit is an incredibly charming community that does give you the feel that you are going back centuries. There are a few shops there, but it did not have a touristy feel about it at all. Viktor served as a delicious breakfast of local pastries once we arrived in the village, and then we set off on our hike. The mountain scenery and the waterfall are spectacular! We also got a great workout. We hiked for at least two or three hours. Individuals considering this tour should be cautioned that the description on the website says that "The walking and hiking routes are of low-medium intensity." That's a bit misleading. The climb is relatively steep, and a person who is not in relatively good cardiovascular condition probably would struggle somewhat. I'm a runner, and all of the other members of the group were young and in great shape, but the hike might be a challenge for some. After the hike, we went for lunch at a family-run restaurant in Rupit. I expected a light lunch, but we were treated to an absolute feast with a bottomless barrel on the wine. The meal was fantastic!

Richard, who is a charming Brit with a wonderful wry sense of humor, was our guide for the next day to Montserrat. He timed everything perfectly so that we spent little time waiting in line once we got to the shrine. Visiting the monastery was a fantastic experience, and then Richard took us on a leisurely hike around different points on the mountain. The temperature was perfect, and there was barely a cloud in the sky, so the views were spectacular. We also had an opportunity to hear the boy's choir perform. We went for a great lunch in a small community at the foot of the mountain, and then we finished the day getting a personal tour by the owner of a small vineyard. The cava was wonderful, and Felix the winemaker was a very gracious host. He even let us help him finish some of the bottling.

The value you receive on the tours is pretty astounding. Especially for the Medieval Mountain Village, €95 per person seems like an extremely fair price for a great day of history, hiking, and entertainment that includes two meals. I definitely got my money's worth both days, and I would love the opportunity to explore some of their other trips if I'm ever in Barcelona again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BeantownProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Monserrat and Cava Tasting - Spanish Trails is a 5 star company!!!”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We were a group of 5 that enjoyed an amazing day trip from Barcelona with our guides Richard and Dean on 5/23/12

Richard and Dean were outstanding guides. They exceeded all of our expectations. They were very knowledgeable about the region and answered all of our questions with ease.

We learned so much about the Catalan culture.

Montserrat is breath taking. Amazing views from atop the mountain. The boys choir was a treat to hear. Lots of fun shopping.

We enjoyed a traditional Catalan lunch. It was delicious. You must try the flan!

Our tour concluded with cava tasting at Caves Felix Massana. We enjoyed an in-depth tour of the facility and explanations of the cava making process.

I would highly recommend Spanish Trails. They are easy to schedule with and the staff is customer service oriented. They go out of their way to exceed your expectations.

Let me end by saying that the previous day (5/22/12) we enjoyed a Spanish Trails Barcelona City tour that was above all expectations - simply outstanding!!

5 stars for Spanish Trails - if you book them you wont be disappointed

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Medieval Mountain Villages with Victor”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Totally amazing tour with Victor on May 24th, 2012. Can't say enough good things about him and the experience in general. We had such a good time that we tried to book another tour for the next day, foregoing our other Barcelona plans. Unfortunately, none were available at the last minute.

The hiking really isn't talked up enough on this tour. You can see some absolutely wonderful views with very easy to moderate hiking. The payoff for the effort required is unreal.

The breakfast and lunch in the village were to die for as well. So much great food.

If you are going to do anything on your Spain vacation, do THIS. We are just back from a 12 day trip to Spain, split between Madrid, Sevilla, and Barcelona, and our day trip tour with Spanish Trails was, by far, the best day of the 12. Not even close.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank wedgeeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spanish Trails Day Tours and Events also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Spanish Trails Day Tours and Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing