We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Clean and Quiet....Great Location as well”
Review of Hip Karma Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hip Karma Hostel
Ranked #173 of 723 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Really Clean and Quiet....Great Location as well”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Hip Karma Hostel was my first time staying in a hostel. I wanted to have my own experience and not what I have read or heard from other travelers.

I found it to be very clean and quiet. The room that I shared was spacious and the linens were clean. The bathrooms are shared. Clean but really small.

There's a kitchen, it seemed clean, but I didn't have a need to use it. The Lobby is small, but well lit and clean. For the over packers, there is an elevator!!

The staff was very nice. The Manager was very friendly and offered suggestions as to where to go and what to do. I found his suggestions to be useful.

I went on the free walking tour that stops by the Hostel. It was a really good tour. It goes to the Old section of Barcelona, Las Ramblas, and ends close to the beach. The tour was extensive and well narrated. It does not go by La Sagrada Familia though, so don't expect it. Do The Tour!!!

The Hostel is perfectly located between Las Ramblas and La Sagrada Familia. It took about 20 minutes to walk to La Sagrada and 10-15 to walk to Las Ramblas. I felt very safe, it's also really close to the Placa de Catalunya. I took the bus from the airport and walked to the Hostel from that square, about an 11 minute walk. There is a fork in the road about 5 minutes into the walk, stick to the right of the fork, I found it to be a bit confusing at first (maybe, it's just me).

I was able to leave my bag overnight at no charge as I went another city for 2 days and didn't want to have to lug all my things around.

All in all, I was happy with my stay. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The less people in your room the better!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    37
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
1
8
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

I got my phone, iPod, makeup mirror and a shampoo stolen at the same time. Who is that desperate to steal bottle of shampoo laying on my bed? And paying for bed sheets?? This is ridiculous! They don't ID strangers anybody can get in and the rooms have no locks. The cleaning ladies seem suspicious. They also bring kids with them every time they get to work. They hang in the kitchen waiting for them to be done. Strange at least.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrisha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I liked this hostel very much. It is pretty well located and great for low budget travellers. Good attention.
Just one thing: too much noise!! The personel doesn't seems to respect that there are people sleeping in the mornings and they enter into the rooms all the time.

Very clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I booked this last minute as i wanted a cheep break this summer and love Barcelona. The Hostel was clean and tidy with a well equipped kitchen if you wanted to cook. You can rent sheets and a towel so you dont have to pack sleeping bag and towel. House rules were quite strict, but you dont spend much time there if you are sightseeing! I ended up on a top bunk which was a bit tricky to get in and out of, and as there was no where in the beds to put stuff i had to keep my phone etc in my pillow case so it didn't fall out and smash on the tiled floor... i would recommend trying to book a bottom bunk if you can.
Close metro station, only 10 mins away from Las Rambles and bus tours and Gaudi houses. Perfect position. Just a shame you cant account for the other guests who sadly in my dorm room didn't respect noise levels or lights out! Take an eye mask and ear plugs and you'll be fine though!

Room Tip: If you dont want to fight your way into a top bunk try to request a bottom one when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Great place to stay. Close to everything you need to be and there is a Metro stop a few 100m from them.
The bathroom is clean, friendly staff and kitchen area that is clean and for all to use.
If you are wanting a hostel where there is a bar and no rules, this isn't the one. But the system works and makes it enjoyable for everyone.
I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Nuschka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spb
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Thanks a lot for 4 days in this hostel, reception works all day and all night, location is very good - only 5 minutes from catalunia square! Shower is good, for extra pay you can take towel and a lock. Will recommended this hostel to my friends!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikheevaksenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel
Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel
#68 of 723 in Barcelona
118 reviews
Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
#123 of 723 in Barcelona
296 reviews
Eixample
Don Moustache Hostel
Don Moustache Hostel
#102 of 723 in Barcelona
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Itaca Hostel
Itaca Hostel
#30 of 723 in Barcelona
415 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona
Les Corts
Dream Cube Hostel
Dream Cube Hostel
#141 of 723 in Barcelona
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hip Karma Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hip Karma Hostel

Property: Hip Karma Hostel
Address: Ronda de Sant Pere #39, Principal -2a, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 723 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hip Karma Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hip Karma Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hip Karma Hotel Barcelona
Hip Karma Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing