We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very noisy, and no hot water in the mornings” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Praktik Rambla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Ranked #68 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very noisy, and no hot water in the mornings”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

The hotel is nice looking and the rooms were clean, but...

Its very noisy on a night (take ear plugs).

The water is solar heated, so cold showers in the morning - this may be better in high summer, but we had 4 days of cold showers - apparently this is a problem they have been meaning to resolve for some time....manyana?

No TV reception, didn't bother us much, but if your paying €170 a night you expect it to work.

Wifi is free, but you can only register one device per room.

Its fairly difficult to find as it only has its name printed on one side of a rather tatty looking yellow canvas awning.

On the whole very poor value for money.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Simon S

I am sorry to hear all those problems you had during your stay and I would like to apologise for the inconvenience.

All our rooms are soundproof and if you had any trouble with noise coming from another guests ( depending on the noise is not posible to avoid it ) you have 24 hrs reception so they can calm them down. If this was not your case, I would thank if you could inform me about the room number you were in to check it out.

We have a few international channels and local ones in the TV and I didn't see any note from the reception that any guest complain about the channels.

Also wifi is free for every device you have, no matter how many per room.

About the hot water, there is no excuse, we were experiencing small problems that were already solved not affecting to our guests, but as I see you were the only one who had this trouble, I apologise for that.

I am sorry again for all the troubles you had and I hope you could give us another chance in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    654
    126
    29
    16
See reviews for
377
878
120
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

On arival we were made to feel very welcome by the receptionist.We were given a upgrade to our room free of charge,to a superior room,that was great.I can't comment on a standard room we never got to see one.The breakfast was next door in a seperate restaurant .The breakfast

was disapointing.The hotel is in a ideal location 5 minute walk from the main square.
Taxi from airport is expensive,Take the bus easy and cheap.Easy Jet departures from terminal
2 are not from the main terminal they are a short walk to the left of the terminal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrison056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Harrison056

Let me thank you for taking your time to write the review.

I am sorry to hear you were disapointed by our breakfast. As it is new that we are offering a buffet, we still are learning from all our guest comments to improve our service.

I hope in your next stay you will be able to notice we improve our service at the restaurant.

Thank you and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We were thrilled with our stay at Hotel Praktik and would highly recommend it. The location was great, nearby the metro and right up the street from the plaza and La Rambla. The staff was very friendly, room was clean and comfortable, and we were granted our request for a street view room, which was a perfect location to watch all of the goings on on the street below, adding to the overall experience of Spain. The price was perfect and I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Amy K

Thank you for such a nice review. I am glad we were able to make posible your request of the street view in one of our superior rooms. We always depen on availability to satisfy everybody.

We will be happy to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I was disappointed with our stay at Hotel Praktik Rambla especially after researching TA and other websites and reading good reviews. To sum it up, a very small dark room, (standard room only has a bed, TV, shower, sink and toilet) noisy interior surroundings and not even the basic services of a 3 star hotel. I’ve rated this hotel average as a poor rating is too harsh but in reality it is somewhere in between. Maybe at best average for a 2 star hotel.

This was our second trip to Barcelona in the last two years and my wife and I were very excited to spend more time in this wonderful city, especially La Rambla district, a very lively area with many good restaurants and close to the "must see" attractions of Barcelona. Hotel Praktik is located in this bustling area and that really is where the positives end.

Cons: No closet and a very limited place to hang clothes in the standard room, terrible room lighting, not even a chair or table and no place to place your luggage except on the limited floor space. We were there four nights and everyday housekeeping recycled our allotted two drinking glasses in our bathroom. Really, the same two dirty glasses all four days! We had to wash the glasses ourselves. After our first night we hung one bath towel on one of the hooks (no towel bars here) and dropped the other bath towel and two hand towels on the floor expecting 3 fresh towels. Housekeeping picked up the dirty towels, hung all four of them on the hooks. The next night we were provided only one towel for the entire room. The walls and ceiling are paper thin as you can hear every footstep above you, hear every toilet flush, shower run and hear everyone walking down the hardwood hallway. There is absolutely nothing available as far as food or drink on the premises. You want ice? I was told "We have no ice machine" You are sent to the restaurant next door... Not even a cup of instant coffee in the building. Not even a clock in the room. Our second day (Thursday) we arrived back at the hotel at 5:30PM after a long day of excursions only to find housekeeping had not made up the room. They said they had been busy that day. Hate to see what happens a busy weekend during high season! Do not accept ... repeat, do not accept a room on the 1st floor around the "lounge area and terrace". Unless you smoke (the hallway reeked of cigarettes) and/or plan to party until 5AM, this is not the area you want your room. As a side note we noticed some very interesting “guests?” hanging out in the lounge area still partying at 6:30AM the Sunday morning we were leaving to catch our plane.

Pros: Great location, free wi-fi, moderate room rates (but you'll get what you pay for)

I will not be returning or recommending this hotel. My suggestion is to go directly across the street, pay the extra 25-30 Euros per night at the NH Calderon (a truly nice hotel from previous experience) and enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Stay off the first room floor away from lounge and terrace area. Standard rooms are very small minim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steveo145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Steveo145

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay at the Praktik Rambla Hotel.

I would like to appologise for all the inconveniences you had in your stay with us. I will investigate what happen with your drinking glasses and with the towels you mentioned. We replace the towels and sheets every two days and in case they are dirty or you want to replace them.

We offer limited services as we announce in our website, which means we don't have minibar, or ice machines, or tea/coffe facilities in the hotel, and one of the reasons is because we are surrounded by plenty of restaurants to provide that service for us, this makes posible to offer to all our guests more affordable rates to stay in the center of Barcelona than the rest of hotels around.

All our rooms are sound-proof but in case there were guests making noise we have 24 hours service so you could hace contacted the reception and we would have acted right away.

Sorry again for the inconveniences and we hope you give us another oportunity to prove we are the best hotel in the area.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I can't say enough about the wonderful front desk service at this hotel-- just about the most helpful staff I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: Single rooms are really small, even for one person. Get a double room if you can, even if traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 685Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear 685Michael

I will transmit your review to all our staff. Thank you for choosing us for your stay at the Praktik Rambla Hotel and for taking the time to write about it.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

It was our first time in Barcelona and we were advised to stay on Las Ramblas. We accidently booked this hotel which was at the end of Ramblas and I couldn't be happier with my location. It is minutes away from Ramblas but has better restaurants around. The area was very lively even in the late hours of the night. And the Tapas bar across the street is a MUST GO!
The hotel itself was very nice. It was clean and very trendy. There is not alot of extra space in the room but it is just enough! And the staff was super friendly! Everyone spoke English and gave us a lot of helpful tips. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nazish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
praktikrambla, Director General at Hotel Praktik Rambla, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Nazish H

Thank you for your nice review. We like our job and that is why we are delighted helping all our guests in giving tips, secret places of Barcelona and in everything our guests need.

I look forward to see you again with us in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#58 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Bakery
Hotel Praktik Bakery
#78 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#74 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#40 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#87 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#41 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praktik Rambla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praktik Rambla

Property: Hotel Praktik Rambla
Address: Rambla de Catalunya 27, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#55 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#126 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Praktik Rambla 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praktik Rambla embodies a new boutique hotel concept, an excellent combination of exquisite design, chic comfort, authentic local architecture and the best possible location, all at a low price. A unique place, square in the middle of the Example district, where you will find everything you're looking for in Barcelona, at a modest cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Praktik Rambla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Praktik Rambla Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing