We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Ranked #251 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 13 April 2014

One of the best hotels that we have stayed at in Spain.

This hotel is perfectly located for all of the main attractions in the city which is a definite benefit. However in addition the overall standard of this hotel is very good and is very comfortable to return to after walking around the city.

Our room had a balcony looking over the main street so we did have some traffic noise but we really enjoyed being able to see everything that was going on outside and we were very happy in that room.

The staff are very friendly and helpful especially Jose (?) on reception, and also the lady who was in charge of the breakfast buffet who was always very welcoming whenever she saw you and made you feel more that just another guest.

I enjoyed the buffet breakfast and felt that there was plenty of choice and I chose to eat there each morning of our five day stay.

I will return to this hotel and will recommend it to other family and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

My wife and myself stayed at this hotel lately (from 06-April till 10 April). Hotel location was excellent, close to the beach (aquarium, huge shopping mall and off course near the Ramblas street - 15 minutes walk away). Beds were comfy and so was the room. Cleaned on a daily basis. We did not find the Shower and Bath Gel at the beginning till the maid showed us the drawer underneath the sink in the bathroom, with a hair dryer located inside. Not much to see on the television but you did not come to Barcelona for that, correct? The breakfast is very basic and has a lot of cold plates, not many vegetables at all. Dining room staff was excellent and we really enjoyed NURIA who was in charge of the service during breakfast, she lightened our day. Metro Underground is felt while you are in the room, so don't be afraid when you feel a small earthquake. Metro is the best way to move and the closest station is 10 minutes or less after taking left when leaving the hotel. Gothic cathedral is close by and so adjacent streets to the Ramblas. Enjoy.

Room Tip: We received at the beginning a room at the back of the hotel, we insisted on having a room facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLMayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I read some of the reviews for this hotel prior to booking, as I was mainly looking for somewhere that had easy access to places of interest, and this proved to be the right place !! However, when we landed, and retrieved our cases, it was a little confusing as to where to go, and who to see for our hotel transfer, so after what seemed like forever, it was sorted, it was a shared transfer,which was no problem. However, we were dropped off, on the street that the hotel was situated, but not given any advice on the whereabouts of the hotel, so were left to our own devices, fortunately we guessed the right direction, and trudged about 200yds to the hotel.
When this booking was made, I made a request for an upper floor with a view, we got a lower floor, and a brick wall !! On day two, we requested a change of room, which was arranged, and we were moved to an upper floor, with balcony and view over the main street, much better !!
The breakfast provided is a basic continental buffet style, not much to say about that really, it was ok.
The Hotel is either on top of or very close to the Metro underground rail system, so around every five minutes or so the building feels/sounds like it is subject to the rumblings of a minor earthquake, I guess if you're stay is for any length of time you'd probably get used to it !!
Would I stay at this particular hotel again, probably not. Would I recommend other to stay, Yes, but purely for the location, and access to places of interest, most of which are within walking distance, if you don't mind having a bit of a stroll !!

Room Tip: Rooms are clean, fresh towels provided daily if needed, beds are comfortable, buffet ok, staff as he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELIA B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Colonial Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear client,
We are grateful for your opinion and wait to be able to return to meet very prompt in our hotel.
We take note of your comments
Best Regards
Elia Buen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here in March and had a great time. The hotel is in a great location near to all the key sites. The staff were very helpful and friendly especially Jose on reception. We ventured down the lanes and had some great meals and lots of sangria.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELIA B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Colonial Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014
Google Translation

Aprecidos clientes,
Primero de todo darles las gracias por tomarse la molestia en exponer su opinión en este medio.
Estamos encantados de que su estancia fuera de maravilla, ese es nuestro principal objetivo. Paso a felicitar en su nombre al personal del hotel Barcelona Colonial.
Estaremos encantados de que nos visiten en el futuro.
Saludos cordiales
Elia Buen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great location. We booked six months in advance so when we arrived I was not happy when they had no double room for us we were offered a room with twin beds so when I said no, we were given another room which was on the ground floor. When we went in it was a disabled room to which I was not happy about it was extremely dark not much natural light & lighting was terrible. The bathroom was huge with hand rails etc.... adapted for a disable people.(Idea for any one needing this facility) The safe situated side ways in the wardrobe extremely difficult to use for a able bodied person impossible for a disabled person. The room was depressing. although the beautifully decorated & lovely bedding. We asked to be moved again we were only offered the twin bedded room. It was agreed that we get a room changed the next day. The next morning we were shown another room although was not ready for us as other guests had just checked out we were able to leave our cases in there & use the safe. It would be ready in a couple of hours. Which it was & cleaned every day & kept nice. This room was again beautifully decorated & lovely bedding. It was compact with everything you needed. We were 6 floors up lovely sunny room light & airy. Being at the back of the hotel no noise, lovely Juliet balcony. The view was of the roof tops. We found the fridge really useful as we could use it for wine & beer etc...( Carre four on the La Ramblas very reasonable) We always take our own travel kettle as no tea & coffee facilities which is normal in Europe. The staff were friendly & polite. The breakfast continental of which you would except which was fine, we are not huge breakfast eaters self services so you could as much as you wanted. I was concerned when I read some of the reviews but I had no need to worry. I would stay again & would recommend. You can get a Aerobus from the airport which cost 5.90 euros per person or 10 euros return you stay on till the last stop Placa Catalunya takes less than 35 minutes & is about every 10 minutes then either walk to hotel about 1km the road name you need is Fontanella then Via laietana ( just make sure you have a map) or jump in taxi. Really easy & cheaper than a taxi from the airport which would be 35- 40 euros each way. Hop on hop off bus ideal way to see the city,27 euros for one day & two day pass 35 euros. Guell Parc is amazing. plenty to see & do.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel you don't get traffic noise & 6 floor or higher will be li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaribbeanGirlRedcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELIA B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Colonial Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear client,
We are sorry that at the arrival to the hotel you had some problems. We are happy that ultimately everything was solved and your stay was positive. We thank you for recommending our hotel. We take note of all your advices. We wait to meet again in our hotel.
Best regards
Elia Buen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

The rooms are very nice and clean. The location is great! 7 min walk to la rambla close to the cathedral and to the aquirium. Stuff are very friendly.breakfast is continental but nice. Highly recommended hotel!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Omriyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELIA B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Colonial Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear client,
We are charmed with reading opinions as yours. It is a pleasure to take clients as you. Thank you for writing this opinion in this way. We wait for you in another occasion.
Best regards
Elia Buen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

After reading various poor reviews was worried!! Pleasantly surprised we were in a room on the fourth floor which was very clean and quiet, as it was away from the main road and therefore not a great view out of the window!
As we were aware we knew there were no tea and coffee facilities in the room so we went prepared with our travel kettle and produces except milk which we picked up from the shop very near by.
We found the shampoo/bath gels and soaps in the drawer in the bathroom where hairdryer is also kept and found these to be replenished daily.
The breakfast is continental which is what I would expect for a European hotel. For us Brits!! we alternatively just had one of the choice of 3 breakfast cereals then followed by toast. You make your own which is great as its hot! Followed by good choice of flavours of yoghurt and then fruit. The drinks machine was good for allowing a choice of drinks plus you could get just hot water and then choose from the other variety of teas and coffee sachets in the basket on the side. There was also croissants and small muffins. The breakfast juices are not fresh juices and are more like cordials but there was available chilled bottles of water.

We stayed here for 4 nights and got to the hotel by taxi which cost 37 euros (3 of us) but took the aerobus back to the airport which cost 6euro each. I would not hesitate in recommending this service as it is a 15 min walk to Placa Cataluyna and easy to find and a very good service.
We found the staff to be friendly and did not encounter any problems.
The situation of the hotel is great for walking to a lot of the attractions so we did not need the use of the metro. Though we did use the tourist bus to get to Barcelona Fc and Sagrada Familia. The views from the open top deck to Montjuic are amazing with stops at various points to soak up the views on a nice clear day.
We would not hesitate to return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELIA B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Colonial Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear sirs,
Thank you for your opinion. We are very satisfied of having obtained your aims. We take note of your comments on the breakfast buffet to be able to improve.
Best regards
Elia Buen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Gotico
Hotel Gotico
#305 of 517 in Barcelona
107 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
#297 of 517 in Barcelona
491 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Medinaceli
Hotel Medinaceli
#310 of 517 in Barcelona
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
#112 of 517 in Barcelona
807 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#63 of 517 in Barcelona
2,144 reviews
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#222 of 517 in Barcelona
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial Barcelona

Address: Via Laietana, 3, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#119 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#161 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £44 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colonial Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelona Colonial Hotel in the Centre of the city of Barcelona, is the ideal place to navigate the city. It is an impressive stone colonial building located in the Gothic quarter. It is very close to the most important places of interest of the city, such as the Cathedral of Barcelona and the beach of Barceloneta, and very well connected by public transport. The Hotel Colonial Barcelona, next to the Town Hall and the Picasso Museum in Barcelona, is very well connected to the main attractions of Barcelona, by bus and subway. The nearest beaches, such as la Barceloneta, are very close to the hotel, just a 10-minute walk away, as the Cathedral. It is also within walking distance of Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya and the Paseo Maritimo. In a historic building of Barcelona and very near the most important monuments of Barcelona, the Barcelona Colonial Hotel has 81 rooms soundproofed, bright and comfortable wooden floors. Pets are allowed All rooms have air conditioning, heating, TV flat and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. We offer you different types of rooms, all of them equipped with all the comforts and complete ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colonial Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colonial Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing