We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mickm
Galway, Ireland

Few days in Barcelona!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Mar 2024via mobile
We spent 4 nights here. Absolute fabulous hotel. Very well located. Brilliant staff from the front of house to Muriel in the bar. All very friendly and helpful. Rooms modern and clean. Breakfast lovely.
Would definitely stay here again. Brilliant for exploring Barcelona
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carmen M Customer Service, Other at Hotel Colonial Barcelona, responded to this review
Responded 8 Mar 2024
Dear glasshalffull2021
Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We're thrilled to hear that you had a fabulous stay with us and that you found our hotel to be well-located with modern and clean rooms. It's wonderful to know that our staff, especially Muriel, left a positive impression with their friendliness and helpfulness. We appreciate your kind words and recommendation, and we can't wait to welcome you back for another brilliant stay.
Best regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£147
  • Expedia.com
    £152
  • Skyscanner.com
    £134
  • Hotels.com
    £153
0.6 miles from Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Free Wifi
Pool
£233
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £233
  • Skyscanner.com
    £205
  • Expedia.com
    £233
0.8 miles from Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Pool
Room service
£150
  • Expedia.com
    £175
  • Agoda.com
    £134
  • Hotels.com
    £175
0.4 miles from Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Free Wifi
£115
  • ibis Styles
    £114
  • StayForLong
    £109
  • Expedia.com
    £114
1.1 miles from Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Free Wifi
Pool
£145
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £145
  • Agoda.com
    £119
  • Hotels.com
    £145
1.6 miles from Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Free Wifi
Pool
Salón
£176
  • Vio.com
    £120
  • Expedia.com
    £129
  • Hotels.com
    £177
1.5 miles from Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Lights of Gracia Bar & Restaurant at Generator Barcelona
£114
  • Expedia.com
    £126
  • Vio.com
    £73
  • Official Site
    £73
1.5 miles from Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£181
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £181
  • Vio.com
    £55
  • Priceline
    £195
1.0 miles from Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Bar/Lounge
£405
  • Official website
    £335
  • Skyscanner.com
    £335
  • StayForLong
    £383
0.4 miles from Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £80
  • Agoda.com
    £74
  • Expedia.com
    £90
1.6 miles from Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Barcelona
Reviews (1,107)
Filter reviews
1,107 results
Traveller rating
321
455
209
62
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
321
455
209
62
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gothic quarter great location vending machine the hotel staff tea and coffee minute walk bars and restaurants would highly recommend this hotel tapas balcony metro city hairdryer cruise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,107 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2024

Really comfortable beds but bring ear plugs, there's noise from the street at weekends, though if you want to be in the heart of things.... A wonderful helpful reception team and a useful bar with sofas when you get back from an evening out. Any hotel that offers bubbly for breakfast gets my vote! I'd stay here again purely for the lovely service.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Guide708680
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carmen M Customer Service, Other at Hotel Colonial Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024


Dear Guide708680

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We're glad to hear that you found our central location comfortable and welcoming.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by street noise. Next time you visit us, you can request an interior room where tranquility is guaranteed. We understand the importance of rest during your stay.

We're pleased that you found our reception team helpful and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of our bar after a night out. We strive to provide exceptional service to our guests, and your kind words mean a lot to us.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed our special touch of offering champagne for breakfast. We're delighted to have made a positive impression on you and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Carmen M.
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2024

Horrible customer service. Old hotel in need of repair. The smell in the room was terrible and the noise from the street made the whole stay even worse. I asked for the hotel to accommodate a change in my reservation and they refused referring me to their non-refundable booking policies. Not a great location for the hotel. I recommend you stay elsewhere.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank antonsR2438LQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Norma A Customer Service, Otros at Hotel Colonial Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

Dear Sir/Madam, We are very surprised by your opinion, since our hotel retains the old façade but is completely updated inside and we have not recently heard of any complaints about odor, or request for a refund. By not indicating your reservation number or name and surname, we cannot address this comment from any other perspective since, as you know, the opinions are not verified. Receive kind regards, Norma A., Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2024 via mobile

Beautiful hotel that’s perfectly located.

Metro stop nearby.

Breakfast is plentiful and lots of choice for everyone.

Rooms clean, spacious and beds really, really comfortable.

My husband booked this hotel for my 50th birthday present & I was very impressed, especially as he had arranged a lovely bottle of Cava & chocolates for our arrival.

Perfect hotel for a perfect break, would 100% recommend.

Room tip: But a 48 hour Barcelona city tour ticket Make sure you book tickets for places you want to visit before you go as places are often sold out
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MrsWhitty74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Norma A Customer Service, Otros at Hotel Colonial Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

Dear Madam, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are excited to know that he had an excellent experience celebrating his 50th birthday at our hotel. His satisfaction is our goal, and we hope to welcome him again. Best regards, Norma A., Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2024 via mobile

Really enjoyable stay, room was ready at midday, check in was easy and helpful city maps were also provided free of charge. The room was very clean, spacious and well-equipped. The in-room safe is free to use, just obtain a key at reception. Breakfast was good, wide selection of hot and cold options. Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel is conveniently situated within 10-15 mins walk of Las Ramblas and tourist bus stops in addition to the Metro. Would definitely recommend this hotel!!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Borborygmi2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Norma A Customer Service, Otros at Hotel Colonial Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2024

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review and all your positive detailed comments about our hotel. We especially thank you for recommending us. Sincerely, Norma A., Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2024 via mobile

Nice hotel in the heart of Barcelona. Comfortable room, clean, friendly staff, and huge breakfast buffet. Easy walking distance to many of the city sites. La Sagrada Familia is just a short metro ride away (L4).

One negative note: Did not like the pillows. Someone else commented on these and I agree. The hotel should invest in better pillows. These are flat.

Recommended.

Room tip: Need to get a key for the room safe from reception. It does not work electronically.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cscampbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Norma A Customer Service, Otros at Hotel Colonial Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2024

Dintinguished guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate you positively highlighting the room's comfort, cleanliness, staff friendliness, and our breakfasts. We are glad that you found our central location convenient. Regarding the pillows, although they are of good quality, we understand that personal preferences for thickness vary from person to person. That's why we offer a variety of pillows, and we would have appreciated it if you had mentioned it at the Reception during your stay so that we could have provided you with the ones that best suited your preferences until the height matched your liking. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Thank you very much for recommending our hotel. Warm regards, Norma A., Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews