We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So quiet, so lovely, right in the heart of the gothic quarter of Barcelona”
Review of Catalonia Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Catedral
Ranked #33 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So quiet, so lovely, right in the heart of the gothic quarter of Barcelona”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We upgraded our room and it was just perfect. A perfect night's sleep and then a cooling dip in the pool on the rooftop before a day exploring wonderful Barcelona. Friendly, helpful hotel staff and about 50m from the lovely Sardana dancing in the cathedral square.

Room Tip: Room upgrade was terrific, very worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksaf1033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    401
    51
    11
    8
See reviews for
283
677
45
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed here as a family of 5 over the Spring Break holiday. Great location to explore Barcelona...around the corner from the Catedral, easy to get to the bus or metro, and lots of restaurants, coffee houses nearby (Starbuck's less than 5 minutes). You are right in the heart of the Gothic Quarter. Barcelona is a very spread out city so expect to use some type of public transportation or the hop on/off buses. The staff was okay, not much English sometimes. The rooms were modern, clean and very spacious for the center of a European city. We didn't eat at the restaurant, instead we did some cafes that were right around the corner for breakfast. Would definately recommend for stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cacollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The location was great near the gothic quarter and an easy walk to the airport buses or train. The staff were very friendly although communicating in English wasn't always easy. They willingly booked a restaurant for us.Our room unfortunately was very noisy through the night and the bathroom was in need of help with stained tiles in the shower and great gaps in the door frame. However the hotel changed our room to a superior on the the next night which was very quiet and comfortable so we slept well and had a recently refurbished bathroom which was very nice.Overall bar the first night a lovely stay.We ate breakfst at a small bar just up from the hotel which was very cheap and had excellent coffee and pastries.
One word of warning is that we were pickpocketed in the main street, 2 mins from the hotel!

Room Tip: Avoid room 108
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judithvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Hotel booked following accurate trip advisor reviews. Ideal for the Aerobus, shopping (Las Ramblas), gothic quarter, seafront and restaurants/bars. A modern hotel - staff try hard and are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are modern, well equipped and very clean. The air-con was efficient. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and with blackout curtains was the best night's sleep I've had in a hotel in a long time.
Having said that I was on the third floor, friends on the first floor had a music interrupted night from outside the hotel. I didn't eat in the restaurant as I thought it was too expensive. (loads of breakfast/food places within a couple of minutes walk). Book early for better rates. Room rates are expensive but on a par with Barcelona prices. The bathroom was well appointed but had one of those trendy frosted glass doors - if you put the light on in the bathroom in the middle of the night it's just like daylight. Overall enjoyed this hotel - recommended.

Room Tip: Book a room on one of the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deepdiver52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This is my third trip to Barcelona and the hotel is the best I've stayed in within the City.
Great location - right next to the old Cathedral and in the heart of the Gothic Quarter (Old Town) for all the tapas bars and great authentic restaurants. Just a few minutes walk from Placa de Catalunya (take the bus from the airport to here - A1 or A2 depending upon the terminal) so easy to get to and easy to get around from.
We had a twin room with a view over the central courtyard. The room was spotless, beds were clean and comfortable and good facilities - mini bar, air conditioning, safe, nice shower over the bath with plenty of towels and toiletries.
On the downside - you could hear anyone on the whole floor shut a room door and it reverberated throughout the room! The hotel receptionist wasn't very friendly but efficient and helpful when required.
Helpful hint - ask at the bar for fresh milk for your in-room tea and coffee facilities and don't drink from the hotel bar - it's pretty expensive - especially when you have a lovely tapas bar just left out of the hotel with lovely wine!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italiagirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We took an express bus from the airport that dropped us off at Plaça Catalunya in the Gothic Quarter. From the bus stop the hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk if you know where you're going, but we meandered about a bit at first and realized immediately that we'd picked a great location to stay! The hotel is around the corner from Barcelona cathedral and its plaza where you can sit outside, order a drink, and just watch people walk by. It's only a five minute walk to Las Ramblas without being in the middle of that tree lined avenue's bruhaha... Near lots of good restaurants, tapas bars, & bakeries beloved by Chowhound followers like me, the hotel is modern and minimalist w/o being stark - somewhere between hipster and young urban professional, though we noticed many guests from different well-heeled age groups . The room was large and opened out into our own outdoor seating area with direct access to the rooftop pool. Bathrobes, slippers and enough toiletries for two. I think we might have been upgraded so THANK YOU if you are reading this. Helpful, professional & friendly staff at reception who helped us check in quickly; provided us accurate directions to sights; and even print out boarding passes around midnight on our departure date. We ordered room service one night and it arrived quickly. The bar was quiet both nights but we were there midweek so can't speak to its atmosphere during the weekend. We watched Barcelona/Chelsea match at a local restaurant/tapas bar - apart from the game's deeply disappointing outcome the experience was incredible around local fans (as it always is!) - I'd recommend doing this over a hotel bar any day. Did I mention the complimentary large bottle of water and Oreo cookies everyday??? I'd love to stay here again. We picked this hotel over the ALMA and Grand Palace in Eixample (ill wait till I'm 50) which are by all accounts stellar hotels but Eixample just isn't as interesting a neighborhood for first time BCN visitors.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SterlingFamilyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
397 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#46 of 513 in Barcelona
1,941 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#61 of 513 in Barcelona
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#36 of 513 in Barcelona
2,051 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#18 of 513 in Barcelona
629 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Catedral

Property: Catalonia Catedral
Address: C/ dels Arcs, 10, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enovated modernist building, Catalonia Catedral Hotel is located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona.The hotel is by the Cathedral, Plaça Sant Jaume and the unavoidable Portal de l’Àngel. After a day of shopping, cultural visits or just walk down city enjoys a drink in the lobby bar or the international cuisine in the warm Restaurant or just rest of the bustle of the downtown without leaving it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Catedral Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing