We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, excellent location”
Review of Catalonia Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Catalonia Catedral
Ranked #37 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, excellent location”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel is in a great location for all the sightseeing, and I have never come across such kind and accommodating staff. Alex at reception gave us great restaurant recommendations, we went to all the places he suggested and they were fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raffysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    404
    52
    12
    8
See reviews for
288
683
45
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had 6 days here in November and had a pleasant stay.
It is located very close to the Catedral which means there is a lot of pedestrian traffic all day and also at night.. Our room was okay, clean tidy and fresh but we had a problem with the window which closed but would not seal. This let noise around it and into the room, keeping us awake with bar noise and bin lorries at strange times. We spoke to reception who moved us to a superior room on the front of the hotel. This had a balcony and a little more space but all other aspects appeared the same. The doors to the patio did not shut properly and we had another noisy night. We spoke to reception who came up and with brute force it was shut. Apparently they have to be shut as it is law, the balconies are not safe all around the city so you are not allowed to use them....bizarre.
We could still here traffic - mainly bin lorries and the wheels of cases along the pavement but it was an improvement. It would have been much more pleasant had we been able to get fresh air into the room in the day but we had to rely on a slightly noisy air con system.
The hotel did not appear very busy as it was just out of season. All aspects of it are very modern from the glass lifts to the bedrooms which are functional and a little sterile. The bathrooms were well equipped but the piece de resistance was the bed. Fantastic, it was very very comfortable .
We were on B & B which consisted of a buffet of meats, cheeses, fruits, breads etc , plentiful in choice and reasonable quality. The disappointment was the hot plates, which weren't hot.
They had a section for bacon, scrambled, fried eggs, mushrooms, omelettes and more under a canopy that was warm ish . The food wasn't warm, I suspect this is a Spanish thing in that they do not keep it piping hot like we do in the UK. This spoilt it somewhat. On the last day we were in early at 720 albeit a little reluctantly as they open at 730. The hot foods were already out , going cold. I had some eggs which were already going past their best. Maybe this needs attention.
Other than that the staff were very helpful, especially Victor and Alex, thanks for your help with our window issues !! It is in a very central location so walking and metro close at hand.
It was certainly worth the money and overall we were more than happy but tripadvisor doesn't have a rating between average and very good, 3.5 stars from us.

Room Tip: One with a window that seals !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate the time taken to write your comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. We take into consideration your review to work in those aspects that need to be changed.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, for giving us another chance to exceed your highest expectations.
Yours faithfully,
R.Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed for a weekend, very happy with the hotell. Great lokation close to the cathedral and gothic area. Good brakfest, very good coffee. Clean and fresh room. Nothing to complain about the service. in 2 minutes they have reemade our bed from two big singles to 1 large doubble. Spoke good english.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank eljott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

hotel is located in the heart of the city. Staff were nice and helpfull. The only weak point to me was that the room was a little smaller than what I expected and room air conditioner had a strange noise and we had problem while slipping.

Room Tip: Rooms with street view are better. Better check room size as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohsen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks you for your comment. We really appreciate, and hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.
Best regards,
R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We could not have asked to stay at a more perfect location than the Catalonia Catedral to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary. The area was thriving with shoppers and visitors to the cathedral and wine tasting event that took place whilst we were there on the 19th and 20th October. Transport links to the airport were onlg 5 minutes walk. We received a warm welcome from Victor and desk staff who were happy to advise us on places to visit. We were even given extra time in our room as we had a late night flight which gave us time to relax and enjoy our anniversary meal. The room was spotless and contemporary as we like. We were too busy shopping and walking down to the port to enjoy the roof top swimming pool. Maybe next time. We will definitely return and recommend to friends. Mr and Mrs Owen

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shar0n2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at the Catalonia Catedral for two nights after our cruise ended in Barcelona in October 2013. We stayed in one of the superior rooms with a terrace. The room was pretty large by European standards. Our bathroom was huge and very nicely appointed. The terrace was a nice plus and had a door that opened out to the pool deck for the hotel. We were extremely pleased that our room was ready for us early when we arrived at the hotel around 10 AM. We found the location of this hotel to be terrific. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Almagetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed there for four nights. The Hotel is literally on the cathedral square, extremely central. The airconditioning and climate control (and yes, you needed this in late October, as the weather was in the humid high eighties...) worked perfectly, even when out of the room, as it was not controlled by the keycard but operates independently. Great travertine bathrooms. Everything was extremely clean. The front desk staff were very helpful, but it is the genuine warmth and friendliness of the staff that impressed me most. Maids you meet in the corridor literally light up when they greet you. wow.
I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone. Drawbacks are the somewhat "stylish" decor, which I, as a design professional found not to my personal taste, but this will differ for everyone and it is certainly not in obtrusively bad taste...just a little too exuberantly designed at times... .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbbln8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#10 of 512 in Barcelona
428 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#46 of 512 in Barcelona
1,974 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#66 of 512 in Barcelona
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#35 of 512 in Barcelona
2,069 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 512 in Barcelona
891 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#20 of 512 in Barcelona
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Catedral

Property: Catalonia Catedral
Address: C/ dels Arcs, 10, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enovated modernist building, Catalonia Catedral Hotel is located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona.The hotel is by the Cathedral, Plaça Sant Jaume and the unavoidable Portal de l’Àngel. After a day of shopping, cultural visits or just walk down city enjoys a drink in the lobby bar or the international cuisine in the warm Restaurant or just rest of the bustle of the downtown without leaving it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Catedral Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing