We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalonia Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Catalonia Catedral
Ranked #36 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Great location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

I went to Barcelona on a business trip and decided to spend one more night there to do some sightseeing and enjoy the great restaurants. The Catalonia Catedral hotel seemed to be very well situated for that and indeed, it was right at the heart of it.

It was located in a pedestrian zone very close to the Catedral, so no noisy traffic. But some taxis managed to get there to drop of the luggage. The double room was spacious with a large bathroom and very clean. Service was very friendly.

For me it was a great place to start exploring the city. Loved it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    383
    49
    11
    8
See reviews for
260
629
45
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
helsinki
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I was at this hotel for a week and was very happy with my stay. The room was very clean and the front desk staff very helpful. I liked the location next to the subway and the Cathedral very much, and was extremely happy with their breakfast on offer. I did not order from their Japanese dinner menu myself as there were many places to eat within close walking distance, but did not hear good things about the room service food quality from my colleagues who did choose to eat lunch and dinner in the restaurant.

For a quick sandwich alternative to the room service I especially recommend Enrique Tomas, a place specializing in selling iberico hams (but also make sandwiches for you as well). They have no dine in option but it is a small matter to grab a quick sandwich back to your hotel if you are feeling peckish.

Another note for business travelliers, there is no fitness center, so pack running shoes. There is a pool but it is not heated.

Room Tip: The elevators are quite slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daravida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate the time taken to write your comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. We take into consideration your review to work in those aspects that need to be changed.
We hope to see you back in the future with us in our hotel.

R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our five day stay at the Catalonia Catedral was everything we expected. Our room was quiet, the bed was very comfortable and large by European standards, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast choices were plentiful. The location was easily accessible to the cities sites. I would stay here again if coming back to Barcelona.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preverenges, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

A four day stay at the Catalonia Catedral in the heart of Barcelona was a real joy. Amenable staff all round, happy to assist in any way they could, with a smile. Our less than quiet four year old was very welcome, Dana and the rest of the breakfast team being very playful and patient with her. Lovely food, rooms, views and relaxing sun deck with pool on the roof. We will rebook this hotel on the next trip to Barcelona.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choose us for your stay in Barcelona.

We are more than glad that your overall experience at our hotel was wonderful!

We take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services and facilities.

We constantly strive to exceed our guests expectation and it is extremely satisfying to read that our efforts do not go unnoticed.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Catalonia Catedral Hotel.

Kind regards,

R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We had to leave our Airbnb rental because it had a lot of mold and the staff at this hotel saved the day! They were super understanding and accommodating for a group of three, at the last minute, during a huge conference. They even gave us a special rate! As far as the room - I think it was one of the nicer hotel rooms I've been in. It had very comfortable beds and the balcony let out onto the rooftop pool! Very nice hotel!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank vashka0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choose us for your stay in Barcelona.

We are more than glad that your overall experience at our hotel was wonderful!

We take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services and facilities.

We constantly strive to exceed our guests expectation and it is extremely satisfying to read that our efforts do not go unnoticed.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Catalonia Catedral Hotel.

Kind regards,

R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, GB
Level Contributor
225 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was a return visit, as we love the style, the location and the staff of this hotel. Previously we stayed in room 301 which was very spacious and although they are both “superior” rooms, the room this stay (307) was smaller - in theory they are supposed to be roughly the same size but there’s not enough space in 307 to put a sofa (as there is in 301). We were late getting to the hotel so there was no time to query it on checking in, but the next morning the helpful reception staff offered to move us, and explained that 301 is a 3 person superior room, hence the sofa bed. Next time I will know what to ask for when making the reservation :0)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your comments about our hotel and thank you for visitin us for the second time.
The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Heath, Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is well-located and fine but not worth the extra cost of of its upmarket claims. The style is not only bland and characterless but is surprisingly impractical. Our room had hanging space for clothes but no shelves or drawers, no mirror over the dressing table and a tiny tiny amount of space on the bedside tables. Cleaners did not wash dirty glasses for the four nights we were there. Coffee machine at breakfast was trendy but couldn't cope with the level of use and could only provide a trickle of hot water for a cup of tea. The whole feeling was very impersonal and you might be anywhere in the world.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary_Sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate the time taken to write your comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. We take into consideration your review to work in those aspects that need to be changed.
We apologize the inconveniences caused and we really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, for giving us another chance to exceed your highest expectations.
Yours faithfully,

R. Rafel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#45 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#62 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,249 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#18 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#11 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Catedral

Property: Catalonia Catedral
Address: C/ dels Arcs, 10, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enovated modernist building, Catalonia Catedral Hotel is located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona.The hotel is by the Cathedral, Plaça Sant Jaume and the unavoidable Portal de l’Àngel. After a day of shopping, cultural visits or just walk down city enjoys a drink in the lobby bar or the international cuisine in the warm Restaurant or just rest of the bustle of the downtown without leaving it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Catalonia Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Catedral Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing