We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay”
Review of Catalonia Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Catedral
Ranked #38 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Excellent location in the heart of the city, we were lucky to be upgraded to a superior room for free. The room was very spacious and clean and quiet. The hotel had excellent wifi. The highlight of the stay was the excellent staff who were always smiling and willing to help. Especially Carlos, who went above and beyond his call of duties!!!! Who walks to buy tickets for their guests! and even walked out of the hotel to guide us to the appropriate location/restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choose us for your stay in Barcelona.

We are more than glad that your overall experience at our hotel was wonderful!

We take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services and facilities.

We constantly strive to exceed our guests expectation and it is extremely satisfying to read that our efforts do not go unnoticed.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Catalonia Catedral Hotel.

Kind regards,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 1,394 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a great stay in this hotel so centrally located in the Gothic quarter. The staff were very helpful and the rooms very comfortable. We travelled as a group of 6. The breakfast was very extensive and good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choose us for your stay in Barcelona.

We are more than glad that your overall experience at our hotel was wonderful!

We take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services and facilities.

We constantly strive to exceed our guests expectation and it is extremely satisfying to read that our efforts do not go unnoticed.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Catalonia Catedral Hotel.

Kind regards,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

What a great find this place is. Very chic and brand new hotel. Right next to the old Cathedral and very close main square, shops and bars/restaurants. Staff here were excellent and really looked after us especially Carlos. Breakfast was the best we have ever had in Europe. They do need to sort out the drinks dispensers though to dispense boiling water for tea in the am. Room very comfortable. Bathroom had excellent quality fittings and a rain forest shower. We had a room on the outside so a great view of the street room 106 good position. Go to restaurants on back streets rather than main squares. Aerobus brilliant, picks up from airport terminal and only 20 euros each return to main square. Only a 10 min walk from hotel so cheaper than a taxi ! We didn't bother with red tourist bus ticket as too many people. We were very vigilant with pick pockets but did not have any problems as lots of police around.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choose us for your stay in Barcelona.

We are more than glad that your overall experience at our hotel was wonderful!

We take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services and facilities.

We constantly strive to exceed our guests expectation and it is extremely satisfying to read that our efforts do not go unnoticed.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Catalonia Catedral Hotel.

Kind regards,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at the Catalonia Catedral Hotel in Barcelona for 7 nights, March 15th through the 22nd, 2014 and had a wonderful trip!!! The Catalonia Catedral is a beautiful boutique hotel in the perfect location in the Barrio Gottic neighborhood. The hotel was fresh and beautiful! From the minute you step foot inside—you are greeted with a delightful scent and the front desk staff (Alex and all) are welcoming, fun, always smiling and happy to help with any request we had day or night :). We stayed in room 410 (my sister in 409)-- it was spacious with a large outdoor balcony that was lovely. Violeta, our housekeeper, was super-- her attention to detail was obvious and our room was always nicely made up with all of the extras in the bathroom (having a free bottle of water everyday was key :). We also received 3 complimentary drinks in the bar with our stay which my husband enjoyed in the evening outside on the restaurant terrace. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the bathroom has a great shower and separate bathtub. We ate breakfast at the hotel every morning and it was delicious! The best part of the hotel was the service--my sister & I are very difficult (my husband is much less demanding :)-- Dana & Adrian were so warm, friendly and accommodating in the restaurant. Every morning we walked into breakfast, we were greeted with big smiles and they had all of our crazy requests ready and waiting for us (we like ice tea and they would have a bucket of ice on the table with extra glasses and extra lemon etc...). It was such a treat and a great way to start the day. When you walk out the front door of the hotel, you feel as though you have walked back in time. The old Roman quarter is right there and you are close to everything. We walked to the beach, the Park Ciutedella, Passeig de Gracias, El Born and of course, explored the Barrio Gottic. The metro is a stones throw away and is so easy to navigate. The hotel offers free walking tours that we took advantage of and it was so interesting. Our guide was very knowledgeable and we learned the fascinating history of the neighborhood we were living in. We were visiting my daughter who is studying abroad in Barcelona for the semester and she said we could not have picked a more perfect hotel! It is the flavor of Barcelona and located in the heart of the city (and she considers herself a Barcelona girl now :)! What can I say, this is a fabulous boutique hotel and would highly recommend it!!! It is such a gem!!!! I almost don’t want to let this little secret be known because it is such a rare find. Thank you to everyone at the Catalonia Catedral for making our visit to one of the most beautiful cities in the world so incredible!!!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any room at this hotel!! They are all beautifully appointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shuffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Gerente at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2015

Dear guest,

It's very pleasant for us know you appreciate our efforts to give our best service.
I will transmite to the breakfast team your feedback and which you liked it very much.

We hope to see you again in your next visit to Barcelona.

Best regards,

R.Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel in the old city of Barcelona and it was great! The hotel and the rooms are beautifully designed in modern Japanese influenced style. The room was big and clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. The location is excellent near Catalunya square from where you can get anywhere easily and also with the bus from the airport. We did not take breakfast at the hotel as it was expensive but there are nice coffee shops and tapasbvg nearby. We enjoyed every minute and would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Inbal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Fabulous hotel, great location as it's central but there is no noise at night lovely bars restaurants on the square nearby,breakfast was lovely. The staff were very helpful and pleasant I would certainly recommend this hotel. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Best located Hotel if you want to enjoy the city of Barcelona! Perfect shopping area, restaurants, bars, and places to see. The hotel is cosy, clean and quite even beeing just beside the catedral.
We stayed there for 3 nights and will for sure come back to this Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SANDRA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#54 of 515 in Barcelona
2,095 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#13 of 515 in Barcelona
539 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#76 of 515 in Barcelona
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#74 of 515 in Barcelona
2,057 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
943 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 515 in Barcelona
4,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Catedral

Address: C/ dels Arcs, 10, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £96 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enovated modernist building, Catalonia Catedral Hotel is located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona.The hotel is by the Cathedral, Plaça Sant Jaume and the unavoidable Portal de l’Àngel. After a day of shopping, cultural visits or just walk down city enjoys a drink in the lobby bar or the international cuisine in the warm Restaurant or just rest of the bustle of the downtown without leaving it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Splitty, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Catedral Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing