We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place”
Review of Catalonia Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Catedral
Ranked #38 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Traveled with our family of five - 2 adults and our three children ( aged 19, 17 and 13) to the Catalonia Catedral for two nights - June 14- 16. This hotel is super nice and in a perfect location - right in the heart of the old city. The staff was excellent and very helpful - Alex, Carlos and Joan (sorry as we know we may have missed someone). In fact, our luggage got lost on its way to Barcelona and the staff made a number of calls helping us track the luggage down. They gave us incredible restaurant recommendations like Melic del Gothic (which is near the hotel). The whole team was great! And, the hotel was everything we could have asked for and more. It was a perfect place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPEFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choose us for your stay in Barcelona.

We are more than glad that your overall experience at our hotel was wonderful!

We take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services and facilities.

We constantly strive to exceed our guests expectation and it is extremely satisfying to read that our efforts do not go unnoticed.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Catalonia Catedral Hotel.

Kind regards,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,353)
There are newer reviews for Catalonia Catedral
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

467 - 473 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed in Barcelona for only one night (what a mistake - should have spent two nights) before we boarded a cruise ship. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly and the location is superb. You can have breakfast in the hotel or check out other options in the area. The rooftop pool is nice; we checked it out but did not use it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelTorontoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Catalonia Catedral is an easy 5 star rating from me. Location is perfect. You're in the action without be "in" the action if you know what I mean. The rooms are clean and modern but it's the service that is exceptional. Nothing is too much and everyone always has a smile - small things but often missed by many hotels. It's certainly not the cheapest place but well worth it and we will keep coming back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank MarkAU14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choose us again for your stay in Barcelona.

We are more than glad that your overall experience at our hotel was wonderful!

We take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services and facilities.

We constantly strive to exceed our guests expectation and it is extremely satisfying to read that our efforts do not go unnoticed.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Catalonia Catedral Hotel.

Kind regards,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They saved us hours on line by getting us tickets to La Sagrada Familia at the hotel. They also gave us maps and provided smaller euro bills and coins for us multiple times. The location near the Cathedral in the Barri Gotic was perfect. The bed was among the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The young, energetic lobby staff engaged us in conversation all about the city and made dinner reservations for us as well. Staying here gave us a lovely ending to our vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel location is in the Gothic quarter and perfect for stepping out straight into the city centre and exploring on foot, or an easy 10 minute stroll up to Plaçia de Catalunya where you can catch the Tourist bus or jump on the metro. (The Aerobus drops you off here from the Airport €10.20 return,within 15 days)
The Hotel is clean, modern, with attentive, helpful staff, a great place to stay.
I highly recommend it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Loved this hotel around the corner from the cathedral. Modern, super clean. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming, thoughtful, informative and kind. Because we arrived on a Sunday and the plaza in front of the cathedral was filled with dancers and pedestrians, the taxi driver wouldn't persist mad dropped us a block and a half away. No matter - my husband waited and a staff member ran with a cart. Super service. The restaurant food was excellent and the breakfast was beyond what anyone could desire in a breakfast or brunch! Only one suggestion - please add a soap dish in the tub - otherwise, sheer perfection.
A note to travelers - if you are in Barcelona, go to the cathedral on Sunday. The dancing in the plaza noting pride and independence is so moving and inspirational. Nearby cafés and tapas bar are exceptional. The best location ever!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choose us for your stay in Barcelona.

We are more than glad that your overall experience at our hotel was wonderful!

We take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services and facilities.

We constantly strive to exceed our guests expectation and it is extremely satisfying to read that our efforts do not go unnoticed.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Catalonia Catedral Hotel.

Kind regards,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

If the only negative thing you can find is the pillows, you can`t complain :)
The overall experience is perfect!
The hotel has an anonymous entrance between some shops overlooking a charming square.
Inside it is elegant and delicious. Very friendly staff.
We had a superior room (403) with terrace with a door into the swimming pool area.
The terrace was splended to take a break in after a long day sightseeing and shopping.
Very nice design, clean and spacious room.
No complains at all on the service. Very friendly staff.
Especially thanx to the staff in the restaurant bringing us the Amor de verano white wine to our terrace :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StaaleF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dircatedral, Director General at Catalonia Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,

R. Rafel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#10 of 513 in Barcelona
489 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#50 of 513 in Barcelona
2,048 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#70 of 513 in Barcelona
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
921 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#35 of 513 in Barcelona
2,111 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#72 of 513 in Barcelona
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Catedral

Address: C/ dels Arcs, 10, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £123 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enovated modernist building, Catalonia Catedral Hotel is located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona.The hotel is by the Cathedral, Plaça Sant Jaume and the unavoidable Portal de l’Àngel. After a day of shopping, cultural visits or just walk down city enjoys a drink in the lobby bar or the international cuisine in the warm Restaurant or just rest of the bustle of the downtown without leaving it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalonia Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Catedral Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing