We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Catalonia Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Catedral
Ranked #37 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2011

This was our second trip to Barcelona and our first stay at this hotel. The location is absolutely perfect as you are so close to the metro station, Las Rambles and the other main attractions including the Cathedral which is literally 5 buildings away. We found that everything was within walking distance and it is a great location for superb restaruants and other venues for evening entertainment. We found the cleaning service impecable and considering we stayed from the 29 December - 3 January, every day we found our room spotless, bed made and clean towels, even on New Years Day. Great value for money and one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The beds were very comfy and we had a brilliants night sleep every night (the usual European story though of two large single beds pushed together to make one large double bed). Another thing, there is a small kettle with coffee and tea making facilities which is rare in European hotels. We shall definately return to this hotel on our next return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachbumsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

794 - 800 of 1,374 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2011

i stayed 4 nights and i only can tell good things about it. Nice employees.. great location rooms, very clean and a great bathroom.. next time in Barcelona (this it was my fourth mas the 1st at this hotel, that only have a year) i will return do this hotel once more of course.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NFIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

The hotel is very centrally located, comfortable, clean. The staff is incredibly helpful. They provided everything we needed. The breakfast buffet was hard to believe at first, there were so many things to choose from. I don't know if I would have paid €16 per person for breakfast if I were paying myself, but I have to say that it was lacking nothing.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardkpalmer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

On April 2 2010 we made a reservation at this hotel for November 4 and November 5 in an upgraded balcony room. When we arrived at the hotel tired from a transatlantic flight, we were informed that they did not have a room for us. The Pope was visiting and apparently they resold our room at a higher price. I understand from Trip Advisor reviews that this happens but I thought that we would be okay since we arrived at 11:00AM. It was also apparent that this happens to Americans because the otherwise well spoken young lady behind the desk assured us that she would not send us to a "crappy" hotel. Seems she had picked up some American slang. We were taxied over to the Catalonia Ramblas, an older sister hotel. We did not receive the upgraded room that we paid for and received no compensation for this. We travel a lot and realize when we are being treated unfairly. So if you book this hotel, you need to hope that they will honor the reservation.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
11  Thank cruisingteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

The front desk staff and general manager were gracious, welcoming and attentive. The room was clean, modern and comfortable. The hotel's location in the Gothic Quarter is excellent and very convenient for exploring on foot. Although it's in a busy area near the Cathedral, the hotel was remarkably quiet. The only regret was that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CasiNuncaHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

A modern hotel located in the heart of the Gotic area (50M from La Rambla). Nice bar and restaurant. Great room with awesome shower. Free Wi-Fi. A rooftop pool with views of the city. Very comfortable bed. Will stay here whenever I am in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

I echo another reviewer -- there are absolutely no drawers for putting away clothes. They have to be put on two shelves in closet which are large, but inconvenient. Super location on a pedestrian street. Nice breakfast and we found the staff efficient and courteous and a little staff. Boutique style with small reception area. Zero drawers in all rooms is just stupid and annoying.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeopleVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#52 of 515 in Barcelona
2,075 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 515 in Barcelona
514 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#76 of 515 in Barcelona
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
925 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#75 of 515 in Barcelona
2,039 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#28 of 515 in Barcelona
4,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Catedral

Address: C/ dels Arcs, 10, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £115 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enovated modernist building, Catalonia Catedral Hotel is located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona.The hotel is by the Cathedral, Plaça Sant Jaume and the unavoidable Portal de l’Àngel. After a day of shopping, cultural visits or just walk down city enjoys a drink in the lobby bar or the international cuisine in the warm Restaurant or just rest of the bustle of the downtown without leaving it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Catedral Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing