We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best steak in Barcelona, if not anywhere..”

Restaurante Parrilla Alfonsina
Ranked #62 of 9,540 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Eixample
DK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best steak in Barcelona, if not anywhere..”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I can't count the number of steaks I've had over the years, but the steak I had last night at Alfonsina, was probably a top 3. Just epic. Empanadas and their provoleta, and rounded off with a tenderloin steak... Sweet mother of all things delicious. Epic!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank busymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    861
    261
    70
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved every second”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Took my wife and 1 year old son out earlier this month. We had a great time! The staff/owner were great and were very welcoming.

I though our Filets were delicious and mine was cooked medium rare as I had requested. My wife did have to have her Filet put back on the grill but I was no big deal.

Additionally, the sangria was well made and I thought it was excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Agreen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul Province, Turkey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Budget Dinner With Empanadas”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Nice decoration, cosy atmosphere, very friendly waiters (maybe the owner actually), tourist friendly (they do have a menu in English), cheap and tasty empanadas (home-made style and they were made reciently), the cook took his time to explain how the stamp system on them worked... We left very happy paying average 7 eus for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillurC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Chaotic”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Just visited Parrilla Alfonsina after reading great reviews. We were so disappointed. It might have been that the restaurant went from empty to very full within 5 minutes (8:45pm), however out of the four steaks we ordered only mine was as I ordered. Our friends Blue steaks were overlooked, my wife's Medium to Well Done was undercooked. My wife's and my steaks arrived just as our friends were almost finishing theirs!
Whilst the staff were very friendly they seemed to not know what they were doing.
On the positive side my steak was very tender and excellent. The accompanying potatoes however were very dry.
Shame really as it had so much promise.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GrandOldDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elviria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Restaurante Parilla Alfonso”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Excellent steak and what for a portion, i really expected the standard 200 gramme but it would be fair to assume that the steak i received was at least 350 gramme, so from a price perspective real value, the steak itself was top notch like you can only get from Argentina, the accompanying Caipirinha went down a treat, atmosphere was very relaxed and the staff added the fun factor, the next time i´m in Barcelona the Parilla Alfonso will be my first port of call!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Parrilla Alfonsina also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurante Parrilla Alfonsina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing