We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTRAGEOUS guest service, WORST hotel experience ever!!!”
Review of Sixtytwo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sixtytwo Hotel
Ranked #16 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OUTRAGEOUS guest service, WORST hotel experience ever!!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Nothing speaks better than facts. here below is what we experienced. Beware people!!

Totally outrageous is the word I can think of - the way Sixtytwo Hotel accuses guests / customers WITHOUT asking or confirming anything AND charging 150 euros one-sidedly for compensation after checking out - they accuse us of completely breaking the electric sun screen in the guest room and leaving without notifying. This is totally unacceptable and we totally refuse this. Of course we didn't notify them, we didn't do it, therefore didn’t know it !! What is worse is that after my note of anger and refusal they returned nothing... and invoiced above amount to my card company WITHOUT any explanation. Is this what a proper hotel would do? Should this be tolerated? We all know the answer and Sixtytwo Hotel WILL NOT get away with this unless they come back to us with apology and necessary action.

How extremely rude and arrogant and one-sided of the Sixtytwo Hotel to do such a thing to a guest upon check out. This would happen to anyone. I just cannot believe their lack of courtesy, common sense and hospitality. We are deeply disappointed and outrageously angry with Sixtytwo Hotel. They ruined our happy family holiday.

On Aug 10, 2014, "Hotel Sixtytwo" <hotel@sixtytwohotel.com> wrote:

This morning when we checked your room, we realized that the foscurit was completed broken. When you did the check in, the room was perfect and you didn’t informs us that there was any problem in the room. So we will charge 150€ VAT included in order to fix it. Please if you need more information, don’t hesitate to contact us.

Room Tip: Make sure to check EVERYTHING in the guest room upon check-in, to take pictures as evidence, and pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MonkeyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Director General at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear MonkeyNY ,
On arrival at the room nº210 the foscurit was in perfect condition. During your stay you do not notify us in foscurit incident.

Upon leaving the curtain we found as we show in the photos sent to you by mail. In any case, at no point paying customer do anything not justified. We understand that if a customer breaks something during their stay, we communicate and evaluate the consequences.

In this case, we are talking about a major flaw and before the office got in touch and would justify a decision.

We feel bad that a demonstrable and understandable, is treated as a poor service on our part.

Mireia Bessó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    382
    67
    16
    9
See reviews for
261
779
62
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
258 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here for five nights, and picked this hotel for the location and good reviews. The location was perfect, - 3 mins walk to Placa de Cataluña, 4 mins to the Ramblas, and 10 minutes to the Sagrada Familia, and on the same street as two other Gaudi buildings (Pedrera and Batlo) Our initial reception was good, and all the staff on reception were helpful, professional and friendly. The hotel booked our timed entry to Sagrada, which was great. We had tried to do this from home but found it a bit difficult and confusing, so were grateful that they managed it for us (they too found it not easy!). Booking a timed entry avoids maybe two or three hours queuing in the hot sun.

The room we had was a generous size and comfortable - we had a room at the back, which was very quiet - would like to try a room at the front next time for a better view, but we were quite comfy in our room. Good air conditioning, although even on the lowest fan setting it was a bit breezy. Could not be bothered with the nexpresso machine, but it is there. Good sized safe - essential for Barcelona - we found that walking around with just a bit of money (rather than having a bag that can be pinched) suited us best. We left our tablet, credit cards and phones in the safe. The breakfast area is ok, breakfast ok, - next time I think we might skip it though and head for a café. Breakfast costs around 18 euros, and it is possible to get a breakfast a bit cheaper outside. Aside from the money, the breakfast supplies were often a bit depleted and not restocked very quickly, there is a limited number of tables, so you might have to wait for one to be cleared, and the service staff at breakfast are willing but obviously can not quite cope with the throughput. The area for breakfast is available all day with complementary cold drinks and coffee and computer access. Also it doubles as a cocktail bar in the evening. Passeig de Gracia is a great location, and the hotel is right there, so if you have booked, you are in the right spot. (Beware the cafes on Passeig de Gracia - ask how much they charge for their beer before you order one).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilibet53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Director General at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hola Lilibet53 !!!!
Many thanks for your score, time and description.
It is a pleasure to know that Sixtytwo Hotel has enjoyed throughout its essence.
The rooms, our breakfast and Mediterranean homemade dishes.
It is gratifying that you enjoyed the free corner. It is open from 11h to 01h.
Our team try to help the customer especially if you visit the city. We help with the museum entrance, giving advice and avoiding unpleasant situations.
Hope to see you on your next trip.
Mireia Bessó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel was very inviting, nicely decorated. I loved the idea of the free coffee at the lounge! and the cocktails at 6pm, which I didn't have. It's been a great experience. My son loved the gluten free breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astriddeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Director General at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hola astriddeh !!
Thank you very much for your time and your score.
We are thrilled that you liked the design and location Sixtytwo Hotel.
Our breakfast is absolutely fantastic and obviously have gluten-free breakfast for those customers who request it.
Hope to see you at the next visit will be a pleasure to welcome you to the whole team.
Mireia Bessó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed at Sixty Two hotel for three nights and overall it was a very good stay, I would definitely choose the hotel again for my next trip to Barcelona, mainly because of its perfect location and friendly service. I loved the design and aesthetics of the hotel, my room was quite small but it was very reasonable according to its rate, probably next time I would choose a bigger room, even if I had to pay a bit more. My only criticism was some annoying noises that woke me up on my first morning. I don't know if there were building/fixing something next door or in the hotel, but when I called the front desk it stopped and I was able to continue sleeping. Apart from that, it was a perfect stay and I am very happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicitas_Ortiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Director General at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hola Felicitas O !!!!
Thank you so much for your time and your score.
It is a great pleasure to have shared his journey in Barcelona with us.
As you know in our hotel room and we have different sizes depending on the needs of each client.
We feel the noise but sometimes can not control the noise from our neighbor to be.
We appreciate your understanding.
Hope to see you on your next trip.
Mireia Bessó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed in Sixtytwo Hotel for five nights last week and our stay was excellent. The hotel has a very trendy design and vibe which was fun. The front desk staff were excellent. The hotel has a great location in the heart of Barcelona, within walking distance of all the major attractions. Because of the layout of the hotel, our room was extremely quiet. The only minor thing that prevents me from giving it a 5 star rating was the free wifi. The signal in our room kept coming and going and you often had to stand by the bathroom to get a good connection.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Director General at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hola Eli F !!!!
Thank you very much for your reply and for your time.
Thank you very much for your fantastic description.
We feel that the wifi did not give you 100% connection, we are working to make this not happen again.
Our team thanks you for your appointment and we are happy that your stay in the hotel was nice and you nliked the design and the location.
Hope to see you on your next trip.
Mireia Bessó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

More style than substance. Very well situated for sight-seeing. The hotel is clean comfortable and quiet. Only problem we had was that I had lost my visa debit card(which I initially booked with) in a cash machine the week before and was issued a new card before I left for Barcelona, so it caused some confusion with the staff. I explained the situation, but I don't think they believed us so asked for all the money upfront there and then on check in. Wasn't a problem for us, but on the booking form it stated that we would be charged at the end of our stay. I think they thought we was going to run a scam on them, but we were there for our Anniversary. Anyway, this was minor(although the female staff did go a bit OTT and not helpful at all). I have stayed in better 5 star hotels in Barcelona, who have resolved problems with alot more grace.

Room Tip: 6th Floor Executive Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJay365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Director General at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hola NJay365 !
Thank you so much for your comment and your time.
We regret the incident of credit card but as you rightly said it is our duty to follow the procedure to avoid problems.
We appreciate your point of view and work to improve.
Excuse us.
Mireia Bessó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Passeig de Gracia is a busy, interesting boulevard in Barcelona. Sixtytwo Hotel, (No. 62 Passeig de Gracia) is a quiet, unassuming place (we missed it the first time we were looking for it--you'd never know it was there) in the heart of Barcelona, very close to several of the Gaudí attractions, and close to a lot of nice, fairly economical places to eat. The breakfast buffet at Sixtytwo is memorable! Fresh, local food, lots of fruit and veggies and cheese along with the usual eggs and bread and other breakfast treats, and excellent coffee. The rooms are perfectly nice-sized, with a few oddities--look for the thermostat (yes, there is AC) in the closet! I would highly recommend staying here--it was quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: We had a room on the same floor as the breakfast room, and it was very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
Green Features: I like the idea of turning on lights by putting your hotel room card in the wall unit as you enter. No wasted electricity.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, Director General at Sixtytwo Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hola Mara B!!!!
Thank you very much for your fantastic description, your score and time.
We are surprised of all the details that detected in our hotel. Thank you, thank you very much!
We have a fantastic breakfast, trying to surprise our community to make it an experience of the city and region.
We have a room full of design and comfort, to make the stay as comfortable as possible.
The situation in the heart of the city makes the tourist feeling very fast, you can go to and from the hotel and is easily the hotel its benchmark.
Mara, I hope your next trip.
Mireia Bessó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
176 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,113 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
868 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#23 of 513 in Barcelona
300 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sixtytwo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sixtytwo Hotel

Property: Sixtytwo Hotel
Address: Passeig de Gracia 62, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sixtytwo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sixtytwo Hotel Barcelona is the perfect hotel for those who enjoy the finer things in life and who appreciate privacy and personalised service. Located on the emblematic Paseo de Gracia surrounded by Barcelona’s best shopping, it is right in the heart of the latest fashion trends and Gaudi’s most representative buildings. The Sixtytwo is an authentic boutique hotel where design and modernism harmonise perfectly.Located between Gaudi’s Casa Batlló and La Pedrera, The Sixtytwo has preserved its 1897 modernist façade and interiors and coupled them with designer furnishings. Tasteful touches courtesy of Moooi, Vitra, B&B and Philippe Starck give life to the hotel lobby and lounge, while the comfort of its 45 rooms is in part thanks to televisions by Bang&Olufsen, telephones by Jacob Jensen, taps by Tangent, Etro bathroom products, iPod stations, intelligent lighting systems and Nespresso coffee machines. At The Sixtytwo, all guests enjoy complimentary internet access. Our breakfast offer, including both a buffet prepared with fresh quality products as well as dishes à la carte cooked to order, will not leave you indifferent.The Sixtytwo Cocktail Lounge is open from 5pm until midnight. With a peaceful and cosmopolitan ambience, it is a meeting point for those in search of an extended wine list and a varied gin and tonic selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sixtytwo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
62 Hotel
Sixtytwo Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing