We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location? Questionable?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Barcelona City
Ranked #158 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Location? Questionable?”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The hotel it self was great...it was clean, modern, helpful stay...all the things you want. The location was ehh...
There was a lot of construction going on in the area really not improving the modern feel of the building. Can you walk to attrations, yes...do you want to...no.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraGarza719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,302
    1,664
    340
    85
    46
See reviews for
1,764
753
149
378
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This being my 6th time to the lovely Barcelona I had some idea of where we wanted to stay as wherever you do end up...nowhere is the ultimate 'central' eg. you stay in La Rambla you're a way from Port Olimpic but this time my 2 children aged 5 and 7 months were coming and I wanted to be quite near the beach knowing that it wasn't going to be so much a sightseeing visit! For this reason this hotel is fantastic and if you dont mind travelling on the tubes the other spots are only a couple of stops away accesible from the nearest tube station - Glories...just on the corner 2 mins away from hotel. The hotel itself is lovely. Quite business like but at the same time very 'kiddi' friendly and the service we received was fantastic. Always smiling staff and very attentive. The lifts work by key card for your rooms which I thought was a great idea for safety. I can't comment on the food as we ate out all of the time. 18euros each seemed a little expensive for breakfast when there are so many lovely little cafes to adventure to for a couple of euros. And if you want something more familiar there's a starbucks right across the road! The best feature of this hotel has to be the rooftop pool. It's not huge but you can have a swim and the views are fantastic. Sea view to the front and La Sagrada Familia to the right. Drinks aren't TOO overpriced for a 4 star hotel. Jug of Sangria 12E but you pay this everywhere else at night. We spent more time around the pool than i thought but it doesnt have that feeling that you could be sat around the pool in any place anywhere...the views tell you you're in Barcelona!
We brought the T-10 ticket for public transport and although I'm confident travelling around here having been before if it's your first time it really is easy enough to do so. We brought 2 for the 3 of us (baby travels free) and they are multi person so you just pass the ticket through to each to other to swipe or scan. The 2 were enough for us for our 3 night stay and they got us from the airport and allowed us travel on the tubes or trams every day. We opted for a taxi back and there is a rank right outside the hotel. This cost 33 euros including the airport and luggage supplements but was well worth it at the end and as we had an early start! To get to the beach from the Novotel, the easiest way is to hop on the tram which stops directly outside the hotel (fantastic) This takes you to the final stop and then its about a 5-10 munute walk to the beach but this is the nearest you'll get even if you took a tube (the tube stop is 2 mins nearer).
Overall this hotel is fantastic! Spotless (rooms made up everyday), friendly and we will definitely return. Final note...there's a shopping centre over the road which is a great place to stock up on water, snacks etc and contains any shop you'll need. H&M, Zara...disney!! For a spot of lunch if you're near to the hotel...Cafe Turin a few doors down was lovely and very very good value!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gemma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Staying only one night in Barcelona, the Novotel was an excellent choice although it could have been a little closer to the centre. Rooms, staff and cleanliness was very good. Only thing to point out is with the new trendy renovations throughout the Group, the bathrooms are too dark. You can't even turn on extra lights. It was very difficult to shave and also for my wife to put her make-up on. Overall, very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUPANDMUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
184 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 992 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

If the review is helpful please click the "Was this review helpful?" at the end of reading.

Period of stay: April 2012

Booking: For 2 adults and 1 child. It was made ​​by Le-Club site without any problems. I called the hotel and they confirmed the reservation. Used a-club vouchers to pay without problems.

Check-in: Fast. Staff attentive and kind. We were accommodated in a room exactly according to the reservation.

Room: Modern, comfortable and clean. 2 comfortable beds - one double and one single. Minibar perfect. Cable TV. Electronic safe. Free wireless Internet. Nice clean bathroom with shower.

Garage: I can not judge because I did not use the services.

Breakfast: Only reasonable. Some days I made an excellent breakfast in a restaurant across the street where the hotel stands.

Facilities: Hotel looks new and modern. Lobby with modern furnishings and decor beautiful. On the top floor there are gym, sauna and swimming pool. It has on-site restaurant, but used services only for small snacks.

Location: Good. Although not close to the tourist center of Barcelona,it ​​is located at a convenient distance using the subway - about 25 min. It was very easy to reach the attractions. Also important - the hotel is close to an excellent shopping center, where there are good restaurants and a Carrefour supermarket.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SouCarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Great property & perfect for our pre-cruise visit in Barcelona! The rooms were spacious and clean w/ lovely views and not too far away from the major attractions. My kids enjoyed the pool overlooking the Mediterranean and the daily breakfast. I especially had fun shopping across the street (nice clothing/grocery stores).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkChocolateBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We were on an overnight visit to Barcelona from Portaventura, which was a great change of scene, and a really easy trip to arrange.

As we only had one night, we decided to pay a little more than usual and get a hotel with a few nice extras. The Novotel delivered this, and much more.

Arrived at the hotel on the tram (T4 - Glories) and a five minute wander down the Diagonal, past the Torre Agbar, so you can't miss it. Got checked in and luggage dropped in minutes by the very friendly and efficient staff.

Used the hotel's internet access (3 x Macs and a shared printer) to book our tickets for the Sagrada Familia visit the next day to save us joining a huge queue before wandering out to the Metro (again, 5 minutes at most away).

We didn't eat in the hotel, although the tapas menu was most tempting. We did spend an hour or so at the rooftop pool (19th floor) with spectacular views over the city. A quick dip for us then, while the kids played, a glass or two of Rioja (around 3.5 Euro) was good value.

The room was fine for us - pretty spacious, with good facilities (walk in shower, etc) on the fifteenth floor. Blackout curtains made sure we got a great sleep before our busy day in Barca (note - these are electronically operated, not pull up/down !)

Overall, a spotlessly clean hotel, easily accessible and a fifteen minute stroll from the Sagrada Familia. Definitely recommended if you can spend a little more - felt very safe in and around the hotel, even arriving back late from a visit the La Rambla.

Room Tip: Get as high a floor as you can to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveBhoy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Poblenou
Four Points by Sheraton Barcelona Diagonal
Novotel Barcelona Cornella
#3 of 4 in Cornella de Llobregat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Poblenou
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
#85 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Hotel Diagonal Barcelona
Hotel Diagonal Barcelona
#233 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#189 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#179 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Barcelona City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barcelona City

Property: Novotel Barcelona City
Address: Avenida Diagonal 201 | (entrada por calle Granada), 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#112 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#116 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barcelona City 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Barcelona City Hotel has 264 rooms (including 22 suites) and is located right in the heart of the city on Avenida Diagonal (one of the city's main streets), next to Plaza Glòries and 55 yards (50 m) from the Jean Nouvel Tower. The hotel features a Claravía restaurant, a bar, 6222 sq. ft (578 m2) of meeting rooms, an outdoor pool on the terrace with panoramic views of Barcelona and a fitness center. Easy access to the hotel via Ronda de Dalt and Ronda Litoral. (The swimming pool is open only from 1st June to 20th September 2011) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Barcelona City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barcelona City Hotel Barcelona
Novotel Barcelona City Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing