We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only complaint is I could not stay longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Barcelona City
Ranked #174 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My office is about a 15 minute walk from this hotel so I have stayed in many hotels in the area - most a lot closer. This is my new absolute favourite by a mile! From the many hotel facilities to the ease of access to good shops (across the road) and the beach - 10 minute walk. The hotel is also close to various transport options. The rooms are typical Novotel style so no surprise but plenty of space and food was good. I will definitely be back which is the best recommendation I can give!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5560GM, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Michael,

We truly appreciate your commentary. We are happy that you found our hotel to be a great place to stay in Barcelona. We are glad that you enjoyed the modern style of our hotel and its close to the center location. As we only work with fresh products we are always happy when our clients enjoy our food.

We hope to see you again during your next trip to Barcelona.

Best Regards
TG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

875 - 881 of 3,769 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Amazing Hotel. Walking distance to Glories Metro Station and you might be lucky if your room is facing the Torre Agbar (Agbar Tower) just like ours. You get a night show of lights. Just amazing experience from this hotel. Breakfast buffet is excellent!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
4  Thank yetisburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5560GM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.
We love to hear that our central location is convenient for guests. We appreciate you like the views and the buffet.
We look forward to your next visit!

Best Regards,
MA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed 5 night at Christmas time, chose this hotel because of kids free policy but were disappointed by breakfast price (18 euro per person!). Fortunately, big Careffur supermarket and food court was just a cross the street. Metro station is 5 min walk, Clot-Argo train station ( aeroport direct train) is 10 min walk
We used metro all days because it is not convinient walking distance to city centre with kids, except Sagrada Familia (20 min walk).

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank lena_elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Novotel Barcelona is a very typical novotel. Big rooms and friendly and helpfull staff. We asked for our in-room safe to be fixed but this took a couple of times asking to be done but genrally the staff our very efficent.

We had a familly room for two adults and two children with one double bed and a sofa bed. Unlike some novotels that we have stayed at before, the sofa bed turned out to be another double bed which simply wasn't big enough for two reasonably big children which is an issue as adding an extra room is not cheap!!

A thing that is always consistent across all novotels is the quality of the breakfasts that they serve. The selection is great with a wide choice of both hot and cold options. Children eat for free which is definetly a bonus. The bar is reasonably priced for an inner city bar.

What also makes this hotel special is its location. It is well served by transport as there is a taxi rank just outside, bus and tram stops just across the road and a metro station three minutes walk away. There are also good resturants nearby.

We were going to watch a barcelona fc football game and this novotel is in a perfect location as one of the buses that goes from outside the hotel takes you directly to outside the ground.

All in all, we had a very good stay and would definetly reccomend Barcelona city novotel.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the lifts don't get noise from the lifts so this is not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5560GM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback relating to your recent stay at Novotel Barcelona City.
I'm delighted you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,
MA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Very Good Hotel
Nice Restaurant where you can eat local food.
fitness and Hammam are also available as well as a swimming Pool.
Near to the center, you don't nedd a car and can travel by bus, tram or metro.




  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Christophe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5560GM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Christopher,
First of all we would like to thank you for dedicated your time to write positive comments about the restaurant and location of the hotel.
We hope to see you again in Novotel Barcelona City

Best Regards,
MA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Arno B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
H5560GM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I organised a 5 day meeting for a client with the Novotel City.

Slightly out of the centre, but in a great mixed zone (residential, restaurants, shopping, good transport links) the Novotel City is a large, business-orientated hotel. It has a roof top bar and a small gym, with views out to the Sagrada Familia.

Cristina and her event team are fabulous and I couldn't thank them enough for helping me with the event. The food is great, especially for mass catering and the breakfasts are fantastic. We dined out in the local area each night; the Rambla Poble Nou is very close and full of great bars and restaurants.

The sea is +/-25 mins walk.

Room 909 is more than adequate for a single traveller; rooms 09 and 011 are opposite the lift, though the noise is not an issue. Clean and well stocked and the housekeeping staff are very friendly (though not bi-lingual). Free Wifi, ask for codes on reception for each of your devices.

Room Tip: Rooms 09 and 011 are opposite the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5560GM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Novotel Barcelona City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Emma,
First of all thank we appreciate you taking the time to provide a review.
Great to hear that you had a wonderful meeting with us.

We hope to see you again in Novotel Barcelona City,

Best Regards,
MA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#201 of 520 in Barcelona
3,167 reviews
Poblenou
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22
Poblenou
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
#98 of 520 in Barcelona
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
#175 of 520 in Barcelona
2,585 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#109 of 520 in Barcelona
3,499 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#95 of 520 in Barcelona
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Barcelona City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barcelona City

Address: Avenida Diagonal 201 | (entrada por calle Granada), 08018 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#116 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#122 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £76 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barcelona City 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Barcelona City Hotel has 264 rooms (including 22 suites) and is located right in the heart of the city on Avenida Diagonal (one of the city's main streets), next to Plaza Glòries and 55 yards (50 m) from the Jean Nouvel Tower. The hotel features a Claravía restaurant, a bar, 6222 sq. ft (578 m2) of meeting rooms, an outdoor pool on the terrace with panoramic views of Barcelona and a fitness center. Easy access to the hotel via Ronda de Dalt and Ronda Litoral. (The swimming pool is open only from 1st June to 20th September 2011) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Barcelona City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barcelona City Hotel Barcelona
Novotel Barcelona City Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing